Skip to main content

Staff

Senior leadership team

NamePositionEmail
Professor Kate Hampshire Head of Department anth.hod@durham.ac.uk
Professor Russell Hill Head of Department anth.hod@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Jamie Tehrani Director of Education jamie.tehrani@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Yulia Egorova Director of Research yulia.egorova@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Tom Yarrow Subject group lead Social Anthropology t.g.yarrow@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Rachel Kendal Subject group lead Evolutionary Anthropology rachel.kendal@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Andrew Russell Subject group lead Anthropology of Health a.j.russell@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Tessa Pollard EDI lead t.m.pollard@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Rachel Dickins Department Manager r.s.dickins@durham.ac.uk 

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail
Mrs Janet Cummings Operations Administrator janet.m.cummings@durham.ac.uk
Dr Rachel S. Dickins Department Manager r.s.dickins@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Brenda Grant Learning and Teaching Administrator brenda.grant@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Laura Haswell PGR Adminstrator laura.haswell@durham.ac.uk
Ms Sarah Brown Finance Administrator anthropology.finance@durham.ac.uk
Miss Jennifer Legg Learning and Teaching Administrator jennifer.legg@durham.ac.uk
Miss Rosie Legg Assistant Manager (Learning and Teaching) rosie.legg@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Kate Payne Senior Research Administrator kate.payne@durham.ac.uk

Technical Staff

NamePositionEmail
Mrs Valerie Affleck Lab Technician valerie.s.affleck@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Judith Manghan Technician judith.manghan@durham.ac.uk

Academic Staff

NamePositionEmail
Professor Simone Abram Professor simone.abram@durham.ac.uk
Professor Catherine Alexander Professor catherine.alexander@durham.ac.uk
Professor Helen L. Ball Professor h.l.ball@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert A. Barton Professor r.a.barton@durham.ac.uk
Professor Gillian Bentley Professor g.r.bentley@durham.ac.uk
Professor Alan Bilsborough Professor Emeritus alan.bilsborough@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Brown Associate Professor hannah.brown@durham.ac.uk
Dr Trudi Buck Associate Professor (Teaching) t.j.buck@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ben Campbell Lecturer ben.campbell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Liana Chase Assistant Professor liana.e.chase@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michael Crawley Assistant Professor michael.p.crawley@durham.ac.uk
Professor Yulia Egorova Professor yulia.egorova@durham.ac.uk
Professor Sarah Elton Professor sarah.elton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Paolo Fortis Associate Professor paolo.fortis@durham.ac.uk
Professor Kate Hampshire Professor k.r.hampshire@durham.ac.uk
Professor Kate Hampshire Head of Department anth.hod@durham.ac.uk
Dr Paolo Heywood Assistant Professor paolo.heywood@durham.ac.uk
Professor Russell Hill Head of Department anth.hod@durham.ac.uk
Professor Russell Hill Professor r.a.hill@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jeremy Kendal Associate Professor jeremy.kendal@durham.ac.uk
Professor Rachel Kendal (nee Day) Professor rachel.kendal@durham.ac.uk
Dr Elisabeth Kirtsoglou Associate Professor elisabeth.kirtsoglou@durham.ac.uk
Dr Kris (Fire) Kovarovic Associate Professor kris.kovarovic@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert H. Layton Professor Emeritus r.h.layton@durham.ac.uk
Professor Ann MacLarnon Professor of Evolutionary Anthropology ann.m.maclarnon@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jane Macnaughton Professor of Medical Humanities jane.macnaughton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Roslyn Malcolm Assistant Professor roslyn.malcolm@durham.ac.uk
Professor Nayanika Mookherjee Professor nayanika.mookherjee@durham.ac.uk
Professor Tessa M. Pollard Professor t.m.pollard@durham.ac.uk
Professor Gina Porter Professor r.e.porter@durham.ac.uk
Dr Felix Ringel Assistant Professor felix.ringel@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andrew J. Russell Professor a.j.russell@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jo Setchell Professor joanna.setchell@durham.ac.uk
Professor Paul Sillitoe Professor paul.sillitoe@durham.ac.uk
Professor Bob Simpson Professor robert.simpson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alice Stefanelli Assistant Professor alice.stefanelli@durham.ac.uk
Dr Edward (Jed) Stevenson Assistant Professor jed.stevenson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Veronica Strang   veronica.strang@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sally Street Assistant Professor sally.e.street@durham.ac.uk
Dr Amanda Tan   amanda.tan@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jamie Tehrani Professor jamie.tehrani@durham.ac.uk
Dr Tom Widger Associate Professor tom.widger@durham.ac.uk
Professor Thomas Yarrow Professor t.g.yarrow@durham.ac.uk

