Skip to main content

People

Senior Management Team

Name Position Email
Prof Nicola Whitton Director of DCAD nicola.j.whitton@durham.ac.uk
Prof Sam Nolan Deputy Director (Academic Excellence) & Head of Education Lab s.j.nolan@durham.ac.uk
Ms Louise Greener Deputy Director (Student Success) louise.greener@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Zoe Harrison Department Manager  zoe.harrison@durham.ac.uk
Prof Steve Kirk Head of Academic Language and Communication s.e.kirk@durham.ac.uk
Mr Steve Leech Head of Academic Transitions s.j.leech@durham.ac.uk
Dr Malcolm Murray Head of Digital Learning malcolm.murray@durham.ac.uk
Dr Philip Nathan  Head of MA Programmes p.b.nathan@durham.ac.uk
Prof Simon Rees Head of Academic Development simon.rees@durham.ac.uk

Academic Excellence

Name Position Email
Prof Sam Nolan

Professor

Deputy Director (Academic Excellence)

Head of Education Lab

s.j.nolan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Malcolm Murray

Head of Digital Learning

malcolm.murray@durham.ac.uk
Prof Simon Rees

Professor

Head of Academic Development

simon.rees@durham.ac.uk
Candace Nolan-Grant

Senior Learning Designer

candace.nolan-grant@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mark Childs

Senior Learning Designer

mark.childs@durham.ac.uk
Dr Beth Picton

Associate Professor

PGCAP Programme Director

beth.picton@durham.ac.uk
Nic Fern Senior Digital Learning Developer nicola.fern@durham.ac.uk
Dr Matt Wood Digital Learning Developer matthew.j.wood@durham.ac.uk
Mr Paul Finley Digital Learning Adviser paul.finley@durham.ac.uk
Miss Sarah Dodds Digital Learning Adviser sarah.dodds@durham.ac.uk
Sumetha Karthigeyen Senior Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Business) sumetha.karthigeyen@durham.ac.uk
Julie Mulvey

Senior Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Social Science and Health)

Deputy Head of Digital Learning

julie.mulvey@durham.ac.uk
Rachelle O'Brien Senior Learning Designer rachelle.e.o'brien@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ross Parker Senior Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Science) ross.parker@durham.ac.uk
James Youdale Senior Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Arts & Humanities) james.w.youdale@durham.ac.uk
Prof Megan Bruce

Professor

University Mentoring Coordinator

megan.bruce@durham.ac.uk
Dr Teti Dragas

Associate Professor

PRP Programme Lead

areti.dragas@durham.ac.uk
Dr Nicola Reimann Associate Professor nicola.reimann@durham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Whitton
Senior Academic Development Manager peter.d.whitton@durham.ac.uk

 

Student Success

Name Position Email
Ms Louise Greener

Deputy Director (Student Success)

Associate Professor

louise.greener@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Clare Carr

Assistant Professor

Faculty Lead for Arts & Humanities

Programme Leader (Social Sciences)

c.c.barker@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Fran Cettl

Assistant Professor

10-week Postgraduate Pre-sessional Coordinator

franciska.cettl@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Helen Costello

Assistant Professor

Faculty Lead for Science

helen.costello@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Alexander Gooch

Assistant Professor

alexander.gooch@durham.ac.uk 
Prof Steve Kirk

Professor

Head of Academic Language and Literacies

s.e.kirk@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Joseph Locke

Assistant Professor

Faculty Lead for Social Sciences & Health

Undergraduate Pre-sessional Coordinator

joseph.locke@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Andrew Mckay

Assistant Professor

Doctoral Provision Lead

andrew.mckay@durham.ac.uk  
Dr Simon Ness

 

Assistant Professor

6-week Postgraduate and Mexico Pre-sessional Coordinator

simon.a.ness@durham.ac.uk  
Ms Gillian Powell

Lecturer

gillian.powell@durham.ac.uk  
Ms Diana Scott

Assistant Professor

Pre-sessional Programmes Director

d.c.scott@durham.ac.uk 
Mrs Jessica Sequera

Assistant Professor

Centralised Provision Lead

20-week Pre-sessional Coordinator

jessica.sequera@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Michael Dibb-Fuller

Assistant Professor

michael.dibb-fuller@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Rachel Dunn

Assistant Professor

Programme Leader (Sciences)

r.l.dunn@durham.ac.uk
Mr Steve Leech

Associate Professor

Head of Academic Transitions

s.j.leech@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jinhua Mathias

Assistant Professor

Programme Leader (Maths)

jinhua.mathias@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alison McManus

Associate Professor

Programme Leader (Arts and Humanities)

alison.mcmanus@durham.ac.uk
Ms Sherene Meir

Teaching Fellow

sherene.j.meir@durham.ac.uk
Dr Susan Scrafton

Assistant Professor

Admissions Lead

susan.scrafton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Izabela Walczak

Assistant Professor

izabela.w.walczak@durham.ac.uk
Ms Julie Wilson

Assistant Professor

j.m.wilson@durham.ac.uk
Ms Sylvie Donna

Assistant Professor

MA Assessment Coordinator

sylvie.donna@durham.ac.uk
Dr Teti Dragas

Associate Professor

areti.dragas@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Peter Grundy

Guest Lecturer

peter.grundy@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Lesley Kendall

Assistant Professor

MA Student Welfare and Operations Coordinator

lesley.kendall@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Philip Nathan

Head of MA Programmes

Associate Professor

p.b.nathan@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Helena Stakounis

Teaching Fellow

MA New Online Course Coordinator

helena.j.stakounis@durham.ac.uk 

Professional Support Services

Name Position Email
Zoe Harrison Department Manager zoe.harrison@durham.ac.uk
Nicola Rose Senior Administrator – Operations n.l.rose@durham.ac.uk
Susan Johnson Administrator/PA to Director susan.johnson@durham.ac.uk
Tracy Reith Administrator – Finance t.a.reith@durham.ac.uk
Clare Griffin Brady Senior Administrator – Student Success clare.griffin@durham.ac.uk
Claire Grendale Coordinator – Student Success claire.jones@durham.ac.uk
Marella Darvill Administrator – Student Success marella.darvill2@durham.ac.uk

Ben Ferry

Administrator – Student Success ben.ferry@durham.ac.uk
Nhi Chau Nguyen Administrator – Student Success chau.b.nguyen@durham.ac.uk
Anna McDonagh Senior Administrator - Academic Excellence anna.m.mcdonagh@durham.ac.uk
Liam Baines Administrator – Academic Excellence liam.j.baines@durham.ac.uk