Skip to main content

People

Academic

Prof Nancy Cartwright  CHESS Co-Director
Prof Robin Hendry CHESS Co-Director 
Dr Peter Vickers CHESS Co-Director 
Dr Jana Bacevic Steering Group
Dr Greg Lusk Steering Group
Dr Joseph D Martin Steering Group
Dr Katherine Puddifoot Steering Group
Dr Sarah Wieten Steering Group

 

Support 

Nicola Craigs: Administrator (CHESS and EURiCA project)
Email: n.j.craigs@durham.ac.uk 
Telephone: 0191 3346552 

Adrian Harris: Project Administrator (Templeton: Intellectual Humility and British Academy: Ruth First in the North)
Email: a.n.harris@durham.ac.uk 
Telephone: 0191 3346538 

 

Research Students

Alexandre Fonseca 

Alexandre holds a BA in Law from the Franciscan University (Brazil), as well as a BA and a MA in Philosophy from the Federal University of Santa Maria (Brazil). He published papers on Philosophy of Law and Philosophy of Science. His general research interests are in the fields of Legal Theory, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of the Social Sciences and Philosophy of Economics. Currently, his doctoral research focuses on the relationship between micro and macro patterns in Economics and Social Sciences. 

Richard Williams 

Richard holds a BA in Philosophy from the University of Sheffield and an MA in Philosophy from the University of Durham. His research interest is in taking objectivity seriously within democratic deliberation. Interested in whether the threat of ‘rent-seeking’ significantly harms the pursuit of objectivity within deliberation. 

 

Associate Members 

Prof. Catherine Alexander 

 

Prof. Deryck BeyleveldPhD 

 

Emeritus Prof. David S. Byrne 

 

Jeremy Clarke CBE 
National Adviser, Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) & DWP 
Consultant Adviser to New Economy 
Email: therapy@just-therapy-practice.com 

 

Dr Nick Cowen 
Lecturer in Criminology, School of Social and Political Sciences, University of Lincoln 
Email: ncowen@lincoln.ac.uk 

 

Professor Sharon Crasnow
Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, Norco College, California 
Email: crasnow@norcocollege.edu

 

Professor Sarah Elizabeth Curtis BA (Hons) (Oxon), DPhil, FBA, FAcSS, FRGS 

 

Professor Douglas James Davies 
Professor in the Department of Theology and Religion 
Member in the Centre for Visual Arts and Culture 
Fellow of the Wolfson Research Institute for Health and Wellbeing 
Email: douglas.davies@durham.ac.uk

 

Professor Matthew Daniel Eddy

Professor in the Department of Philosophy

Member of the Centre for Visual Arts and Culture

Member of the Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Email: m.d.eddy@durham.ac.uk 

 

Professor Yulia Egorova 
ORCID profile 
Professor in the Department of Anthropology 
Director of Research, Department of Anthropology 
Member in the Institute for Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies 
Email: yulia.egorova@durham.ac.uk

 

Florian Fischer 
Post-Doc at the University of Bonn and President of SPoT (Society for Philosophy of Science)
Areas of specialization: Laws of Nature, Dispositions, Persistence 
 
Email: fischer@uni-siegen.de 

 

Dr Katherine Furman 
Lecturer in Philosophy, Politics & Economics, University of Liverpool
Email: furman@liverpool.ac.uk
Katherine is the Philosophy, Politics and Economics lecturer at the University of Liverpool. She is a Philosopher of Public Policy, who works mostly on health policy cases. 

 

Dr Peter Garratt 
Associate Professor in the Department of English Studies 
Email: peter.garratt@durham.ac.uk

 

Dr Philip Goff 
Associate Professor/Deputy Director of Phil MA/Tutor Manager in the Department of Philosophy 
Contact: Dr Philip Goff

 

Professor Mathew Guest BA (Nottingham), MA, PhD (Lancaster), FRSA 
Professor in the Sociology of Religion in the Department of Theology and Religion 
Chaplain (Quaker) in the Chaplains 
Email: m.j.guest@durham.ac.uk

 

Jeremy Hardie 
Research associate, CPNSS, LSE 
Former Chair of WH Smith, Loch Fyne Restaurants and the Centre for Economic Policy Research 
Email: hardiejeremy@hotmail.com 

 

Prof Steve Higgins BA (Oxon), PGCE, PhD, FAcSS 
Researcher ID profile 
ORCID profile 
Email: s.e.higgins@durham.ac.uk

 

Professor Simon James MA. PhD. (Cantab.) 
Personal web page 
Professor in the Department of English Studies 
Email: s.j.james@durham.ac.uk

 

Dr Donal Khosrowi 
Postdoctoral researcher, Leibniz University Hannover 
Email: khosrowi@philos.uni-hannover.de

 

Marie-Helene Labbe 
Member of the International Institute for Strategic Studies 
Email: Labbemh@gmail.com 

 

