Skip to main content

Staff

Academic Staff

NamePositionEmail
Professor Simon Hogg Head of Department of Engineering simon.hogg@durham.ac.uk
Professor David Sims-Williams Deputy Head of Department d.b.sims-williams@durham.ac.uk
Dr Iddo Amit Assistant Professor iddo.amit@durham.ac.uk
Professor Charles Augarde Professor charles.augarde@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hamed Bahmani Assistant Professor hamed.h.bahmani@durham.ac.uk
Dr Claudio Balocco Associate Professor claudio.balocco@durham.ac.uk
Dr Huashan Bao Assistant Professor, Teaching & Research huashan.bao@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Elizabeth Barnes Teaching Fellow Contact Elizabeth Barnes
Dr Majid Bastankhah Assistant Professor majid.bastankhah@durham.ac.uk
Professor Toby Breckon Professor toby.breckon@durham.ac.uk
Dr Rui Carvalho Assistant Professor rui.carvalho@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mujeeb Ullah Chaudhry Assistant Professor mujeeb.u.chaudhry@durham.ac.uk
Dr Will Coombs Associate Professor w.m.coombs@durham.ac.uk
Dr Christopher Crabtree Associate Professor c.j.crabtree@durham.ac.uk
Dr Fang Fang Assistant Professor fang.fang@durham.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Gallant Professor a.j.gallant@durham.ac.uk
Dr Lian Gan Associate Professor lian.gan@durham.ac.uk
Professor Philip Gaskell Professor p.h.gaskell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stefano Giani Assistant Professor stefano.giani@durham.ac.uk
Professor Chris Groves Professor chris.groves@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alton Horsfall Associate Professor alton.b.horsfall@durham.ac.uk
Dr Paul Hughes Associate Professor paul.hughes2@durham.ac.uk
Dr Aissa Ikhlef Assistant Professor aissa.ikhlef@durham.ac.uk
Dr Grant Ingram Associate Professor g.l.ingram@durham.ac.uk
Professor Karen Johnson Professor karen.johnson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Behzad Kazemtabrizi Associate Professor behzad.kazemtabrizi@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mehdi Keshavarz Hedayati Assistant Professor  
Dr Marti Lloret-Cabot Assistant Professor marti.lloret-cabot@durham.ac.uk
Dr Zhiwei Ma Assistant Professor, Research Track zhiwei.ma@durham.ac.uk
Professor Simon Mathias Professor s.a.mathias@durham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Matthews Associate Professor p.c.matthews@durham.ac.uk
Professor Ashraf Osman Professor ashraf.osman@durham.ac.uk
Professor Michael Petty Emeritus Professor m.c.petty@durham.ac.uk
Professor Alan Purvis Emeritus Professor alan.purvis@durham.ac.uk
Professor Tony Roskilly Professor anthony.p.roskilly@durham.ac.uk
Professor Sana Salous Chair of Communications Engineering sana.salous@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mohammed Seaid Associate Professor m.seaid@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mahmoud Shahbazi Assistant Professor mahmoud.shahbazi@durham.ac.uk
Dr Natasha Shirshova Assistant Professor natasha.shirshova@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Smallbone Associate Professor andrew.smallbone@durham.ac.uk
Professor Hongjian Sun Professor hongjian.sun@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stefan Szyniszewski Assistant Professor stefan.t.szyniszewski@durham.ac.uk
Professor Peter Tavner Emeritus Professor peter.tavner@durham.ac.uk
Professor David Toll Professor d.g.toll@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jon Trevelyan Professor jon.trevelyan@durham.ac.uk
Professor Anthony Unsworth Emeritus Professor tony.unsworth@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sergii Veremieiev Assistant Professor s.veremieiev@durham.ac.uk
Dr Oliver Vogt Industrial tutor (PT) oliver.vogt@durham.ac.uk
Dr Qing Wang Associate Professor and International Coordinator qing.wang@durham.ac.uk
Dr Yaodong Wang Associate Professor yaodong.wang@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jun Jie Wu Professor junjie.wu@durham.ac.uk
Professor Dagou Zeze Professor d.a.zeze@durham.ac.uk

