Skip to main content


Durham University is a legally independent and autonomous institution established by Act of Parliament in 1832 and Royal Charter in 1837. It is also an educational charity.

The University is governed through two main bodies, Council and Senate, with a Senior Leadership Team responsible for day-to-day management.
Meet our Senior Leadership Team
The exterior of the Palatine Centre, bustling with students between lessons



Discover more

Further information concerning the main bodies of the University, as well as other aspects of Governance.

Find out more

Senior Leadership Team

Durham University has a strong leadership team that is driving forward the ambitious University Strategy 2017-2027.
Business people sitting round a table at a meeting


This is the image alt text

More information

University Committees