Skip to main content

Key Staff and Roles




Technical Team

Head of Department:

Professor Simon Hogg

Overall leadership of the Department


Deputy Head of Department:

Professor David Sims-Williams

Assists with leadership of the Department


Director of Education:

Professor Christopher Crabtree

Overall strategic support for taught programmes


Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion:

Professor Andrew Gallant

Ensuring an enjoyable and supportive work and study environment for all


Director of PGR Studies:

Professor Will Coombs

Overall strategic support for research programmes and PGR students


Director of Research:

Professor Alton Horsfall

Overall strategic support for research


Director of Impact:

Professor Karen Johnson

Overall strategic support for research impact


Director of Taught Studies:

Professor Jon Trevelyan

Deputy Director of Taught Studies:

Dr Stefano Giani

Responsible for taught programmes including programme delivery, student monitoring, the academic advisor programme and career development


Chair of the Board of Examiners:

Dr Claudio Balocco

Deputy Chair of the Board of Examiners:

Dr Aissa Ikhlef

Responsible for exam board and assessment meetings, coursework and examinations


Exchange Coordinator:

Dr Yaodong Wang

Responsible for supporting incoming and outgoing overseas exchanges




Ruth Vater

Department Manager


Caroline Asling

L&T Administrator

P/T Mon – Tues

Karen Atkinson

Finance Manager


Kate Brennan

Faculty International Officer

Seconded from Faculty (ad hoc)

Jane Chilton

Finance Administrator


Jean Coverdale

L&T Administrator

P/T Wed – Fri

Natalie Dent

L&T Administrator


Louise Gascoigne

PGR Co-ordinator


Lesley Armstrong

Operations Administrator


Denise Norman

Finance Administrator

P/T Mon – Wed

Linda Owens

Finance Administrator


Charlotte Quarless

L&T Manager


Sabine Schindler

Senior Research Administrator


Amy Clarke

L&T Coordinator


Technical Team 

Steven Robertson 

Technical Manager

Julie Morgan Dodds

Senior Technician (operations/H&S)

Ian Hutchinson 

Electronics Workshop Manager

Colin Wintrip

Mechanical Workshop Manager

Gary Parker

Senior Research Technician (Thermo-fluids Lab)

Stephen Richardson 

Senior Technician (Civils Lab)