Skip to main content

Stirling Lecture

The 2017 Stirling Lecture was held on Monday 4th December at 2pm in CG 93 (Scarborough Lecture theatre, Chemistry).


The lecture titled "Physics at CERN: Present an Future" was given by Professor Fabiola Gianotti, Director General of CERN.


Professor Fabiola Gianotti is the first female Director General of CERN. On 4 July 2012 Professor Gianotti announced the discovery of the Higgs particle as spokesperson of the ATLAS collaboration. She was included among the “Top 100 most inspirational women” by The Guardian newspaper (UK, 2011), ranked 5th in Time magazine’s Personality of the Year (USA, 2012), included among the “Top 100 most influential women” by Forbesmagazine (USA, 2013) and considered among the “Leading Global Thinkers of 2013” by Foreign Policy magazine (USA, 2013).


The Stirling Lecture is an annual public lecture organised by IPPP in honour of its first director, Professor James Stirling CBE, FRS, now Provost of Imperial College London. The lecture series was created in 2008.


YearName of lecturer Institution at time of lectureTitle of lecture 
2017 Prof. Fabiola Gianotti Director General of CERN Physics at CERN: Present and future
2016 Prof. Jonathan Butterworth University College London Smashing Physics: Latest news from the energy frontier
2015 Sir John Pendry Imperial College London Cloaking and Invisibility
2014 Prof. Al-Khalili OBE University of Surrey Life on the Edge: the coming of age of quantum biology
2013 Prof. John Ellis CBE FRS King's College London Beyond the Higgs Boson
2012 Prof. Frank Close Oxford University The Infinity Puzzle - from Higgs to the LHC
2011 Simon Singh MBE, author   Fermat's Last Theorem
2010 Graham Farmelo, author By-Fellow at Churchill College, Cambridge Paul Dirac and the religion of mathematical beauty
2009 Prof. Brian Cox Manchester University CERN's Big Bang Machine: The Large Hadron Collider
2008 Prof. Brian Foster FRS with violinist Jack Liebeck Oxford University Superstrings ... a celebration of Einstein and physics, with music by J.S. Bach, W.A. Mozart and F. Kreisler