Skip to main content

DUOS Sage Shostakovich poster

Durham University Orchestral Society (DUOS) will be returning to Sage, Gateshead on Sunday 19 June for what promises to be a breath-taking evening of great symphonic music. The power of an 80 strong symphony orchestra made up of our talented student musicians, will bring the concert hall to life.

The concert will begin with Zemlinky’s Sinfonietta, before journeying to the studies of Hollywood in Korngold’s Violin Concerto in D major, with soloist Jamie Frost. The orchestra will then conclude with Shostakovich’s exhilarating Symphony No.10, a piece written in criticism of the oppression of the Stalinist regime.

This programme is designed to excite, with the immense power of the Shostakovich and the virtuosity of the Korngold concerto. As soloist Jamie Frost explains “The Korngold has it all. The lyrical first movement, the beautiful second movement, and the electric final movement. While definitely a technical challenge, it is my favourite concerto and great fun to play.”

Following on from last year’s sell-out performance DUOS is delighted to be returning to Sage, Gateshead, to perform in front of an audience with no social distancing. This is a highlight in the DUOS musical calendar with musicians relishing the opportunity to perform in such a fantastic venue.

Join DUOS for an afternoon showcasing Durham University’s finest musical talent


Tickets are on sale now and can be booked online at: Durham University Orchestral Society Perform Shostakovich 10 | Sage Gateshead

Find out more

Visit the DUOS website

Follow DUOS:

Facebook: @duosdurham

Instagram: @duorchestral.society

Visit Sage Gateshead