Skip to main content

Recognised English Language Tests 

A globe and the English written on a piece of paper

The following are recognised English Language Tests: 

  • UKVI/SELT Academic IELTS 
  • Non UKVI/SELT Academic IELTS 
  • TOEFL iBT and TOEFL iBT Home edition 
  • Cambridge Proficiency (CPE) 
  • Cambridge Scale (CAE or CPE) 
  • Cambridge O level English Language (1119-Malaysia; 1120-Brunei; 1125 or 1126-Mauritius; 1128-Singapore and 1123 all other countries) 
  • Cambridge, Pearson or Oxford AQA iGCSE First Language English 
  • Cambridge, Pearson or Oxford AQA i GCSE English as a Second Language 
  • GCSE English Language 
  • Password Skills (delivered through Durham University) 
  • Password Skills Plus
  • Pearson Academic PTE
  • Trinity ISE (revised) Language Tests taken in the UK on the same day 

Time limits 

You should have passed the test no longer than two years prior to the start of the course. GCSE /iGCSE and Cambridge O level English Language time limits are 4 years apart from iGCSE First Language English which has no time limit.