Skip to main content


Commonwealth Scholarships for Developing Countries

Commonwealth Scholarships for Masters and PhD study in the UK are offered for citizens of developing Commonwealth countries. These scholarships are funded by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO), with the aim of contributing to the UK's international development aims and wider overseas interests, supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.

Year of Entry Applicants for programmes commencing in 2024/2025
Number of awards available  
Level of study Various - Taught Masters, PhD programmes and professional development
Mode of study Full-time
Programmes Various
Duration Various 


Geographical Criteria

Applicants must be a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • The British Virgin Islands
  • Cameroon
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guineas
  • Pitcairn
  • Rwanda
  • St Helena
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tristan da Cunha
  • Turks and Caicos
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Western Samoa
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

In order for Durham University to consider your application, you must ensure you complete both an academic application to the University and the online Commonwealth Scholarship application form.

Links to the relevant application forms are provided below for information.

Not sure if you're eligible Contact us for advice.

How to apply

  1. Apply for a course

    Submit an academic application to Durham University. Provide evidence of your Commonwealth Scholarship application to colleagues in our admission service.

    Durham University Applicant Portal
  2. Complete a scholarship application

    Submit an online scholarship application via the following web site/s:


    Application deadline

    17th October 2023 16:00 GMT


More about this scholarship

  • 12 months support towards completion of a full-time taught postgraduate qualification at an eligible UK institution. Please note that the Commission offers do not cover MBA programmes
  • Up to 36 months support towards completion of a full-time doctoral postgraduate qualification at an eligible UK institution

Durham University makes every effort to ensure that the information published or contained on its website is accurate. However, the University cannot guarantee the information may not subsequently be altered owing to circumstances beyond the University's reasonable control. Such circumstances include (but are not limited to) changes in Government policy or change of law. Whilst any changes will be incorporated into the University's website any person wishing to clarify the details of a particular scholarship/s should contact the University at


Get in touch

If you have any questions about whether you are eligible for a scholarship or the application process, get in touch with our Scholarships and Student Funding Office:

Scholarships and Student Funding Office

Durham University

Palatine Centre

Stockton Road