Skip to main content

Academic Staff

NameTitle
Professor Simon HoggHead of Department of Engineering
Professor David Sims-WilliamsDeputy Head of Department
Dr Iddo AmitAssistant Professor
Professor Charles AugardeProfessor
Dr Hamed BahmaniAssistant Professor
Dr Claudio BaloccoAssociate Professor
Dr Huashan BaoAssistant Professor
Dr Elizabeth BarnesAssistant Professor
Dr Majid BastankhahAssistant Professor
Dr. Ismail Ben MabroukAssistant Professor
Professor Toby BreckonProfessor
Dr Rui CarvalhoAssistant Professor
Dr Mujeeb U. ChaudhryAssistant Professor
Professor Will CoombsProfessor
Professor Tim CoombsProfessor
Professor Christopher CrabtreeProfessor
Professor Andrew GallantProfessor
Dr Lian GanAssociate Professor
Professor Philip GaskellProfessor
Dr Stefano GianiAssistant Professor
Professor Chris GrovesProfessor
Professor Alton HorsfallProfessor
Dr Ensieh HosseiniAssistant Professor
Dr Paul HughesAssociate Professor
Dr Aissa IkhlefAssociate Professor
Dr Grant IngramAssociate Professor
Professor Karen JohnsonProfessor
Dr Behzad KazemtabriziAssociate Professor
Dr Mehdi Keshavarz Hedayati Assistant Professor
Professor Ashraf William KhirProfessor
Dr Alaa KourdeyResearch Associate
Dr Marti Lloret-CabotAssistant Professor
Dr Zhiwei MaAssistant Professor, Research Track
Dr Roderick MackenzieAssistant Professor
Professor Simon MathiasProfessor
Dr Peter MatthewsAssociate Professor
Professor Ashraf OsmanProfessor
Dr Bartolomeo Panto'Assistant Professor
Dr Alexandros PetalasAssistant Professor
Professor Michael PettyEmeritus Professor
Professor Alan PurvisEmeritus Professor
Professor Tony RoskillyProfessor
Professor Sana SalousProfessor, Chair of Communications Engineering
Dr Nur SarmaAssociate Professor
Dr Mohammed SeaidAssociate Professor
Dr Mahmoud ShahbaziAssistant Professor
Dr Natasha ShirshovaAssistant Professor
Dr Andrew SmallboneAssociate Professor
Professor Hongjian SunProfessor
Dr Stefan SzyniszewskiAssistant Professor
Professor Peter TavnerEmeritus Professor
Professor David TollProfessor
Professor Jon TrevelyanProfessor
Professor Anthony UnsworthEmeritus Professor
Dr Sergii VeremieievAssociate Professor
Dr Oliver VogtIndustrial tutor (PT)
Dr Qing WangAssociate Professor and International Coordinator
Dr Yaodong WangAssociate Professor
Professor Jun Jie WuProfessor
Professor Dagou ZezeProfessor
Dr Wangcheng ZhangAssistant Professor

