Skip to main content

Academic Staff

NameTitle
Professor Simon HoggHead of Department of Engineering
Professor David Sims-WilliamsDeputy Head of Department
Dr Iddo AmitAssistant Professor
Professor Charles AugardeProfessor
Dr Hamed BahmaniAssistant Professor
Dr Claudio BaloccoAssociate Professor
Dr Huashan BaoAssistant Professor, Teaching & Research
Mrs Elizabeth BarnesTeaching Fellow
Dr Majid BastankhahAssistant Professor
Dr. Ismail Ben MabroukAssistant Professor
Professor Toby BreckonProfessor
Dr Rui CarvalhoAssistant Professor
Dr Mujeeb Ullah ChaudhryAssistant Professor
Professor Will CoombsProfessor
Dr Christopher CrabtreeProfessor
Dr Fang FangAssistant Professor
Professor Andrew GallantProfessor
Dr Lian GanAssociate Professor
Professor Philip GaskellProfessor
Dr Stefano GianiAssistant Professor
Professor Chris GrovesProfessor
Professor Alton HorsfallProfessor
Dr Paul HughesAssociate Professor
Dr Aissa IkhlefAssociate Professor
Dr Grant IngramAssociate Professor
Professor Karen JohnsonProfessor
Dr Behzad KazemtabriziAssociate Professor
Dr Mehdi Keshavarz Hedayati Assistant Professor
Dr Alaa KourdeyResearch Associate
Dr Marti Lloret-CabotAssistant Professor
Dr Zhiwei MaAssistant Professor, Research Track
Professor Simon MathiasProfessor
Dr Peter MatthewsAssociate Professor
Professor Ashraf OsmanProfessor
Professor Michael PettyEmeritus Professor
Professor Alan PurvisEmeritus Professor
Professor Tony RoskillyProfessor
Professor Sana SalousChair of Communications Engineering
Dr Mohammed SeaidAssociate Professor
Dr Mahmoud ShahbaziAssistant Professor
Dr Natasha ShirshovaAssistant Professor
Dr Andrew SmallboneAssociate Professor
Professor Hongjian SunProfessor
Dr Stefan SzyniszewskiAssistant Professor
Professor Peter TavnerEmeritus Professor
Professor David TollProfessor
Professor Jon TrevelyanProfessor
Professor Anthony UnsworthEmeritus Professor
Dr Sergii VeremieievAssociate Professor
Dr Oliver VogtIndustrial tutor (PT)
Dr Qing WangAssociate Professor and International Coordinator
Dr Yaodong WangAssociate Professor
Professor Jun Jie WuProfessor
Professor Dagou ZezeProfessor

