Skip to main content

Staff

Administrative and secretarial staff

Mrs Elaine Denby Operations Administrator elaine.denby@durham.ac.uk 
Mrs Pauline Harrison Project Assistant, Hearing the Voice pauline.harrison@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Deborah Hobbs Department Manager d.j.hobbs@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Kathleen Jackson Learning & Teaching Administrator Contact Kathleen Jackson
Mrs Rachel Middleton Project Coordinator, Hearing the Voice rachel.middleton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Victoria Patton Communications, Impact and Engagement Lead, Hearing the Voice victoria.patton@durham.ac.uk
Miss Sophie Phillips Learning & Teaching Administrator Contact Sophie Phillips
Miss Emma Pollock Learning & Teaching Administrator Contact Emma Pollock
Ms Joanne Spence Learning & Teaching Manager Contact Joanne Spence
Mrs Stephanie Taylor Learning & Teaching Administrator Contact Stephanie Taylor

 

Teaching staff

Prof Elizabeth Archibald Professor (p/t) e.f.archibald@durham.ac.uk
Dr David Ashurst Associate Professor david.ashurst@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michael Baker Teaching Fellow m.s.baker@durham.ac.uk
Dr Paul Batchelor Associate Professor paul.batchelor@durham.ac.uk
Dr Marco Bernini Assistant Professor in Cognitive Literary Studies marco.bernini@durham.ac.uk
Dr Naomi Booth Assistant Professor naomi.r.booth@durham.ac.uk
Dr Marc Botha Assistant Professor m.j.botha@durham.ac.uk
Dr Venetia Bridges Assistant Professor venetia.r.bridges@durham.ac.uk
Dr Vladimir Brljak Assistant Professor vladimir.brljak@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alistair Brown Teaching Fellow alistair.brown@durham.ac.uk
Professor Neil Cartlidge Professor Contact Neil Cartlidge
Dr Robert Carver Associate Professor r.h.f.carver@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mark Chambers Teaching Fellow Contact Mark Chambers
Dr Helen Charman Teaching Fellow Contact Helen Charman
Mr Kayombo Chingonyi Assistant Professor Contact Kayombo Chingonyi
Professor Timothy Clark Professor (Emeritus) t.j.clark@durham.ac.uk
Dr Julie Crane Assistant Professor (Teaching) j.a.crane@durham.ac.uk
Dr Martin Dubois Associate Professor martin.a.dubois@durham.ac.uk
Dr Louisa Egbunike Associate Professor in African/Caribbean Literature Contact Louisa Egbunike
Professor David Fuller Professor (Emeritus) david.fuller@durham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Garratt Associate Professor peter.garratt@durham.ac.uk
Dr Abbie Garrington Associate Professor abbie.garrington@durham.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Grausam Associate Professor daniel.grausam@durham.ac.uk
Dr Patrick Gray Associate Professor patrick.gray@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mandy Green Associate Professor mandy.green@durham.ac.uk
Dr Simon Grimble Associate Professor simon.grimble@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jason Harding Professor Contact Jason Harding
Professor Claire Harman Professor in Creative Writing Contact Claire Harman
Dr Daniel Hartley Assistant Professor daniel.j.hartley@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michael Huxtable Assistant Professor in Medieval Literature m.j.huxtable@durham.ac.uk
Professor Simon James Professor s.j.james@durham.ac.uk
Dr Roisin Laing Leverhulme Early Career Fellow Contact Roisin Laing
Prof David Lawton Professor of English Contact David Lawton
Dr Philippe Lynes Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature and Theory Contact Philippe Lynes
Professor Jane Macnaughton Research Associate jane.macnaughton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Noreen Masud Leverhulme Early Career Fellow noreen.masud@durham.ac.uk
Professor John McKinnell Emeritus Professor john.mckinnell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Maryam Mirza Assistant Professor maryam.mirza@durham.ac.uk
Dr Katie Muth Teaching Fellow Contact Katie Muth
Professor John Nash Chair of Board of Studies english.hod@durham.ac.uk
Professor John Nash Professor john.nash@durham.ac.uk
Dr Helen O'Connell Associate Professor helen.o'connell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Joshua Pugh Assistant Professor Contact Joshua Pugh
Professor Barbara Ravelhofer Professor Contact Barbara Ravelhofer
Professor Stephen Regan Professor (Emeritus) stephen.regan@durham.ac.uk
Professor Alastair Renfrew Professor of English and Comparative Literature alastair.renfrew2@durham.ac.uk
Dr Fraser Riddell Lecturer f.i.riddell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Riley Associate Professor in Poetry and Poetics Contact Peter Riley
Dr Sam Riviere Assistant Professor samuel.j.riviere@durham.ac.uk
Professor Fiona Robertson Professor of Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Literature fiona.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Dr James Robinson Assistant Professor (Teaching) james.robinson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Emily Rohrbach Assistant Professor in English Literature 1660-1832 emily.rohrbach@durham.ac.uk
Mr Sunjeev Sahota Assistant Professor  
Professor Mark Sandy Professor m.r.sandy@durham.ac.uk
Professor Corinne Saunders Professor c.j.saunders@durham.ac.uk
Dr Barry Sheils Associate Professor barry.a.sheils@durham.ac.uk
Dr Emma Short Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature emma.j.short@durham.ac.uk
Dr Gillian Skinner Associate Professor g.m.skinner@durham.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Spray Teaching Fellow thomas.e.spray@durham.ac.uk
Professor James Smith Professor james.smith3@durham.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Swann Assistant Professor elizabeth.l.swann@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Terry Associate Professor j.a.terry@durham.ac.uk
Dr Samuel Thomas Associate Professor samuel.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Dr Susan Valladares Assistant Professor Contact Susan Valladares
Dr Christopher Vardy Teaching Fellow Contact Christopher Vardy
Professor Claire Warwick Professor c.l.h.warwick@durham.ac.uk
Professor Patricia Waugh Professor p.n.waugh@durham.ac.uk
Dr Angela Woods Associate Professor of Medical Humanities angela.woods@durham.ac.uk
Dr Guy Woodward Post Doctoral Research Associate Contact Guy Woodward
Professor Sarah Wootton Professor