Teaching Staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Jordan Mullard Teaching Fellow jordan.c.mullard@durham.ac.uk


Research Staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Nasima Akhter Assistant Professor (Research) nasima.akhter@durham.ac.uk
Dr Chima Michael Anyadike-Danes PDRA chima.m.anyadike-danes@durham.ac.uk
Dr Bilal Ashraf   bilal.h.ashraf@durham.ac.uk
Mr Dalir Barkhoda Research Assistant dalir.barkhoda@durham.ac.uk
Dr Claire Dungey PDRA claire.e.dungey@durham.ac.uk
Ms Raihana Ferdous PDRA raihana.ferdous@durham.ac.uk
Ms Sadaf Islam PDRA sadaf.n.islam@durham.ac.uk
Professor Adetayo Kasim Professor a.s.kasim@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ehsan Kharatikoopaei Research Associate ehsan.kharatikoopaei@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stephanie Morris PDRA stephanie.l.morris@durham.ac.uk
Dr Papreen Nahar Research Fellow papreen.nahar@durham.ac.uk
Dr Tehseen Noorani Honorary Fellow tehseen.n.noorani@durham.ac.uk
Dr Akansha Singh Postdoctoral Research Associate akansha.singh@durham.ac.uk
Dr Duncan Stibbard Hawkes Independent Researcher duncan.stibbard-hawkes@durham.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Taylor Research Associate c.e.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Germaine Uwimpuhwe Research Assistant germaine.uwimpuhwe@durham.ac.uk
Dr Janelle Wagnild PDRA j.m.wagnild@durham.ac.uk

Honorary Research Staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Sonia Ahmed Honorary Fellow sonia.ahmed@durham.ac.uk
Dr Khurshida Begum Honorary Fellow khurshida.begum@durham.ac.uk
Professor Sandra Bell Emeritus Professor sandra.bell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Upendra Bhojani Honorary Fellow upendra@iphindia.org
Dr Jesse Bonwitt Honorary Fellow jesse.bonwitt@durham.ac.uk
Rabb Barbara Borts Honorary Fellow barbara.borts@durham.ac.uk
Dr Klara Anna Capova Honorary Fellow k.a.capova@durham.ac.uk
Prof Michael B. Carrithers Emeritus Professor m.b.carrithers@durham.ac.uk
Dr Meixuan Chen Honorary Fellow meixuan.chen@durham.ac.uk
Dr Esther Clarke Honorary Fellow esther.clarke@durham.ac.uk
Dr Peter J. Collins Emeritus Reader p.j.collins@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alessandro Corso Honorary Fellow alessandro.corso@durham.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Diming Honorary Fellow c.j.diming@durham.ac.uk
Dr Iain Edgar Emeritus Reader i.r.edgar@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michele Filippo Fontefrancesco Honorary Fellow michele.fontefrancesco@durham.ac.uk
Dr Carmen Granito Honorary Fellow carmen.granito@durham.ac.uk
Dr Caroline Harcourt Honorary Fellow caroline.s.harcourt@durham.ac.uk
Dr Leslie Jessop Official Visitor leslie.jessop@durham.ac.uk
Dr Aneesa Kassam Honorary Fellow aneesa.kassam@durham.ac.uk
Dr David O'Kane Honorary Fellow david.j.o'kane@durham.ac.uk
Ms Marie-claire Pagano Honorary Fellow marie-claire.pagano@durham.ac.uk
Dr Joanna Puckering Honorary Fellow joanna.puckering@durham.ac.uk
Dr Maurice Said Honorary Fellow maurice.said@durham.ac.uk
Ms Tharindi Udalagama Honorary Fellow t.d.udalagama@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stefano Vaglio Honorary Fellow stefano.vaglio@durham.ac.uk
Dr Megan Wainwright Honorary Fellow m.j.wainwright@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sian Waters Honorary Fellow sian.s.waters@durham.ac.uk
Professor Li Xiang Academic Visitor li.xiang@durham.ac.uk
Dr Heather Yoeli Research Associate heather.j.yoeli@durham.ac.uk

