Skip to main content

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion 

The Department of Anthropology is committed to promoting equality, diversity and inclusion in all areas of our teaching and research.  We seek to promote equality of opportunity for all our students and staff and to eliminate any form of harassment or discrimination.  We have an active community working to promote historically disadvantaged groups. 

 

Decolonising the Curriculum

Our Decolonising the Curriculum Working Group is led by Jordan Mullard. From October 2021 we will be teaching a Decolonising Anthropology module for our third years to encourage critical reflection on the legacies of colonialism for the practices and theories of different sub-disciplines of Anthropology and to co-produce practical strategies for decolonising Anthropology.  Dr Jordan Mullard and Prof Nayanika Mookherjee are prominent in the university’s BAME Network.

 

First Generation Scholars

Dr Hannah Brown has worked energetically to set up a First Generation Scholars Network first in the Department of Anthropology and then at university level. Within the Department we now have a First Generation Scholars Committee chaired by PhD students.

 

Athena Swan and Gender Equality

The Department was awarded a Bronze award in 2020 in recognition of our work to promote gender equality. Unusually in the UK, we have a high proportion of women promoted to professorial level (65%). We are also proud of the energy and commitment of our staff in working at the university level to promote equality via the Network for Mothers (led by Dr Fire Kovarovic) and the University’s Women’s Network (led by Prof Jane Macnaughton).  Our current Athena Swan Self-Assessment Team is led by Prof Tessa Pollard.

 

EDI Committee

These groups all report to our EDI Committee, which meets once a term to ensure the delivery of the Department’s Equality and Diversity agenda.  Please contact any member of the committee for further information or to raise concerns.

RoleNameEmail
Chair Professor Tessa Pollard t.m.pollard@durham.ac.uk
Professional Support Staff (Secretary) Janet Cummings janet.m.cummings@durham.ac.uk
Head of Department Prof Kate Hampshire k.r.hampshire@durham.ac.uk
Departmental Manager Dr Rachel Dickins r.s.dickins@durham.ac.uk 
Director of Admissions and First Generation Scholar Network  Dr Hannah Brown  Hannah.brown@durham.ac.uk 
First Generation Scholar Committee  Catherine Marley  Catherine.l.marley@durham.ac.uk 
Teaching Staff and Admissions  Dr Trudi Buck  t.j.buck@durham.ac.uk 
Director of Undergraduate Studies and MAMS Network  Dr Fire Kovarovic  kris.kovarovic@durham.ac.uk 
BAME Network and Chair of Decolonising the Curriculum Working Group  Dr Jordan Mullard  Jordan.c.mullard@durham.ac.uk 
Assistant Professor Dr Jed Stevenson jed.stevenson@durham.ac.uk
Postdoctoral Staff Dr Ehsan Kharati-Koopaei ehsan.kharatikoopaei@durham.ac.uk
Undergraduates Brianna Baptiste Brianna.baptiste@durham.ac.uk
  Laura Carr laura.a.carr@durham.ac.uk
  Valeria Vdovina valeriia.vdovina@durham.ac.uk