Professional Support Services Staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Ruth Vater Department Manager ruth.vater@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Joanne Lloyd Operations Administrator (Reception) joanne.lloyd@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Sabine Schindler Senior Research Administrator sabine.schindler@durham.ac.uk
Dr Charlotte Quarless Learning and Teaching Manager charlotte.m.quarless@durham.ac.uk
Dr Louise Logan-Smith  Learning and Teaching Coordinator louise.logan-smith@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Caroline Asling Learning & Teaching Administrator (PT) caroline.asling@durham.ac.uk
Ms Jean Coverdale Learning & Teaching Administrator (PT) j.o.t.coverdale@durham.ac.uk
Miss Natalie Dent Learning & Teaching Administrator natalie.dent@durham.ac.uk
Miss Louise Gascoigne PGR Co-ordinator Louise.Gascoigne@durham.ac.uk
Miss Kate Brennan International Officer kate.brennan@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Karen Atkinson Finance Manager & Travel Reporter/Approver k.l.atkinson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Jane Chilton Finance Administrator jane.chilton@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Linda Owens Finance Administrator linda.owens@durham.ac.uk
Ms Denise Norman Finance Administrator (PT) denise.norman@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Steve Robertson Technical Operations Manager steven.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ian Hutchinson Technical Manager, Electronics & Electrical ian.hutchinson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Colin Wintrip Technical Manager, Mechanical colin.wintrip@durham.ac.uk
Mr Daniel Atkinson Electronics Technician daniel.j.atkinson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Neil Clarey Electronics Technician neil.clarey@durham.ac.uk
Mr Colin Dart Electronics Technician colin.dart@durham.ac.uk
Mr Paul Davidson Mechanical Workshop Technician paul.davidson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ian Douglass Technician ian.d.douglass@durham.ac.uk
Mr Phillip Duffy Mechanical Workshop Technician phillip.duffy@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ian Garrett Electronics Technician i.d.garrett@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jonathan Heslop Senior Technician in Energy Systems jonathan.heslop@durham.ac.uk
Mr Paul Jarvis Mechanical Workshop Technician paul.jarvis2@durham.ac.uk
Mr K Longley Technician (Civils Laboratory) kevan.longley@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Julie Morgan Dodds Senior Technician (Operations) Deputy H&S Advisor j.m.dodds@durham.ac.uk
Mr Antony Newman Mechanical Workshop Technician antony.newman@durham.ac.uk
Mr Gary Parker Thermo Laboratory Technician gary.parker@durham.ac.uk
Mr Stephen Richardson Technician (Civils Laboratory) stephen.richardson@durham.ac.uk
Miss Amy Tate Electronics Technician amy.tate@durham.ac.uk
Mr Stuart Watson Mechanical Workshop Technician s.d.watson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Andrea Parker Coffee Bar (PT Wednesday Thursday & Friday) andrea.parker@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Elizabeth Yallop Coffee Bar (PT Monday & Tuesday) elizabeth.yallop@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ionna Zougrou  Research & Teaching Lab Technical Support ioanna.m.zougrou@durham.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameTitle
Dr Charlotte AdamsResearch Associate
Ing Felix AyehResearch Associate
Dr Arash AziziResearch Fellow
Dr Henna BainsResearch Associate
Dr Lynsay BlakeDaphne Jackson Research Fellow
Dr Ross CarnachanResearch Associate
Dr Chen ChaoResearch Visitor
Dr Tim CharltonResearch Associate
Dr Michael CookeSenior Experimental Officer
Dr D.C. DaoResearch Associate
Dr Ana Sofia DiasResearch Associate
Mr Saied El-faitoriPostgraduate Associate
Dr Khalid IsmailResearch Associate
Dr Natalia KaliteevskayaResearch Associate
Dr Heather KerrResearch Associate
Dr Sydney LaryeaResearch Associate
Mr Christopher LawrenceResearch Associate
Dr Xiangyu LiResearch Associate
Dr Janie Ling-ChinAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Mwajuma LingwandaResearch Associate
Dr Louise Logan-smithLearning & Teaching Administrator
Dr Yiji LuAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Abdullah MalikAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Hamed MoghaddasiResearch Associate
Dr Sumit RoyAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Nicola J. TownsendResearch Associate
Dr Shivaprasad VijayalakshmiAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Richard WilliamsResearch Associate

