Skip to main content


Bob Banks small imageThe Fellows of St. Cuthbert’s Society are de facto honorary fellows of the College. They were created as a body by a decision in University Council in about 2001, and are governed by a memorandum of agreement with the College Council, first drawn up in 2005. The memorandum was created in the first instance following discussions between the Fellows and the then Principal, Prof. Roy Boyne, as a statement setting out the purpose and duties of the Fellows. Conferment of the title “Fellow of St. Cuthbert’s Society” is primarily an honour and mark of esteem by the College. Typically it is given in recognition of a substantial contribution already made to the life of the College by the nominee; a contribution that may take any form, not necessarily academic.

Dr Bob Banks (Chair of Fellows)





IAS Fellow at St Cuthbert’s Society (October-December 2023): 

Dr. Diana Johns

Contact Details

  • Home Institution email:
  • Durham email:
  • Durham Tel: +44 (0)191 3344693

Diana Johns is Associate Professor (A/Prof) ofCriminology in the School of Social and Political Sciences at the University of Melbourne. Her work explores the effects of criminalisation, the impacts of imprisonment, and the possibilities of restorative and relational justice practices. She uses a range of critical approaches and participatory methods to ground her prison/post-prison and youth justice-related research and scholarship.

You can read more about Dr Johns research here.


AS public lecture – 20 November 2023 – 6.00 – 7.00pm, Tom Percival Annex Parsons Field Site, St. Cuthbert’s Society, Durham University
How can Little Red Riding Hood help us reimagine youth justice?
Further information here.



The Fellows' Lecture 2023

The lecture has been postponed until Epiphany term. More details will be shared here soon. 


For previous Fellows' Lectures please follow this link. 


Durham Fellows

Dr Bob Banks (Chair)

Dr Mark Miller

Mrs Hilary Bowler

Prof Martin Millett

Mr Pat Mussett

Dr Rob Catty

Mr John Norton

Dr Margaret Collins

Prof Mandy Green

Ms Fiona Ellis

Ms Ann Peart

Mr John Farrington

Dr Dave Robson

Dr Fiona Gameson

Mr Christopher Somerville

Mr Ted Gup

Dr Ian Stewart

Mrs Barbara Harrison

Mr Paul Stokes

Mr Ian Harrison

Prof Graham Towl

Ms Jenny Hobbs

Mr Tim Hughes

Dr Jo Tudor

Mrs Judy Hurst

Emer Prof Dick Watson

Mr Chris Lendrum

Mr John White

Emer Prof John McKinnell

Mr John Widdowson

Emer Prof Ranald Michie

Mr Albert Hodgson

Prof Elizabeth Archibald

Mr Peter Reid

Distinguished Fellows

Mr Norman Askew

Prof Bill Block

Mr Alastair Fothergill OBE