Skip to main content
Co-Director of EDI in the Department of Physics+44 (0) 191 33 43686
Professor in the Department of Physics+44 (0) 191 33 43686



ResearchGate profile

 I) University- wide Responsibilities

Elected member of Durham University Senate (since 2001)

Vice-Chair of Academic Electoral Assembly Standing committee (since 2016)

Chair of Senate Agenda Setting Committee (since 2020)

Member of the Durham University Respect Commission (2018-19)

Member of Respect Commission Oversight Group (since 2020)

Member of the Vice-Chancellor & Warden Appointment Group (2020-21)

Vice-President of Durham UCU (Since 2008 -2020)

Member of Durham University Mediation Service Steering Committee.

Member of Health and Safety Consultative Committee (Since 2019)

 II) Responsibilities within the Physics Department

Co-Director of Student Experience (2020)

Co-Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (2020

Staff Co-Chair Physics UG Staff-Student consultative Committee (2020)

Member of Education Committee

Member of Research Staff Consultative Committee (2020)

Member of Admissions team

Member of Exam Working group (2020)

Academic Adviser

 III) Teaching activity

 Level One Physics Tutor, PhD supervisor, MSci Project supervisor.

Research interests

  • Electrical and physical properties of metal polymer composite materials
  • Engineering of 2-Dimensional materials such as graphene.
  • Enviromentally sensitive luminescence of organic fluorophores
  • High dipole organic chromophores and polymers for nonlinear optics
  • Langmuir-Blodgett films
  • Magnetic Properties of organic electron acceptor-metallic materials
  • The Recycling of Solar Panels
  • The electron acceptor 7,7,8,8-tetracyanoquinodimethane (TCNQ) and it's compounds
  • The synthesis of inorganic nanoparticles for PV applications.

Esteem Indicators

  • 2000: Reviewer for the Georgian Academy of Sciences:
  • 2000: Member of the Durham Biophysical Sciences Institute:
  • 2000: Member of the Editorial Board of the Open Physical Chemistry Journal:
  • 2000: Member of the Durham Energy Institute:
  • 2000: 2011 Churchill Fellow:
  • 2000: Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Manufacturing (FRSA):
  • 2000: Reviewer for the British Federation of Women Graduates awards for doctoral students:


Conference Paper

Journal Article

Supervision students