Skip to main content



Co-Directors of CSJCA

Dr Sui-Ting Kong, Department of Sociology

Prof Pablo Munoz, Business School

Dr Andrew Orton, Department of Sociology

Prof Gina Porter, Department of Anthropology 


Steering Group

Sue Shaw (Chair, Community researcher)

Andrea Armstrong (Academic Office, Durham)

Stephen Ashe (Sociology Dept, Durham)

Sarah Banks (Sociology Dept, Durham)

Stephen Crossley (Sociology Dept, Durham)

Yvonne Hall (Community researcher)

Alison Jobe (Sociology Dept, Durham)

Caitlin Jobson (Sociology Dept, Durham

Sui Ting Kong (Sociology Dept, Durham)

Zijie Lin (Anthropology Dept, Durham)

Jordan Mullard (Wolfson, Durham)

Pablo Munoz-Roman (Business School, Durham)

Alice Nah (Sociology Dept, Durham)

Andrew Orton (Sociology Dept, Durham)

Gina Porter (Anthropology Dept, Durham)

Janelle Rabe (Sociology Dept, Durham)

Sheena Ramkumar (Sociology Dept, Durham)

Mary Robson (Institute for Medical Humanities, Durham) 

Andrew Russell (Anthropology Dept, Durham)

Evelyn Tehrani, (Institute for Medical Humanities, Durham)

Gaynor Trueman (NE Sex Work Forum)


International Advisory Board

Mary Brydon-Miller (Professor, Educational Leadership), University of Louisville, USA

Caitlin Cahill (Assistant Professor, Urban Geography) Pratt Institute, New York, USA

Michelle Fine (Distinguished Professor of Social Psychology, Women's Studies and Urban Education) Graduate Center, City University of New York, USA and the Participatory Action Research Collective.

Budd Hall (Co-Chair of the UNESCO Chair in Community Based Research and Social Responsibility in Higher Education; Professor Emeritus, School of Public Administration) University of Victoria, Canada.

Angie Hart (Professor of Child, Family & Community Health; Academic Director of the Community University Partnership Programme) University of Brighton, UK.

Susan Hyatt (Associate Professor of Anthropology) Indiana University, School of Liberal Arts, USA

Kristin Kalsem (Charles Hartsock Professor of Law, Co-director, Nathaniel R. Jones Center for Race, Gender, and Social Justice) University of Cincinnati.

Sara Kindon (Senior Lecturer in Geography and Development Studies) Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand.

Marjorie Mayo (Emeritus Professor of Community Development) Goldsmiths University of London, UK.

Meredith Minkler (Professor of Health and Social Behaviour) University of California, Berkeley, USA.

Jennifer Pearce (Director of ICPS, Professor of Latin American Politics in the Department of Peace Studies) University of Bradford, UK.

Rajesh Tandon (President and Chief Functionary, Participatory Research in Asia; Co-Chair of the UNESCO Chair in Community Based Research and Social Responsibility in Higher Education), New Delhi, India.