s.e.wootton@durham.ac.uk

 

Associated staff

Dr Alexander Abichou Honorary Fellow Contact Alexander Abichou
Dr Kostas Boyiopoulos Honorary Fellow Contact Kostas Boyiopoulos
Dr Daniel Derrin Honorary Fellow daniel.derrin@durham.ac.uk
Dr Nicole Garrod-Bush Honorary Fellow Contact Nicole Garrod-Bush
Dr Natalie Goodison Honorary Fellow Contact Natalie Goodison
Dr Koren Kuntz Honorary Fellow Contact Koren Kuntz
Dr Sarah Lohmann Honorary Fellow s.e.lohmann@durham.ac.uk
Dr Laura Mckenzie Honorary Fellow Contact Laura Mckenzie
Dr Hilary Powell Honorary Fellow Contact Hilary Powell
Dr Paige Tovey Honorary Fellow Contact Paige Tovey
Dr Douglass Virdee Honorary Fellow Contact Douglass Virdee
Dr Diana Wyatt Honorary Fellow

Contact Diana Wyatt

 

Current research students

Miss Aalia Ahmed Contact Aalia Ahmed
Miss Sabrina Ahmed-Qureshi Contact Sabrina Ahmed-Qureshi
Mr Josh Allsop josh.a.allsop@durham.ac.uk
Mr Conrad Aquilina Contact Conrad Aquilina
Miss Bryony Armstrong Contact Bryony Armstrong
Mr Laurie Atkinson Contact Laurie Atkinson
Ms Samantha Belcher Contact Samantha Belcher
Ms Helen Clifford Contact Helen Clifford
Mr Paul Cockburn Contact Paul Cockburn
Miss Anum Dada Contact Anum Dada
Miss Laura Day laura.e.day@durham.ac.uk
Miss Hope Doherty elizabeth.h.doherty@durham.ac.uk
Ms Suzannah V. Evans Contact Suzannah V. Evans
Miss Rachel Fennell Contact Rachel Fennell
Ms Katie Harling-Lee Contact Katie Harling-Lee
Miss Elizabeth Hoyt Contact Elizabeth Hoyt
Miss Botsa Katara Contact Botsa Katara
Miss Yimon Lo yimon.lo@durham.ac.uk
Miss Beatriz Lopez Contact Beatriz Lopez
Mr Soumyaroop Majumdar Contact Soumyaroop Majumdar
Mr Daniel Norman Contact Daniel Norman
Mr Solie Osman Contact Solie Osman
Miss Gailann Riven Peake Contact Gailann Riven Peake
Mr Jake Phipps Contact Jake Phipps
Miss Hannah Piercy Contact Hannah Piercy
Dr Natalie Riley Contact Natalie Riley
Miss Lucia Scigliano-suarez Contact Lucia Scigliano-suarez
Miss Duygu Senocak Contact Duygu Senocak
Miss Yuanxing Tan Contact Yuanxing Tan
Ind. Olly Teregulova Contact Olly Teregulova
Miss Nadia Terki Contact Nadia Terki
Mr Alexander Wilson

Contact Alexander Wilson

 

Recent research students

Dr Jack Baker Contact Jack Baker
Dr Lara Ehrenfried lara.ehrenfried@durham.ac.uk
Dr John Foxwell Contact John Foxwell
Dr Richard Moss Contact Richard Moss
Dr Alice Stamataki Contact Alice Stamataki
Dr Rebecca White r.a.white@durham.ac.uk
Dr Agata Wozniak Contact Agata Wozniak
Dr Mengmeng Yan Contact Mengmeng Yan