Skip to main content

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator.







Professor Stephen Taylor



UNESCO Professor Robin Coningham

Associate Director (World Heritage Site)

Professor Barbara Ravelhofer

Associate Director (Research)


Contact Barbara Ravelhofer

IMEMS staff:

Elizabeth Alpass



Contact Elizabeth Alpass

Fay Fradgley

Administration Assistant


Contact Fay Fradgley

Departmental reps:

James Baldini

Departmental Rep (Earth Sciences)

Andrew Beeby

Departmental Rep (Chemistry)

Jens Funke

Departmental Rep (Mathematical Sciences)

Dr Pam Graves

Departmental Rep (Archaeology)

Dr Patrick Gray

Departmental Rep (English)

Professor Christian Liddy

Departmental Rep (History)

Professor Ita Mac Carthy

Departmental Rep (MLAC)

Professor Fiona Robertson

Faculty Rep (Arts and Humanities)

Professor Alec Ryrie

Departmental Rep (Theology)


Dr Hector Sequera

Departmental Rep (Music)

Prof Brian Tanner

Department Rep (Physics)

Dr Edmund Thomas

Departmental Rep (Classics)

Dr Sara L. Uckelman

Departmental Rep (Philosophy)


Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

  • Chair of the Medieval and Early Modern Students Association
  • Director of the MA in Medieval and Early Modern Studies
  • Durham University's Professor of the History of the Book
  • Durham University‚Äôs Head of Special Collections
  • Durham World Heritage Site Coordinator
  • IMEMS Publications Director
  • Representative from Durham Cathedral
  • Representative of Auckland Castle
  • Representative of Durham Castle


International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are:

  • Dr Steve Hindle (The Huntington Library)
  • Kai Weise (UNESCO)
  • Mrs Joanna Barker
  • Professor Audrey Horning (Queen's University Belfast)
  • Professor Gabriel Cooney (UCD)
  • Professor Neil Kenny (Oxford)
  • The Very Reverend Andrew Tremlett (Dean of Durham)