Skip to main content

Staff

Senior leadership team

NamePositionEmail
Professor Kate Hampshire Head of Department anth.hod@durham.ac.uk
Professor Russell Hill Head of Department anth.hod@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Jamie Tehrani Director of Education jamie.tehrani@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Yulia Egorova Director of Research yulia.egorova@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Tom Yarrow Subject group lead Social Anthropology t.g.yarrow@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Rachel Kendal Subject group lead Evolutionary Anthropology rachel.kendal@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Andrew Russell Subject group lead Anthropology of Health a.j.russell@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Tessa Pollard EDI lead t.m.pollard@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Rachel Dickins Department Manager r.s.dickins@durham.ac.uk 

Academic Staff

NamePositionEmail
Professor Simone Abram Professor simone.abram@durham.ac.uk
Prof Catherine Alexander Professor catherine.alexander@durham.ac.uk
Prof Helen L. Ball Professor Contact Helen L. Ball
Professor Robert A. Barton Professor Contact Robert A. Barton
Prof Gillian Bentley Professor g.r.bentley@durham.ac.uk
Prof Alan Bilsborough Professor Emeritus alan.bilsborough@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Brown Associate Professor hannah.brown@durham.ac.uk
Dr Trudi Buck Associate Professor (Teaching) t.j.buck@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ben Campbell Lecturer ben.campbell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Liana Chase Assistant Professor liana.e.chase@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michael Crawley Assistant Professor Contact Michael Crawley
Professor Yulia Egorova Professor yulia.egorova@durham.ac.uk
Professor Sarah Elton Professor sarah.elton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Paolo Fortis Associate Professor paolo.fortis@durham.ac.uk
Professor Kate Hampshire Professor k.r.hampshire@durham.ac.uk
Professor Kate Hampshire Head of Department anth.hod@durham.ac.uk
Dr Paolo Heywood Assistant Professor paolo.heywood@durham.ac.uk
Professor Russell Hill Head of Department anth.hod@durham.ac.uk
Professor Russell Hill Professor Contact Russell Hill
Dr Jeremy Kendal Associate Professor Contact Jeremy Kendal
Professor Rachel Kendal (nee Day) Professor rachel.kendal@durham.ac.uk
Dr Elisabeth Kirtsoglou Associate Professor elisabeth.kirtsoglou@durham.ac.uk
Dr Kris (Fire) Kovarovic Associate Professor kris.kovarovic@durham.ac.uk
Prof Robert H. Layton Professor Emeritus Contact Robert H. Layton
Prof Ann MacLarnon Professor of Evolutionary Anthropology ann.m.maclarnon@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jane Macnaughton Professor of Medical Humanities jane.macnaughton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Roslyn Malcolm Assistant Professor roslyn.malcolm@durham.ac.uk
Professor Nayanika Mookherjee Professor nayanika.mookherjee@durham.ac.uk
Professor Tessa M. Pollard Professor t.m.pollard@durham.ac.uk
Professor Gina Porter Professor r.e.porter@durham.ac.uk
Dr Felix Ringel Assistant Professor felix.ringel@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andrew J. Russell Professor a.j.russell@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jo Setchell Professor joanna.setchell@durham.ac.uk
Prof Paul Sillitoe Professor paul.sillitoe@durham.ac.uk
Professor Bob Simpson Professor robert.simpson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alice Stefanelli Assistant Professor alice.stefanelli@durham.ac.uk
Dr Edward (Jed) Stevenson Assistant Professor jed.stevenson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Veronica Strang   veronica.strang@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sally Street Assistant Professor sally.e.street@durham.ac.uk
Dr Amanda Tan   amanda.tan@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jamie Tehrani Professor jamie.tehrani@durham.ac.uk
Dr Tom Widger Associate Professor tom.widger@durham.ac.uk
Professor Thomas Yarrow Professor t.g.yarrow@durham.ac.uk

Teaching Staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Jordan Mullard Teaching Fellow Contact Jordan Mullard

Research Staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Nasima Akhter Assistant Professor (Research) Contact Nasima Akhter
Dr Chima Michael Anyadike-Danes PDRA Contact Chima Michael Anyadike-Danes
Dr Bilal Ashraf   Contact Bilal Ashraf
Mr Dalir Barkhoda Research Assistant dalir.barkhoda@durham.ac.uk
Dr Claire Dungey PDRA Contact Claire Dungey
Ms Raihana Ferdous PDRA raihana.ferdous@durham.ac.uk
Ms Sadaf Islam PDRA Contact Sadaf Islam
Professor Adetayo Kasim Professor Contact Adetayo Kasim
Dr Ehsan Kharatikoopaei Research Associate Contact Ehsan Kharatikoopaei
Dr Stephanie Morris PDRA stephanie.l.morris@durham.ac.uk
Dr Papreen Nahar Research Fellow papreen.nahar@durham.ac.uk
Dr Tehseen Noorani Honorary Fellow Contact Tehseen Noorani
Dr Akansha Singh Postdoctoral Research Associate Contact Akansha Singh
Dr Duncan Stibbard Hawkes Independent Researcher duncan.stibbard-hawkes@durham.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Taylor Research Associate c.e.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Germaine Uwimpuhwe Research Assistant Contact Germaine Uwimpuhwe
Dr Janelle Wagnild PDRA j.m.wagnild@durham.ac.uk

