Skip to main content

Durham Cathedral skyline

On the announcement of The King’s New Year Honours List 2024, we would like to take this opportunity to congratulate and celebrate the fantastic achievements of the alumni, staff, students and friends who have been honoured.

Those who receive this honour represent the inspiration and leadership that characterises a large part of our Durham community from all over the world.

Amongst those honoured our Chancellor Fiona Hill, founding Dean of Medicine at Durham University, Sir Amritpal Singh Hungin and The Most Reverend and the Right Honourable the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury Justin Portal Welby.

The Most Revd Justin Welby (Theology, St John’s College, 1989-92) received the Knight Grand Cross of the Royal Victorian Order (GCVO) in recognition of his prominent role in the Coronation. He was Bishop of Durham from 2011 to 2012, before being announced as the 105th Archbishop of Canterbury in late 2012.

We are inspired by your success and proud of your affiliation with our institution.

The King’s New Year Honours List 2024
(Alphabetical by surname)

  • Mr David Martin James Ball M.B.E 
    For services to the community in East Anglia.
  • Sir William Blackledge Beaumont C.B.E, D.L. 
    For services to Rugby Union Football and to Charity.
  • Mr Andrew James Bell C.B.E 
    St Aidan’s College, 1991-94. For services to the Financial Sector.

  • Mr Christopher John Blandford O.B.E 
    Geography, University College, 1966-69. For services to World Heritage.
  • Major General Julian Nicholas Edward Buczacki C.B.E 
    Ancient History & Latin, University College, 1993-96.

  • The Reverend Anthony James Collins O.B.E 
    For services to Healthcare and to the community in Harrogate and Ripon, North Yorkshire.

  • Dr Fiona Hill C.M.G 
    Chancellor of Durham University. For services to International Relations.

  • The Reverend Christopher Stewart Howson B.E.M 
    Theology & Ministry, St John’s College, 1999-2002. For services to Higher Education.

  • Sir Amritpal Singh Hungin O.B.E, D.L 
    Founding Dean of Medicine at Durham University. For services to Medicine.

  • Ms Gabrielle Kirstein O.B.E 
    English Literature, College of St Hild & St Bede, 1997-2000. For services to the Community and Tackling Waste and Food Poverty in Hong Kong.

  • Mrs Sophia Mary Mason O.B.E 
    Social Sciences, College of St Hild & St Bede, 1985-88. For services to Arts Philanthropy.

  • Mr Lawrence John O’Halleron M.B.E 
    Residential Work with Adolescents, 1997-98. For services to the community in Gateshead, Tyne and Wear.

  • Mr Mahbubur Rahman B.E.M 
    Computer Science, Hatfield College, 1997-98. For services to Charity and to the community in Oldham, Greater Manchester.

  • Mr John Hamilton Ryley O.B.E 
    Arts Combined, College of St Hild & St Bede, 1981-84. For services to Journalism.

  • Lady Susan Mary Sainsbury C.B.E 
    For services to Philanthropy and to Charity.

  • Professor Gareth Stansfield O.B.E 
    Geography, Hatfield College, 1992-95 and Middle East Studies, College of St Hild & St Bede, 1997-2001. For services to UK interests in Iraq.

  • Professor Peter Alister Stott M.B.E 
    Mathematics, Grey College, 1980-83. For services to Climate Science.

  • Mrs Jacqueline Penelope Suttie M.B.E 
    Environmental Geoscience, St Aidan’s College, 2002-05. For services to People with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

  • Mr Maurice Scott Weightman M.B.E 
    For services to Young People in Berwick-Upon-Tweed.

  • The Most Reverend and the Right Honourable the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury Justin Portal Welby G.C.V.O 
    Theology, St John’s College, 1989-92. On the occasion of the Coronation of Their Majesties The King and The Queen.

  • Mr Philip Graham Wynn O.B.E 
    Geography, Grey College, 1969-72. For services to Farming and to the Environment.

Nomination for colleagues to receive honours can be made via the Government website. The application process is that a colleague can nominate someone for an honour and submit without drawing on the person to be nominated. Lucian Hudson or the advancement team can advise, but it is important that the person nominated is not made aware they have been put forward and the process is completed in the strictest confidence.

Find out more