Professional Support Services Staff

Name Position Email
Dr Ruth Vater Department Manager ruth.vater@durham.ac.uk
Miss Lesley Armstrong Operations Administrator (Reception) lesley.armstrong@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Sabine Schindler Senior Research Administrator sabine.schindler@durham.ac.uk
Dr Charlotte Quarless Learning and Teaching Manager charlotte.m.quarless@durham.ac.uk
Miss Amy Clark Learning and Teaching Coordinator a.e.clarke@durham.ac.uk
Ms Caroline Asling Learning & Teaching Administrator (PT) caroline.asling@durham.ac.uk
Ms Jean Coverdale Learning & Teaching Administrator (PT) j.o.t.coverdale@durham.ac.uk
Miss Natalie Dent Learning & Teaching Administrator natalie.dent@durham.ac.uk
Miss Louise Gascoigne PGR Co-ordinator Louise.Gascoigne@durham.ac.uk
Miss Kate Brennan International Officer kate.brennan@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Karen Atkinson Finance Manager & Travel Reporter/Approver k.l.atkinson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Jane Chilton Finance Administrator jane.chilton@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Linda Owens Finance Administrator linda.owens@durham.ac.uk
Ms Denise Norman Finance Administrator (PT) denise.norman@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Steve Robertson Technical Operations Manager steven.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ian Hutchinson Technical Manager, Electronics & Electrical ian.hutchinson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Colin Wintrip Technical Manager, Mechanical colin.wintrip@durham.ac.uk
Mr Neil Clarey Electronics Technician neil.clarey@durham.ac.uk
Mr Paul Davidson Mechanical Workshop Technician paul.davidson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ian Douglass Technician ian.d.douglass@durham.ac.uk
Mr Phillip Duffy Mechanical Workshop Technician phillip.duffy@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ian Garrett Electronics Technician i.d.garrett@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jonathan Heslop Senior Technician in Energy Systems jonathan.heslop@durham.ac.uk
Mr Paul Jarvis Mechanical Workshop Technician paul.jarvis2@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Julie Morgan Dodds Senior Technician (Operations) Deputy H&S Advisor j.m.dodds@durham.ac.uk
Mr Gary Parker Thermo Laboratory Technician gary.parker@durham.ac.uk
Mr Stephen Richardson Technician (Civils Laboratory) stephen.richardson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Stuart Watson Mechanical Workshop Technician s.d.watson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Andrea Parker Coffee Bar (PT Wednesday Thursday & Friday) andrea.parker@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Elizabeth Yallop Coffee Bar (PT Monday & Tuesday) elizabeth.yallop@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ioanna Zougrou  Advanced Instrumentation Technician ioanna.m.zougrou@durham.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameTitle
Dr Charlotte AdamsResearch Associate
Ing Felix AyehResearch Associate
Dr Arash AziziResearch Fellow
Dr Henna BainsResearch Associate
Dr Lynsay BlakeDaphne Jackson Research Fellow
Dr Robert BorthwickResearch Associate
Dr Ross CarnachanResearch Associate
Dr Chen ChaoResearch Visitor
Dr Tim CharltonResearch Associate
Dr Michael CookeSenior Experimental Officer
Dr D.C. DaoResearch Associate
Dr Ana Sofia DiasResearch Associate
Dr Paloma Dos-santosDr
Mr Saied El-faitoriPostgraduate Associate
Dr Alessandro GiampieriResearch Associate
Dr Khalid IsmailResearch Associate
Dr Natalia KaliteevskayaResearch Associate
Miss Susmita KoleyResearch Associate
Dr Sydney LaryeaResearch Associate
Mr Christopher LawrenceResearch Associate
Dr Xiangyu LiResearch Associate
Dr Janie Ling-ChinAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Mwajuma LingwandaResearch Associate
Dr Abdullah MalikAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Saleh MeibodiDr
Dr Hamed MoghaddasiResearch Associate
Dr Mohammadreza MohammadiResearch Associate
Dr Sumit RoyAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Nicola J. TownsendResearch Associate
Dr Shivaprasad VijayalakshmiAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Richard WilliamsResearch Associate