Research Postgraduates

NameTitle
Mr Mohamed AbdulaliResearch Postgraduate
Mr Thomas AdamsPostgraduate student
Mr. Francisco Aguerrebere-gonzalezResearch Postgraduate
Mrs Alia Al-ghosounPostgraduate student
Mr Amar Al-jzariResearch Postgraduate
Mr Jaafar AlbadrPostgraduate student
Ms Areej AlmazroaResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Sermed AlsaadiResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Abdulrahman AlsafraniResearch Postgraduate
Mr Abraham Alvarez-bustosPostgraduate student
Mr Josue Alvarez-laresresearch postgraduate
Mr Rodrigo Arauz-sosaResearch Postgraduate
Mr Jesus Bernal-moralesPostgraduate Student
Mr Robert BirdPostgraduate student
Mr Anas Abubakar BisuPostgraduate student
Mr. Max BorrmannResearch Postgraduate
Mr David BrooksPostgraduate student
Mr Hugo CalderResearch Postgraduate
Mr Yusheng CaoPostgraduate student
Mr Abhishek ChandramohanResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Shi ChenResearch Postgraduate
Miss Keturah CivelekPostgraduate student
Mr Emilio Contreras-tellezResearch Postgraduate
Ms Martha Correa-delvalResearch Postgraduate
Mr Roger CoxPostgraduate student
Mr Marcos Eduardo Cruz VictorioResearch Postgraduate
Miss Alessia CuccurulloPostgraduate Student
Mr Peter Dagen
Mr George DalyResearch Postgraduate
Miss Eleanor DesmondResearch Postgraduate
Miss Sophie DraperResearch Postgraduate
Mr Aidan DuffyResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Kevin EganResearch Postgraduate
Mr Ridvan ErgunResearch postgraduate
Miss Lei FanPostgraduate student
Miss Vanessa FenlonPostgraduate student
Mr Carlos Ferrandon-cervantesPostgraduate student
Mr Iman FrozanpoorPostgraduate student
Ms. Miriam FsadniResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Carlos Garcia-verdugoResearch Postgraduate
Mr Tiago GasparResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Nathan GavinResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Amir GhasemiResearch Postgraduate
Mr Benjamin GilveyPostgraduate student
Mr. Eduardo Gonzalez-osunaResearch Postgraduate
Miss Karen Gonzalez-traperoResearch Postgraduate
Ms Tariro GwanduResearch Postgraduate
Mr Jonathan HammlerPostgraduate student
Ms Nur HashimPostgraduate student
Ms Monica Hernandez-cedilloResearch Postgraduate
Mr John HeronPostgraduate student
Mr Weiqi HuaPostgraduate student
Mr Chuxia HuangPostgraduate student
Miss Yingjia HuangResearch Postgraduate
Miss Susana Islas-gutierrezResearch Postgraduate
Miss Elvia Daniela Izquierdo-RuizPostgraduate student
Mr. Renato Jacobo-tapiaResearch Postgraduate
Mr Luis Jimenez-diazResearch Postgraduate
Miss Maria Jimenez-vizcarraResearch Postgraduate
Mr Benedict JonesResearch Postgraduate
Miss Purneema KaurResearch Postgraduate
Mrs. Arjmand KhaliqResearch Postgraduate
Mr Andreas KleinPostgraduate student
Miss Rhiannon LeesPostgraduate student
Mr. Chengqian LiResearch Postgraduate
Mr Matthew LittlefairResearch Postgraduate
Mr Eduardo Lopez-torresResearch Postgraduate
Mr James MaccalmanPostgraduate student
Mr Florian MarnerPostgraduate student
Mr Jose Marquez-ruizResearch Postgraduate
Mr Pedro Martinez-castroResearch Postgraduate
Mr Daniel Martinez-munozResearch Postgraduate
Diana Martinez-trejoResearch Postgraduate
Mr Esmaeel MasoudiResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Ewan MathesonResearch Postgraduate
Dr Sravan MugudaPostgraduate student
Mr Rector MukwiriPostgraduate student
Mr. Matthew NaylorResearch Postgraduate
Mr Balder Nieto-diazPostgraduate student
Ms Nik Khadijah Nik AznanPostgraduate student
Mr Rigoberto Ortega-chavezResearch Postgraduate
Mr David Palacios-gomezResearch Postgraduate
Mr Luke PaynePostgraduate student
Ms Amy Petersresearch Postgraduate
Miss Samprada PradhanPostgraduate student
Mr Giuliano PrettiResearch Postgraduate
Mr Carlos Rasgado-morenoResearch Postgraduate
Miss Sarah SheehyPostgraduate student
Mr Ryan SiddallResearch Postgraduate
Mr Dongseok SongResearch Postgraduate
Miss Polina StefanovaPostgraduate student
Mr. Shixian SunResearch Postgraduate
Miss Beatriz Tan-valdezResearch Postgraduate
Mr Huw ThomasResearch Postgraduate
Mr Jack TowersPostgraduate student
Miss Eléonore Vissol-GaudinPostgraduate student
Mr Jianye WangPostgraduate student
Ms. Ruiqi WangResearch Postgraduate
Miss Chenjue WangResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Cai WilliamsResearch Postgraduate
Mr Ben WoodwardResearch Postgraduate
Ms Nor ZahariPostgraduate student
Mr Othman ZahidResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Hussin ZahloulResearch Postgraduate
Mr Zhi ZhangResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Jian ZhouResearch Postgraduate
Miss Kaixuan ZhouResearch Postgraduate