Dr Christopher Lawless 
ORCID profile 
Personal web page 
Associate Professor in the Department of Sociology 
Email: c.j.lawless@durham.ac.uk

 

Jessica Lee 
PhD Candidate and Junior Researcher at the Climate System Analysis Group (CSAG), University of Cape Town, South Africa 
Email: Jessica@csag.uct.ac.za 

 

Dr Greg Lusk 
Assistant Professor, Michigan State University 
Email: greglusk@msu.edu 

 

Professor Jane Macnaughton MA, PhD, DRCOG, MRCGP 
ORCID profile 
Professor of Medical Humanities in the Department of Anthropology 
Research Associate in the Department of English Studies 
Director of the Institute for Medical Humanities 
Fellow of the Wolfson Research Institute for Health and Wellbeing 
Email: jane.macnaughton@durham.ac.uk

 

Professor Holger Maehle Dr.medDr.med.habil., Ph.D. 
Professor/Director of Undergraduate Studies in the Department of Philosophy 
Professor, History of Medicine and Disease in the Centre for the History of Medicine and Disease 

 

Dr Joseph D. Martin 
ORCID profile 
Personal web page 
Assistant Professor (History of Science and Technology) in the Department of History 
Email: joseph.d.martin@durham.ac.uk

 

Dr Coreen McGuire 
ORCID profile 
Lecturer (Twentieth-Century British History) in the Department of History 
Email: coreen.mcguire@durham.ac.uk

 

Professor Tom McLeish FRS 
Professor of Natural Philosophy, University of York 
Email: mcleish@york.ac.uk

 

Dr James Miller 
ORCID profile 
Personal web page 
Assistant Professor/Nat Science advisor and Exam Board Rep/Seminar Organiser in the Department of Philosophy 
Contact: Dr James Miller 

 

Prof Eleonora Montuschi

Associate Professor in the Department of Philosophy, University of Venice Ca' Foscari and Senior Research Fellow at LSE. Her area of expertise is in the philosophy of science and social science. She works on objectivity, the theory and practice of evidence, and methodological issues of the social sciences.

Email: e.montuschi@lse.ac.uk

 

Tamlyn Munslow

Tamlyn was a PhD student on the ERC finded K4U project and is interested in whether evidence-based intervention and evaluation in fact harm the pursuit of knowledge for equitable policymaking. 

 

Professor Paul D. Murray 

Professor of Systematic Theology in the Department of Theology and Religion 
Email: paul.murray@durham.ac.uk

 

Professor Shaun Pattinson LLB, MA, PhD, DLitt 
Researcher ID profile 
ORCID profile 
Professor of Medical Law and Ethics in Durham Law School 
Ref Mentor, Durham Law School 
Email: s.d.pattinson@durham.ac.uk

 

Dr William Peden 
Posdoctoral Researcher, Erasmus University, Rotterdam  

 

John Pemberton 
Associate at the Centre for Philosophy of the Natural and Social Sciences 
Research Associate on the Mereology of Potentiality project at Corpus Christi in Oxford 
Project Team Member of the Knowledge for Use (K4U) programme 
Project Team Member of the Society for the Philosophy of Time (SPoT) 
Email: pemberton@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Menno Rol 
Lecturer, University of Groningen 
Email: e.g.m.rol@rug.nl

 

Doug Scott 
Managing Director, What You See Is All There Is Ltd 
Holder, Queen’s Award for Enterprise Promotion, Lifetime Achievement Award 
Email: doug@wysiati.co.uk 

 

Professor Leonard A Smith 
Research Professor, Department of Statistics, London School of Economics 
Director, Centre for the Analysis of Time Series (CATS), London School of Economics 
Member of Oxford Centre for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, University of Oxford  

 

Professor Robert Song, M.A., D.Phil. (Oxon) 
Professor in the Department of Theology and Religion 
Member of Durham CELLS (Centre for Ethics and Law in the Life Sciences) 
Email: robert.song@durham.ac.uk

 

Dr Waney Squier 
Honorary Clinical lecturer, University of Oxford 
Email: squier@ndcn.ox.ac.uk

 

Professor Veronica Strang, FAcSS 
ORCID profile 
Member of the Department of Anthropology 
Executive Director of the Institute of Advanced Study 
Email: veronica.strang@durham.ac.uk

 

Dr Emily Thomas 
Associate Professor in the Department of Philosophy 
Member of the Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies 
Fellow of University College 
Email: emily.e.thomas@durham.ac.uk

 

Professor Patricia Waugh, PhD 
Professor in the Department of English Studies 
Leader of Work Package 5 in Tipping Points Research Project 
Email: p.n.waugh@durham.ac.uk

 

Dr Peter West 
Teaching Fellow in the Department of Philosophy 
Contact: Dr Peter West 

 

Professor Alison Wylie 
Professor of Philosophy, University of British Columbia 
Personal web page
Email: alison.wylie@ubc.ca