Skip to main content

People

Senior Management Team

Name Position Email
Prof Nicola Whitton Director of DCAD nicola.j.whitton@durham.ac.uk
Prof Sam Nolan Deputy Director (Academic Excellence) s.j.nolan@durham.ac.uk
Ms Louise Greener Deputy Director (Student Success) louise.greener@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Zoe Harrison Department Manager  zoe.harrison@durham.ac.uk
Prof Steve Kirk Head of Academic Language and Communication s.e.kirk@durham.ac.uk
Mr Steve Leech Head of Academic Transitions s.j.leech@durham.ac.uk
Dr Malcolm Murray Head of Digital Learning malcolm.murray@durham.ac.uk
Dr Philip Nathan  Head of MA Programmes p.b.nathan@durham.ac.uk
Prof Simon Rees Head of Researcher and Education Development simon.rees@durham.ac.uk

Academic Excellence

Name Position Email
Prof Sam Nolan Deputy Director (Academic Excellence) s.j.nolan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Malcolm Murray

Head of Digital Learning

malcolm.murray@durham.ac.uk
Prof Simon Rees Head of Academic Development simon.rees@durham.ac.uk
Candace Nolan-Grant

Deputy Head of Digital Learning

Senior Digital Learning Designer

candace.nolan-grant@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mark Childs

Senior Digital Learning Designer

mark.childs@durham.ac.uk
Nic Fern Digital Learning Developer nicola.fern@durham.ac.uk
Chris John Digital Learning Developer christopher.john@durham.ac.uk
Mr Paul Finley IT Trainer paul.finley@durham.ac.uk
Miss Sarah Dodds IT Trainer sarah.dodds@durham.ac.uk
Sumetha Karthigeyen Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Business) sumetha.karthigeyen@durham.ac.uk
Julie Mulvey Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Social Science and Health) julie.mulvey@durham.ac.uk
Rachelle O'Brien Senior Digital Learning Designer rachelle.e.o'brien@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ross Parker Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Science) ross.parker@durham.ac.uk
James Youdale Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Arts & Humanities) james.w.youdale@durham.ac.uk
Prof Megan Bruce Professor (Teaching) megan.bruce@durham.ac.uk
Dr Teti Dragas Associate Professor (Teaching)
PRP Programme Lead
areti.dragas@durham.ac.uk
Dr Nicola Reimann Associate Professor nicola.reimann@durham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Whitton
Researcher Development Officer peter.d.whitton@durham.ac.uk

 

Student Success

Name Position Email
Ms Louise Greener

Deputy Director (Student Success)

Associate Professor (Teaching)

louise.greener@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Clare Carr

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

In-department Provision Coordinator

c.c.barker@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Fran Cettl

Teaching Fellow 

franciska.cettl@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Helen Costello

Assistant Professor (Teaching) 

helen.costello@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Alexander Francis John Gooch

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

alexander.gooch@durham.ac.uk 
Prof Steve Kirk

Head of Academic Language and Communication

Professor (Teaching)

s.e.kirk@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Joe Locke

Teaching Fellow 

joseph.locke@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Andrew Mckay

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

Pre-sessional Coordinator (PGR)

andrew.mckay@durham.ac.uk  
Dr Simon Ness

 

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

Pre-sessional Coordinator (Off-site Provision)

simon.a.ness@durham.ac.uk  
Ms Gillian Powell

Lecturer (Teaching) 

gillian.powell@durham.ac.uk  
Ms Diana Scott

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

Pre-sessional Programmes Leader

d.c.scott@durham.ac.uk 
Mrs Jessica Sequera

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

ADS Programme Leader

jessica.sequera@durham.ac.uk 
Mrs Alicia Ward

Assistant Teaching Fellow

a.r.ward@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Simon Young

Assistant Teaching Fellow

simon.m.young@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Michael Dibb-Fuller

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

michael.dibb-fuller@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Rachel Dunn

Assistant Professor
Programme Leader (Sciences)

r.l.dunn@durham.ac.uk
Mr Steve Leech

Associate Professor (Teaching)
Head of Academic Transitions
Programme Leader (Social Sciences)

s.j.leech@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jinhua Mathias

Assistant Professor (Teaching)
Programme Leader (Maths)

jinhua.mathias@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alison McManus

Associate Professor (Teaching)
Programme Leader (Arts and Humanities)

alison.mcmanus@durham.ac.uk
Dr Christopher McMillan

Teaching Fellow

christopher.j.mcmillan@durham.ac.uk
Ms Sherene Meir

Teaching Fellow

sherene.j.meir@durham.ac.uk
Dr Susan Scrafton

Assistant Professor (Teaching)
Admissions Lead

susan.scrafton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Izabela Walczak

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

izabela.w.walczak@durham.ac.uk
Ms Julie Wilson

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

j.m.wilson@durham.ac.uk
Ms Sylvie Donna

Assistant Professor (Teaching)
MA Assessment Coordinator

sylvie.donna@durham.ac.uk
Dr Teti Dragas

Associate Professor (Teaching)

areti.dragas@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Peter Grundy

Guest Lecturer

peter.grundy@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Lesley Kendall

Assistant Professor (Teaching)
MA Student Welfare and Operations Coordinator

lesley.kendall@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Philip Nathan

Head of MA Programmes
Associate Professor (Teaching)

p.b.nathan@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Helena Stakounis

Assistant Professor (Teaching)
MA New Online Course Coordinator

helena.j.stakounis@durham.ac.uk 

Professional Support Services

Name Position Email
Mrs Zoe Harrison Department Manager zoe.harrison@durham.ac.uk
Carolyn McAlhone Senior Administrator – Team Leader carolyn.mcalhone@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Susan Johnson PA to Director/Administrator susan.johnson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Tracy Reith Administrator – Finance t.a.reith@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Clare Griffin Brady Senior Administrator clare.griffin@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Claire Grendale Co-ordinator – Teaching claire.jones@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Marella Darvill Administrator – Educational Development marella.darvill2@durham.ac.uk

Mr Benjamin Ferry

Administrator – Teaching ben.ferry@durham.ac.uk
Ms Pauline Edmondson Senior Administrator – Academic Excellence pauline.edmondson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Liam Baines Administrator – Academic Excellence liam.j.baines@durham.ac.uk