Research Postgraduates

NameTitle
Mr Mohamed AbdulaliResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Olusegun AdenijiResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Francisco Emir Aguerrebere GonzalezResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Alexis Aguilar-celisResearch Postgraduate
Mr Amar Al-jzariResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Abdulwahab AlghamdiResearch Postgraduate
Ms Areej AlmazroaResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Sermed AlsaadiResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Abdulrahman AlsafraniResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Abdullah AlshammariResearch Postgraduate
Mr Josue Alvarez-laresresearch postgraduate
Mr Samuel ArmittResearch Postgraduate
Miss Ana BeaumontResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Adam BickerdikeResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Max BorrmannResearch Postgraduate
Mr David BrooksPostgraduate student
Mr Hugo CalderResearch Postgraduate
Mr Luis Felipe Ceron-OliverResearch Postgraduate
Mr Abhishek ChandramohanResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Wenzhi ChenResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Shi ChenResearch Postgraduate
Miss Keturah CivelekPostgraduate student
Ms Martha Teresa Correa-DelvalResearch Postgraduate
Mr Roger CoxPostgraduate student
Mr Marcos Eduardo Cruz VictorioResearch Postgraduate
Mr George DalyResearch Postgraduate
Miss Ellie DesmondResearch Postgraduate
Miss Sophie DraperResearch Postgraduate
Mr Aidan DuffyResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Kevin EganResearch Postgraduate
Mr Emeka EkwennaResearch Postgraduate
Mr Ridvan ErgunResearch postgraduate
Miss Rui FangResearch Postgraduate
Miss Vanessa FenlonPostgraduate student
Mr Carlos Ferrandon-cervantesPostgraduate student
Mr Iman FrozanpoorPostgraduate student
Mr. Nathan GavinResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Amir GhasemiResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Eduardo Enrique González OsunaResearch Postgraduate
Ms Tariro GwanduResearch Postgraduate
Mr Jonathan HammlerPostgraduate student
Miss Siti HamzahResearch Postgraduate
Ms Monica Hernandez-cedilloResearch Postgraduate
Mr Gregorio Higuera-GutiérrezResearch Postgraduate
Mr Chuxia HuangPostgraduate student
Ms Yingjia HuangResearch Postgraduate
Miss Amy HuntResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Ahmad IbrahimResearch Postgraduate
Miss Sara Ismail-suttonResearch Postgraduate
Miss Elvia Daniela Izquierdo-RuizPostgraduate student
Mr. Renato Jacobo-tapiaResearch Postgraduate
Miss Hong JiResearch Postgraduate
Miss Xiao JiaResearch Postgraduate
Mr Luis C. Jimenez-DiazResearch Postgraduate
Mr Benedict A. H. JonesResearch Postgraduate
Mrs. Akmaral KaramergenovaResearch Postgraduate
Miss Purneema KaurResearch Postgraduate
Dr Yousaf KhalidResearch Associate
Mrs. Arjmand KhaliqResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Xiangtao KongResearch Postgraduate
Miss Rhiannon LeesPostgraduate student
Ms. Ekaterina LgotinaResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Chengqian LiResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Weizhen LiResearch Postgraduate
Mr Matthew T.M. LittlefairResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Xingyu LiuResearch Postgraduate
Mr Pedro Martinez-CastroResearch Postgraduate
Mr Daniel Martinez-munozResearch Postgraduate
Diana Martinez-TrejoResearch Postgraduate
Mr Esmaeel MasoudiResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Callum McgowanResearch Postgraduate
Ms Vanessa Medina-GarciaResearch Postgraduate
Miss Lizbeth Sarahi Mendieta-RodriguezResearch Postgraduate
Ms Victoria MilesResearch Postgraduate
Miss Lauren MillerResearch Postgraduate
Mrs. Zhichao MuResearch Postgraduate
Mr Rector MukwiriPostgraduate student
Mrs. Takudzwa MutsvairoResearch Postgraduate
Mr Balder Nieto-diazPostgraduate student
Miss Jiayi NiuResearch Postgraduate
Mr Ted O'HareResearch Postgraduate
Mrs. Margaret OgbojiResearch Postgraduate
Mr Rigoberto Ortega-chavezResearch Postgraduate
Mr David Palacios-GómezResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Thomas ParkerResearch Postgraduate
Mr Luke PayneResearch Postgraduate
Miss Diana Coraima Pina-GongoraResearch Postgraduate
Mr Giuliano PrettiResearch Postgraduate
Miss Lydia RobinsonResearch Postgraduate
Miss Mana SaeedResearch Postgraduate
Miss Heather SandersResearch Postgraduate
Miss Emily SettleResearch Postgraduate
Miss Sarah SheehyPostgraduate student
Mr Ryan SiddallResearch Postgraduate
Mr Dongseok SongResearch Postgraduate
Miss Polina StefanovaPostgraduate student
Mr. Shixian SunResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Yingpei SunResearch Postgraduate
Mr Huw ThomasResearch Postgraduate
Mr Jack TowersResearch Postgraduate
Ms. Ruiqi WangResearch Postgraduate
Ms Chenjue WangResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Cai WilliamsResearch Postgraduate
Mr Ben WoodwardResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Ransheng XuResearch Postgraduate
Mr Othman ZahidResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Hussin ZahloulResearch Postgraduate
Mr Zhi ZhangResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Xinzhuo ZhangResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Yihan ZhangResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Kun ZhangResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Jian ZhouResearch Postgraduate
Ms Kaixuan ZhouResearch Postgraduate