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail
Mrs Janet Cummings Operations Administrator janet.m.cummings@durham.ac.uk
Dr Rachel S. Dickins Department Manager r.s.dickins@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Brenda Grant Learning and Teaching Administrator brenda.grant@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Laura Haswell PGR Adminstrator laura.haswell@durham.ac.uk
Mr Damian Johnson Finance Administrator anthropology.finance@durham.ac.uk
Miss Jennifer Legg Learning and Teaching Administrator jennifer.legg@durham.ac.uk
Miss Rosie Legg Assistant Manager (Learning and Teaching) rosie.legg@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Kate Payne Senior Research Administrator Contact Kate Payne

Technical Staff

NamePositionEmail
Mrs Valerie Affleck Lab Technician Contact Valerie Affleck
Mrs Judith Manghan Technician Contact Judith Manghan

Honorary Research Staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Sonia Ahmed Honorary Fellow Contact Sonia Ahmed
Dr Khurshida Begum Honorary Fellow Contact Khurshida Begum
Professor Sandra Bell Emeritus Professor sandra.bell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Upendra Bhojani Honorary Fellow Contact Upendra Bhojani
Dr Jesse Bonwitt Honorary Fellow Contact Jesse Bonwitt
Rabb Barbara Borts Honorary Fellow Contact Barbara Borts
Dr Klara Anna Capova Honorary Fellow k.a.capova@durham.ac.uk
Prof Michael B. Carrithers Emeritus Professor Contact Michael B. Carrithers
Dr Meixuan Chen Honorary Fellow Contact Meixuan Chen
Dr Esther Clarke Honorary Fellow Contact Esther Clarke
Dr Peter J. Collins Emeritus Reader p.j.collins@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alessandro Corso Honorary Fellow Contact Alessandro Corso
Mr Christopher Diming Honorary Fellow Contact Christopher Diming
Dr Iain Edgar Emeritus Reader i.r.edgar@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michele Filippo Fontefrancesco Honorary Fellow Contact Michele Filippo Fontefrancesco
Dr Carmen Granito Honorary Fellow Contact Carmen Granito
Dr Caroline Harcourt Honorary Fellow Contact Caroline Harcourt
Dr Leslie Jessop Official Visitor Contact Leslie Jessop
Dr Aneesa Kassam Honorary Fellow aneesa.kassam@durham.ac.uk
Dr David O'Kane Honorary Fellow Contact David O'Kane
Ms Marie-claire Pagano Honorary Fellow Contact Marie-claire Pagano
Dr Joanna Puckering Honorary Fellow joanna.puckering@durham.ac.uk
Dr Maurice Said Honorary Fellow Contact Maurice Said
Ms Tharindi Udalagama Honorary Fellow Contact Tharindi Udalagama
Dr Stefano Vaglio Honorary Fellow stefano.vaglio@durham.ac.uk
Dr Megan Wainwright Honorary Fellow m.j.wainwright@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sian Waters Honorary Fellow Contact Sian Waters
Prof Li Xiang Academic Visitor Contact Li Xiang
Dr Heather Yoeli Research Associate heather.j.yoeli@durham.ac.uk