Professional Support Services Staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Ruth Vater Department Manager ruth.vater@durham.ac.uk
Miss Rebecca Jackson Operations Administrator (Reception) rebecca.jackson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Sabine Schindler Senior Research Administrator sabine.schindler@durham.ac.uk
Dr Charlotte Quarless Learning and Teaching Manager charlotte.m.quarless@durham.ac.uk
Ms Caroline Asling Learning & Teaching Administrator (PT) caroline.asling@durham.ac.uk
Ms Jean Coverdale Learning & Teaching Administrator (PT) j.o.t.coverdale@durham.ac.uk
Miss Natalie Dent Learning & Teaching Administrator natalie.dent@durham.ac.uk
Miss Leanne Williamson PGR Co-ordinator leanne.j.williamson@durham.ac.uk
Miss Kate Brennan International Officer kate.brennan@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Karen Atkinson Finance Manager & Travel Reporter/Approver k.l.atkinson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Jane Chilton Finance Administrator  
Ms Denise Norman Finance Administrator (PT)  
Dr Steve Robertson Technical Operations Manager steven.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ian Hutchinson Technical Manager, Electronics & Electrical ian.hutchinson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Colin Wintrip Technical Manager, Mechanical colin.wintrip@durham.ac.uk
Mr Daniel Atkinson Electronics Technician daniel.j.atkinson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Neil Clarey Electronics Technician neil.clarey@durham.ac.uk
Mr Colin Dart Electronics Technician colin.dart@durham.ac.uk
Mr Paul Davidson Mechanical Workshop Technician paul.davidson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ian Douglass Technician ian.d.douglass@durham.ac.uk
Mr Phillip Duffy Mechanical Workshop Technician phillip.duffy@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ian Garrett Electronics Technician i.d.garrett@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jonathan Heslop Senior Technician in Energy Systems jonathan.heslop@durham.ac.uk
Mr Paul Jarvis Mechanical Workshop Technician paul.jarvis2@durham.ac.uk
Mr K Longley Technician (Civils Laboratory) kevan.longley@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Julie Morgan Dodds Senior Technician (Operations) Deputy H&S Advisor j.m.dodds@durham.ac.uk
Mr Antony Newman Mechanical Workshop Technician antony.newman@durham.ac.uk
Mr Gary Parker Thermo Laboratory Technician gary.parker@durham.ac.uk
Mr Stephen Richardson Technician (Civils Laboratory) stephen.richardson@durham.ac.uk
Miss Amy Tate Electronics Technician amy.tate@durham.ac.uk
Mr Stuart Watson Mechanical Workshop Technician s.d.watson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Andrea Parker Coffee Bar (PT Wednesday Thursday & Friday) andrea.parker@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Elizabeth Yallop Coffee Bar (PT Monday & Tuesday) elizabeth.yallop@durham.ac.uk

Research Staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Charlotte Adams Research Associate c.a.adams@durham.ac.uk
Ing Felix Ayeh Research Associate Contact Felix Ayeh
Dr Arash Azizi Research Fellow arash.azizi@durham.ac.uk
Dr Lynsay Blake Daphne Jackson Research Fellow lynsay.i.blake@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ross Carnachan Research Associate ross.carnachan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Chen Chao Research Visitor chen.chao@durham.ac.uk
Dr Tim Charlton Research Associate t.j.charlton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michael Cooke Senior Experimental Officer  
Dr D.C. Dao Research Associate  
Dr Ana Sofia Dias Research Associate Contact Ana Sofia Dias
Dr Khalid Ismail Research Associate khalid.n.ismail@durham.ac.uk
Dr Natalia Kaliteevskaya Research Associate natalia.kaliteevskaya@durham.ac.uk
Dr Heather Kerr Research Associate heather.kerr@durham.ac.uk
Miss Nadia Khan Research Associate nadia.m.khan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alaa Kourdey Research Associate alaa.kourdey@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sydney Laryea Research Associate Contact Sydney Laryea
Dr Xiangyu Li Dr xiangyu.li@durham.ac.uk
Dr Janie Ling-Chin Assistant Professor (Research) Contact Janie Ling-Chin
Dr Mwajuma Lingwanda Research Associate Contact Mwajuma Lingwanda
Dr Yiji Lu Assistant Professor (Research) Contact Yiji Lu
Dr Hamed Moghaddasi Research Associate Contact Hamed Moghaddasi
Dr Sumit Roy Assistant Professor (Research) sumit.roy@durham.ac.uk
Dr Nicola J. Townsend Research Associate nicola.j.townsend@durham.ac.uk
Dr Shivaprasad Vijayalakshmi Assistant Professor (Research) shivaprasad.k.vijayalakshmi@durham.ac.uk
Dr Richard Williams Research Associate r.j.williams5@durham.ac.uk

