Skip to main content


The Centre is a research unit of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities at Durham University. Its interdisciplinary remit is reflected in the composition of its steering group, comprising scholars from six different Durham University departments and the Senior Curator of Spanish art at The Auckland Project. The Centre's international Advisory Board meets once a year.

Steering Group

The Centre's steering group meets three times a year at Durham University and is currently composed of the following members:

Andrew Beresford
Acting Director 

James Kelly
Department of Theology and Religion

Yari Perez Marin
School of Modern Languages and Cultures

Giles Gasper
Department of History

Chris Gerrard
Department of Archaeology

Hector Sequera
Department of Music

Tom Stammers
Department of History

Janet Stewart
School of Modern Languages and Cultures

Santiago Fouz Hernandez
School of Modern Languages and Cultures

Director from 2020 to 2023
Claudia Hopkins

Director from 2017 - 2020
Stefano Cracolici

External Advisors

Amaya Alzaga Ruiz, Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia

Piers Baker-Bates, Open University

Véronique Gerard Powell, Sorbonne Université

Giovanna Capitelli, Università Roma Tre

Adam Jasienski, Southern Methodist University 

Carmen Fracchia, Birkbeck, University of London