Skip to main content


Administrative/Secretarial Staff

Miss Hannah BarnesLearning &Teaching Administrator
Mrs Claire BorehamLearning & Teaching Administrator
Mrs Sophie BrownLearning & Teaching Co-Ordinator
Mrs Elaine DenbyOperations Administrator
Miss Anouska DrionLearning & Teaching Co-Ordinator
Mrs Helen Louise FergusonLearning & Teaching Manager
Ms Marie HedleyLearning & Teaching Administrator
Mrs Deborah HobbsDepartment Manager
Mrs Judith JewittLearning & Teaching Administrator
Mrs Donna Marshall-MarksLearning & Teaching Administrator
Mrs Rachel MiddletonProject Coordinator, Hearing the Voice
Dr Victoria PattonCommunications, Impact and Engagement Lead, Hearing the Voice
Ms Lenka SchmalischAdministrative Assistant in the Institute of Medical Humanities
Mrs Stephanie TaylorLearning & Teaching Administrator

Teaching Staff

Dr David AshurstAssociate Professor
Dr Paul BatchelorAssociate Professor
Dr Sarah BennettTeaching Fellow
Dr Marco BerniniAssociate Professor in Cognitive Literary Studies
Dr Ivana BicakTeaching Fellow
Dr Daniel BlankAssistant Professor in Early Modern Literature, 1500-1700
Dr Naomi BoothAssociate Professor
Dr Marc BothaAssociate Professor
Dr Venetia BridgesAssociate Professor
Dr Vladimir BrljakAssociate Professor
Dr Alistair BrownAssistant Professor (Teaching), Digital Humanities and Modern Literature
Professor Neil CartlidgeProfessor
Dr Mark ChambersTeaching Fellow
Dr Helen CharmanTeaching Fellow
Mr Kayombo ChingonyiAssistant Professor
Dr Julie CraneAssistant Professor (Teaching)
Dr Louise CreechanLecturer in Literary Medical Humanities
Dr Martin DuboisAssociate Professor
Dr Louisa Uchum EgbunikeAssociate Professor in African/Caribbean Literature
Dr Barbara FranchiTeaching Fellow
Dr Peter GarrattAssociate Professor
Dr Abbie GarringtonAssociate Professor
Dr Megan GirdwoodAssistant Professor in Modern Literature, 1870-1945
Dr Natalie GoodisonTeaching Fellow
Dr Daniel GrausamAssociate Professor
Professor Mandy GreenProfessor
Dr Simon GrimbleAssociate Professor
Professor Jason HardingProfessor
Professor Claire HarmanProfessor in Creative Writing
Dr Daniel HartleyAssistant Professor
Dr Katharina Herold-ZankerAssistant Professor
Dr Michael HuxtableAssistant Professor in Medieval Literature
Professor Simon JamesProfessor
Dr Roisin LaingLeverhulme Early Career Fellow
Prof David LawtonProfessor of English
Dr Joan LubinAssistant Professor
Dr Philippe LynesLecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature and Theory
Professor Jane MacnaughtonResearch Associate
Dr Lianna MarkTeaching Fellow
Dr Tom MarshallTeaching Fellow
Dr Shamira Amirali MeghaniAssistant Professor
Dr Maryam MirzaAssociate Professor
Professor Tom MoleProfessor (p/t)
Dr Oliver MorganTeaching Fellow
Dr Katie MuthAssistant Professor (Teaching), Digital Humanities and Modern Literature
Professor John NashProfessor & Head of Department
Dr Helen O'ConnellAssociate Professor
Dr Joshua PughAssistant Professor
Professor Barbara RavelhoferProfessor
Professor Alastair RenfrewProfessor of English and Comparative Literature
Dr Fraser RiddellAssistant Professor in Literary Medical Humanities
Dr Sam RiviereAssistant Professor
Professor Fiona RobertsonProfessor of Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Literature
Dr James RobinsonAssistant Professor (Teaching)
Dr Emily Wing RohrbachAssociate Professor in English Literature 1660-1832
Dr Timothy RowbothamTeaching Fellow
Mr Sunjeev SahotaAssociate Professor
Professor Mark SandyProfessor
Dr Henghameh SaroukhaniAssistant Professor
Professor Corinne SaundersProfessor
Dr Philip ShawTeaching Fellow
Dr Barry SheilsAssociate Professor
Dr Emma ShortLecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature
Dr Gillian SkinnerAssociate Professor
Professor James SmithProfessor
Dr Elena SpinelliTeaching Fellow
Dr Elizabeth SwannAssistant Professor
Dr Jennifer TerryAssociate Professor
Dr Samuel ThomasAssociate Professor
Dr Susan ValladaresAssociate Professor
Dr Christopher VardyTeaching Fellow
Professor Claire WarwickProfessor
Dr Rachel WhiteTeaching Fellow
Dr Conor Wilcox-MahonTeaching Fellow
Professor Angela WoodsProfessor of Medical Humanities
Dr Guy WoodwardPost Doctoral Research Associate
Professor Sarah WoottonProfessor

Associated Staff

Dr Alexander AbichouHonorary Fellow
Prof Elizabeth ArchibaldProfessor Emerita
Dr Amanda BeresfordHonorary Fellow
Dr Kostas BoyiopoulosHonorary Fellow
Professor Timothy ClarkProfessor Emeritus
Dr Daniel DerrinHonorary Fellow
Professor David FullerProfessor Emeritus
Dr Nicole Garrod-BushHonorary Fellow
Dr Koren KuntzHonorary Fellow
Dr Sarah LohmannHonorary Fellow
Dr Laura MckenzieHonorary Fellow
Professor John McKinnellProfessor Emeritus
Professor Stephen ReganProfessor Emeritus
Dr Douglass VirdeeHonorary Fellow
Professor Patricia WaughProfessor Emerita
Dr Diana WyattHonorary Fellow