Postgraduate Students

NamePositionEmail
Mr Mohamed Abdulali Research Postgraduate Contact Mohamed Abdulali
Mr Thomas Adams Postgraduate student thomas.d.adams@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Francisco Aguerrebere-gonzalez Research Postgraduate francisco.e.aguerrebere-gonzalez@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Alia Al-ghosoun Postgraduate student alia.r.al-ghosoun@durham.ac.uk
Mr Amar Al-jzari Research Postgraduate Contact Amar Al-jzari
Mr Jaafar Albadr Postgraduate student jaafar.n.albadr@durham.ac.uk
Ms Areej Almazroa Research Postgraduate areej.a.almazroa@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Sermed Alsaadi Research Postgraduate sermed.a.alsaadi@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Abdulrahman Alsafrani Research Postgraduate Contact Abdulrahman Alsafrani
Mr Abraham Alvarez-bustos Postgraduate student abraham.alvarez-bustos@durham.ac.uk
Mr Josue Alvarez-lares research postgraduate josue.alvarez-lares@durham.ac.uk
Mr Rodrigo Arauz-sosa Research Postgraduate rodrigo.a.arauz-sosa@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Abdulkarim Athwer Research Postgraduate abdulkarim.n.athwer@durham.ac.uk
Miss Henna Bains Postgraduate student henna.bains@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jesus Bernal-morales Postgraduate Student jesus.d.bernal-morales@durham.ac.uk
Mr Robert Bird Postgraduate student robert.e.bird@durham.ac.uk
Mr Anas Abubakar Bisu Postgraduate student anas.a.bisu@durham.ac.uk
Mr David Brooks Postgraduate student Contact David Brooks
Mr Hugo Calder Research Postgraduate hugo.calder2@durham.ac.uk
Mr Yusheng Cao Postgraduate student yusheng.cao@durham.ac.uk
Mr Abhishek Chandramohan Research Postgraduate abhishek.chandramohan@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Shi Chen Research Postgraduate Contact Shi Chen
Miss Keturah Civelek Postgraduate student k.m.civelek@durham.ac.uk
Mr Emilio Contreras-tellez Research Postgraduate Contact Emilio Contreras-tellez
Ms Martha Correa-delval Research Postgraduate Contact Martha Correa-delval
Mr Roger Cox Postgraduate student Contact Roger Cox
Mr Marcos Eduardo Cruz Victorio Research Postgraduate marcos.e.cruz-victorio@durham.ac.uk
Miss Alessia Cuccurullo Postgraduate Student alessia.cuccurullo@durham.ac.uk
Mr Peter Dagen   Contact Peter Dagen
Mr George Daly Research Postgraduate Contact George Daly
Miss Eleanor Desmond Research Postgraduate eleanor.desmond@durham.ac.uk
Miss Sophie Draper Research Postgraduate sophie.m.draper@durham.ac.uk
Mr Aidan Duffy Research Postgraduate aidan.j.duffy@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Kevin Egan Research Postgraduate Contact Kevin Egan
Mr Saied El-faitori Postgraduate student saied.o.el-faitori@durham.ac.uk
Mr Amin Elfasi Research Postgraduate amin.e.alfasi@durham.ac.uk
Miss Lei Fan Postgraduate student lei.fan@durham.ac.uk
Miss Vanessa Fenlon Postgraduate student Contact Vanessa Fenlon
Mr Carlos Ferrandon-cervantes Postgraduate student carlos.j.ferrandon-cervantes@durham.ac.uk
Mr Iman Frozanpoor Postgraduate student Contact Iman Frozanpoor
Ms. Miriam Fsadni Research Postgraduate Contact Miriam Fsadni
Mr Alejandro Galan-gonzalez Research Postgraduate Contact Alejandro Galan-gonzalez
Mr. Carlos Garcia-verdugo Research Postgraduate carlos.a.garcia-verdugo@durham.ac.uk
Mr Tiago Gaspar Research Postgraduate tiago.gaspar@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Nathan Gavin Research Postgraduate nathan.d.gavin@durham.ac.uk
Mr Benjamin Gilvey Postgraduate student benjamin.gilvey@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Eduardo Gonzalez-osuna Research Postgraduate Contact Eduardo Gonzalez-osuna
Miss Karen Gonzalez-trapero Research Postgraduate karen.y.gonzalez-trapero@durham.ac.uk
Ms Tariro Gwandu Research Postgraduate Contact Tariro Gwandu
Mr Jonathan Hammler Postgraduate student jonathan.hammler@durham.ac.uk
Ms Nur Hashim Postgraduate student nur.a.hashim@durham.ac.uk
Ms Monica Hernandez-cedillo Research Postgraduate monica.hernandez-cedillo@durham.ac.uk
Mr Julio Hernandez-manjarrez Research Postgraduate Contact Julio Hernandez-manjarrez
