Skip to main content

Image of bullying and harassment advisor badge with rainbow lanyard

Concerns, Bullying and Harassment Advisors

We have a network of concerns, bullying and harassment advisors that can assist staff and students with enquiries, and provide information on University policies and sources of help and support.

The network acts as a first point of contact for those who feel they have experienced, or have been accused of, harassment or bullying. Advisors are able to provide impartial, confidential guidance to help people to understand what options and services are available to them.

Our advisors can:

  • Offer confidential information on issues relating to harassment, bullying and equality
  • Listen to you without making any judgments about what you say
  • Help you to clarify your thoughts about what is happening
  • Explain the informal and formal procedures under the Staff Concerns Policy and Bullying and Harassment Policy's
  • Help you to explore the various options available to you
  • Explain the mediation process and support with any referrals
  • Help you to explore other sources of support which may be available to you
  • Escalate concerns through the appropriate channels where necessary

Our Advisors are volunteers from across both academic and professional services staff within the University. All have received training to support them to undertake this role. A list of contacts is available below, where you can find out more about their location and how to get in touch.

More formal advice on options available to staff experiencing bullying and harassment can be found on our Staff Concerns - Hub of Resources or from our HR Advisors.

Concerns, Bullying and Harassment Advisors

Our Concerns, Bullying and Harassment advisors contact details and availability are below: 

Name Email Department Working Pattern
Alex Harrington a.k.harrington@durham.ac.uk Modern Languages & Cultures Monday to Friday 09:00-17:00
Carol Walker c.a.walker@durham.ac.uk Experience Durham Monday to Friday 09:00-17:00
Caroline Foster caroline.foster@durham.ac.uk Human Resources Monday to Friday 09:00-17:00
Hayley Duffy hayley.duffy@durham.ac.uk Operations Directrt Monday to Friday 09:00-17:00
Jennifer Barton jennifer.barton@durham.ac.uk Academic Office Monday to Friday 08:30-16:30
Linda Joyce linda.joyce@durham.ac.uk Procurement Monday to Friday 09:00-17:00
Mel Earnshaw melanie.h.earnshaw@durham.ac.uk Equality and Diversity Monday to Friday 09:00-17:00 (Alternate Wednesdays out of office)
Simon Gardiner s.a.gardiner@durham.ac.uk Physics Monday to Friday 09:00-17:00 (50% Physics, 50% Faculty of Science)
Timothy Buckle t.e.buckle@durham.ac.uk University Lib and Collections Monday to Friday 09:00-17:00