Skip to main content

Dr Kevin Waite's book, 'West of Slavery: The Southern Dream of a Transcontinental Empire', was one of seven finalists shortlisted for the prize

The prize is awarded each year for the best academic work in English relating to Abraham Lincoln, soldiers of the American Civil War, or any other subject relating to the era. This year, there were 91 nominations, from which the shortlist of seven was selected.

The prize this year was awarded to Caroline E. Janney, for Ends of War: The Unfinished Fight of Lee's Army after Appomattox


Read more about the Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize

Read more about West of Slavery

See Dr Kevin Waite's staff profile

Learn more about our research into North American history