Skip to main content

Alan Richardson Fellowship

Awarded Annually

The Alan Richardson Fellowship was founded in honour of the Very Reverend Alan Richardson, K.B.E., D.D. (1905-75), formerly Dean of York, Professor of Christian Theology in the University of Nottingham and Canon of Durham Cathedral.


Recent holders have included:

  • Professor Hans Boersma (Nashotah House Theological Seminary) 2023-2024 Fellow
  • Revd Dr Matthew Olver (Nashotah House Theological Seminary) 2022-2023 Fellow
  • Professor Judith Wolfe (University of St Andrews) 2021-2022
  • Professor Vincent Lloyd (University of Notre Dame) 2018-2019 Fellow
  • Professor Sam Reimer (Crandall University) 2017-2018 Fellow
  • Revd Professor Philip G. Ziegler (University of Aberdeen) 2016-17 Fellow
  • Dr. Peter Sedgwick (Cardiff University)
  • Paul Shore (Brandon University, Manitoba)
  • Professor Robin Le Poidevin (University of Leeds)
  • Professor Paul Lakeland (Fairfield University)
  • Dr. Ashley Null (Virginia Theological Seminary)
  • Professor Jean Porter (University of Notre Dame, Indiana)
  • Professor Paul Griffiths (Duke University)
  • Professor Ellen Charry (Princeton Theological Seminary, New Jersey)
  • Professor Nicholas Healy (St. John's University, New York)
  • Dr. Douglas Hedley (Cambridge University)
  • Professor Jens Schjørring (University of Aarhus, Denmark)
  • Professor David Cunningham (Seabury-Western Theological Seminary, Illinois)
  • Professor Jan-Olav Henriksen (Norwegian Lutheran School of Theology, Oslo)
  • Professor Stephen Clark (Liverpool University)
  • Professor John de Gruchy (University of Cape Town)
  • Professor Adrian Thatcher (College of St. Mark and St. John, Plymouth)
  • Dr. David Fagerberg (Concordia College, Minnesota)
  • Dr. Mary Charles Murray (University of Nottingham)
  • Dr. Denys Turner (Yale University)
  • Professor Lee Gibbs (Cleveland State University)
  • Professor Vincent Brümmer (University of Utrecht)


The Fellowship was endowed to promote research into the exposition and defence of Christian doctrine in the context of contemporary thought and its challenges.



It is open to any person whose research interests accord with these aims, without restriction in respect of denomination, ordination, sex or nationality.  However, the committee is particularly concerned to encourage applications from established scholars.


Conditions of appointment

The Fellowship-holder shall undertake a period of research in the Durham University in accordance with a plan approved by the Electors.  She or he shall be a member of the Society of Fellows of Durham University, and be proposed to Senate as an Honorary Fellow of the Department of Theology and Religion for the duration of her or his residence.  She or he shall also be a member of one of the University’s Colleges.  While resident, the Fellow shall offer at least one public research level presentation within the University on a topic related to his or her research programme.


Length of appointment

The appointment shall be for a term in the academic year 2024/2025.


Financial arrangements

The Fellowship Fund shall provide full board and accommodation for the Fellow herself/himself; i.e. for one person for one term in Durham, together with such additional expenses including research costs, as the Electors may determine.  The full costs of travel to and from Durham will also be met.



Applicants should supply the names of two referees and should note that it is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the referees write to the Secretary of the Board of Studies at the address below by the closing date, supporting their application.


Deadline for application

The application should include a copy of his or hers Curriculum Vitae and the statement of proposed research including any plans for the publication of the proposed research in a single electronic document (word or PDF) which should be emailed to the Secretary of the Board of Studies (see below) by 30 November 2023Referees should ensure that their references reach the Secretary by the same date.  Please note that no copies of published or unpublished work should be sent, as this material will NOT be distributed to the Committee of Electors. 

Anyone seeking additional information about the Fellowship should contact:

The Secretary, Board of Studies,

Professor John Barclay:

Department of Theology and Religion, Abbey House, Palace Green, Durham, DH1 3RS, U.K.


 Reference Application Form:

Alan Richardson Fellowship Reference Form