Skip to main content

Howard Lecture

The Howard Lecture is an annual lecture which celebrates world-leading early to mid-career academics working in the biophysical sciences.

About the Lecture Series

Professor Judith Howard CBE FRS
  joined Durham as a Professor of Crystallography in 1991 and became the first female head of a five-star chemistry department nationally. Judith has built instruments that allow scientists to apply techniques to prove theories experimentally and advance the field of X-ray crystallography. She developed low-temperature X-ray and neutron diffraction methods to explore electron density distributions, chemical bonding descriptors and magnetic properties in molecules more precisely. 

Judith remains an active researcher and member of the BSI. This lecture celebrates, in her name, up-and-coming researchers in the biophysical sciences. 

How to Apply

Please forward the name and institution link of nominees to Steven Cobb, BSI Director, at:

Self-nominations are also welcome. Please forward a brief biography and proposed title or theme to the BSI Director at: 

Nominations are welcome from all areas of biophysical sciences. 

Closing Date

30 March 2021

Previous Lecturers

: Professor Silvia 
Marchesan,  University of Trieste 

2018: Professor Vijay Chudasama,  University College London 

2017: Dr Susan Cox, Kings College London 

2016: Professor Justin Benesch,  University of Oxford 

2015: Dr Sarah Veatch,  University of Michigan, US 

2014: Dr Arwen Pearson,  Universitat Hamburg 

2013: Professor David R. Nelson,  Harvard University, US