Research Students

NamePositionEmail
Ms Aethiqah Abdul-halim   Contact Aethiqah Abdul-halim
Ms Halima Akhter   Contact Halima Akhter
Mr Timothy Alabi   Contact Timothy Alabi
Mr Andrew Allan   Contact Andrew Allan
Mr Giuseppe Amatulli   Contact Giuseppe Amatulli
Miss Sophia C Anderson   sophia.c.anderson@durham.ac.uk
Ms Gabrielle Barkess-kerr   Contact Gabrielle Barkess-kerr
Ms Vasiliki (Vicky) Bathrelou   vasiliki.bathrelou@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Eric Boyd PhD student eric.boyd@durham.ac.uk
Mr Alexander C-kent-widdows PhD student Contact Alexander C-kent-widdows
Miss Milena Carstens   Contact Milena Carstens
Miss Holly Chalcraft   h.a.k.chalcraft@durham.ac.uk
Ms. Nuzhat Choudhury   Contact Nuzhat Choudhury
Miss Ana-maria Cirstea   Contact Ana-maria Cirstea
Mr James Anthony Coxon Socio-Cultural Anthropology j.a.coxon@durham.ac.uk
Miss Hannah Darnton   Contact Hannah Darnton
Ms Anita Datta Research Student Contact Anita Datta
Ms Allison Dixley   Contact Allison Dixley
Mr Justin Dixon   Contact Justin Dixon
Mr. Kiefer Duffy   Contact Kiefer Duffy
Mr Arthur Eirich Research Student Contact Arthur Eirich
Miss Leah Findlay   Contact Leah Findlay
Miss Eleanor Fleming   Contact Eleanor Fleming
Mr Ivan Garcia-nisa   Contact Ivan Garcia-nisa
Ms Dimitra Georgiadou   Contact Dimitra Georgiadou
Dr Veronique Griffith   Contact Veronique Griffith
Miss Ingrid Grueso-Dominguez   Contact Ingrid Grueso-Dominguez
Mr Ben Gruwier   b.j.gruwier@durham.ac.uk
Miss Amy Hawkin   Contact Amy Hawkin
Miss Yasmin Ilkhani   yasmin.h.ilkhani@durham.ac.uk
Ms. Lucy Johnson   lucy.l.johnson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Admir Jugo   Contact Admir Jugo
Miss Alice-Amber Keegan   alice-amber.keegan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ross Kendall   ross.kendall@durham.ac.uk
Ms Maria Kenti-Kranidioti   maria.e.kenti-kranidioti@durham.ac.uk
Ms Abby King   abigail.r.king@durham.ac.uk
Mr Hamza Lakhal   Contact Hamza Lakhal
Ms Andrea Lambell   andrea.r.lambell@durham.ac.uk
Mr Duncan Learmouth   Contact Duncan Learmouth
Miss Kelsey Lee   Contact Kelsey Lee
Miss Jiangnan Li   jiangnan.li@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Emilia Licitra   Contact Emilia Licitra
Ms. Rebecca Liubicich   rebecca.c.liubicich@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Will Lloyd   Contact Will Lloyd
Miss Catherine Marley   catherine.l.marley@durham.ac.uk
Ms Gessica Martini   Contact Gessica Martini
Miss Laura Mcguire   Contact Laura Mcguire
Mr. Jamie Mckaughan   Contact Jamie Mckaughan
Miss Lucy Millington   lucy.a.millington@durham.ac.uk
Dr. Elena Miltiadis   Contact Elena Miltiadis
Miss Amelia Mulcahey   Contact Amelia Mulcahey
Ms Heather Munro   Contact Heather Munro
Mr Danson Mwangi   Contact Danson Mwangi
Mr Misheck Julian Nkhata   Contact Misheck Julian Nkhata
Fred Nyman    
Miss Nyaboke Omwega   Contact Nyaboke Omwega
Miss Emily Parker   Contact Emily Parker
Mr Alexander Parkyn-smith   Contact Alexander Parkyn-smith
Mr. Joseph Peploe   Contact Joseph Peploe
Mrs Tracy Peter-samat   Contact Tracy Peter-samat
Miss Chimwemwe Phiri   Contact Chimwemwe Phiri
Ms Stella Pilavaki   Contact Stella Pilavaki
Miss Rose Pilling   Contact Rose Pilling
Miss Natasha Price   Contact Natasha Price
Mr Md Rahman   Contact Md Rahman
Sarah Maya Rosen   Contact Sarah Maya Rosen
Ms Savita Sathe   Contact Savita Sathe
Miss Emily Sinclair   Contact Emily Sinclair
Miss Ellice Smith   Contact Ellice Smith
Miss Ceri Taylor   Contact Ceri Taylor
Andreas Themistocleous   Contact Andreas Themistocleous
Miss Johanna Thren   Contact Johanna Thren
Mrs Rebecca Tuck   Contact Rebecca Tuck
Miss Francesca Tugwell   Contact Francesca Tugwell
Ms Eirini Tzouma   Contact Eirini Tzouma
Mr Mohammad Uddin   Contact Mohammad Uddin
Ms Diána Vonnák   diana.vonnak@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Ben Walton   benjamin.j.walton@durham.ac.uk
Miss Lila Warawutsunthon   Contact Lila Warawutsunthon
Mr Robin Watson   Contact Robin Watson
Mr Daniel Whitehouse   daniel.r.whitehouse@durham.ac.uk
Mr Yi-cheng (Peter) Wu   yi-cheng.wu@durham.ac.uk
Ms Mei Xue   Contact Mei Xue