Mr John Heron Postgraduate student john.w.heron@durham.ac.uk
Mr Weiqi Hua Postgraduate student weiqi.hua@durham.ac.uk
Mr Chuxia Huang Postgraduate student chuxia.huang@durham.ac.uk
Miss Yingjia Huang Research Postgraduate Contact Yingjia Huang
Miss Susana Islas-gutierrez Research Postgraduate susana.s.islas-gutierrez@durham.ac.uk
Miss Elvia Daniela Izquierdo-Ruiz Postgraduate student elvia.d.izquierdo-ruiz@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Renato Jacobo-tapia Research Postgraduate renato.jacobo-tapia@durham.ac.uk
Mr Luis Jimenez-diaz Research Postgraduate luis.c.jimenez-diaz@durham.ac.uk
Miss Maria Jimenez-vizcarra Research Postgraduate Contact Maria Jimenez-vizcarra
Mr Benedict Jones Research Postgraduate benedict.jones@durham.ac.uk
Miss Purneema Kaur Research Postgraduate Contact Purneema Kaur
Mr Andreas Klein Postgraduate student andreas.klein@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ivan Lazcano-guzman Postgraduate Student ivan.f.lazcano-guzman@durham.ac.uk
Miss Rhiannon Lees Postgraduate student rhiannon.lees@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Chengqian Li Research Postgraduate Contact Chengqian Li
Mr Matthew Littlefair Research Postgraduate matthew.littlefair@durham.ac.uk
Mr Eduardo Lopez-torres Research Postgraduate eduardo.j.lopez-torres@durham.ac.uk
Mr James Maccalman Postgraduate student james.a.maccalman@durham.ac.uk
Mr Florian Marner Postgraduate student florian.m.marner@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jose Marquez-ruiz Research Postgraduate jose.a.marquez-ruiz@durham.ac.uk
Mr Pedro Martinez-castro Research Postgraduate Contact Pedro Martinez-castro
Mr Daniel Martinez-munoz Research Postgraduate daniel.a.martinez-munoz@durham.ac.uk
Diana Martinez-trejo Research Postgraduate Contact Diana Martinez-trejo
Mr Esmaeel Masoudi Research Postgraduate esmaeel.masoudi@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Ewan Matheson Research Postgraduate Contact Ewan Matheson
Mr Andrew Messenger Postgraduate student andrew.messenger@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sravan Muguda Postgraduate student sravan.muguda-viswanath@durham.ac.uk
Mr Rector Mukwiri Postgraduate student r.a.mukwiri@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Matthew Naylor Research Postgraduate Contact Matthew Naylor
Mr Balder Nieto-diaz Postgraduate student Contact Balder Nieto-diaz
Ms Nik Khadijah Nik Aznan Postgraduate student nik.k.nik-aznan@durham.ac.uk
Mr Rigoberto Ortega-chavez Research Postgraduate Contact Rigoberto Ortega-chavez
Mr David Palacios-gomez Research Postgraduate Contact David Palacios-gomez
Mr Luke Payne Postgraduate student Contact Luke Payne
Ms Amy Peters research Postgraduate Contact Amy Peters
Miss Samprada Pradhan Postgraduate student samprada.pradhan@durham.ac.uk
Mr Giuliano Pretti Research Postgraduate giuliano.pretti@durham.ac.uk
Mr Carlos Rasgado-moreno Research Postgraduate carlos.o.rasgado-moreno@durham.ac.uk
Miss Sarah Sheehy Postgraduate student sarah.sheehy2@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ryan Siddall Research Postgraduate Contact Ryan Siddall
Mr Dongseok Song Research Postgraduate Contact Dongseok Song
Miss Polina Stefanova Postgraduate student Contact Polina Stefanova
Miss Beatriz Tan-valdez Research Postgraduate Contact Beatriz Tan-valdez
Mr Huw Thomas Research Postgraduate huw.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jack Towers Postgraduate student jack.l.towers@durham.ac.uk
Miss Eléonore Vissol-Gaudin Postgraduate student eleonore.vissol-gaudin@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jianye Wang Postgraduate student jianye.wang@durham.ac.uk
Ms. Ruiqi Wang Research Postgraduate Contact Ruiqi Wang
Mr. Cai Williams Research Postgraduate Contact Cai Williams
Mr Ben Woodward Research Postgraduate Contact Ben Woodward
Mr Minglei You Research Postgraduate minglei.you@durham.ac.uk
Ms Nor Zahari Postgraduate student nor.m.zahari@durham.ac.uk
Mr Othman Zahid Research Postgraduate othman.zahid@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Hussin Zahloul Research Postgraduate hussin.a.zahloul@durham.ac.uk
Mr Zhi Zhang Research Postgraduate zhi.zhang@durham.ac.uk