Research Students

NamePositionEmail
Ms Aethiqah Abdul-halim   aethiqah.s.abdul-halim@durham.ac.uk
Ms Halima Akhter   halima.akhter@durham.ac.uk
Mr Timothy Alabi   timothy.o.alabi@durham.ac.uk
Mr Andrew Allan   a.t.l.allan@durham.ac.uk
Mr Giuseppe Amatulli   giuseppe.amatulli@durham.ac.uk
Miss Sophia C Anderson   sophia.c.anderson@durham.ac.uk
Ms Gabrielle Barkess-kerr   gabrielle.f.barkess-kerr@durham.ac.uk
Ms Vasiliki (Vicky) Bathrelou   vasiliki.bathrelou@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Eric Boyd PhD student eric.boyd@durham.ac.uk
Mr Alexander C-kent-widdows PhD student Contact Alexander C-kent-widdows
Miss Milena Carstens   milena.carstens@durham.ac.uk
Miss Holly Chalcraft   h.a.k.chalcraft@durham.ac.uk
Ms. Nuzhat Choudhury   nuzhat.choudhury@durham.ac.uk
Miss Ana-maria Cirstea   ana.m.cirstea@durham.ac.uk
Mr James Anthony Coxon Socio-Cultural Anthropology j.a.coxon@durham.ac.uk
Miss Hannah Darnton   hannah.f.darnton2@durham.ac.uk
Ms Anita Datta Research Student anita.datta@durham.ac.uk
Ms Allison Dixley   allison.dixley@durham.ac.uk
Mr Justin Dixon   justin.dixon@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Kiefer Duffy   kiefer.r.duffy@durham.ac.uk
Mr Arthur Eirich Research Student arthur.eirich@durham.ac.uk
Miss Leah Findlay   l.j.findlay@durham.ac.uk
Miss Eleanor Fleming   eleanor.j.fleming@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ivan Garcia-nisa   ivan.garcia-nisa@durham.ac.uk
Ms Dimitra Georgiadou   dimitra.georgiadou@durham.ac.uk
Dr Veronique Griffith   v.a.s.griffith@durham.ac.uk
Miss Ingrid Grueso-Dominguez   ingrid.grueso@durham.ac.uk
Mr Ben Gruwier   b.j.gruwier@durham.ac.uk
Miss Amy Hawkin   amy.hawkin2@durham.ac.uk
Miss Yasmin Ilkhani   yasmin.h.ilkhani@durham.ac.uk
Ms. Lucy Johnson   lucy.l.johnson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Admir Jugo   admir.jugo@durham.ac.uk
Miss Alice-Amber Keegan   alice-amber.keegan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ross Kendall   ross.kendall@durham.ac.uk
Ms Maria Kenti-Kranidioti   maria.e.kenti-kranidioti@durham.ac.uk
Ms Abby King   abigail.r.king@durham.ac.uk
Mr Hamza Lakhal   hamza.lakhal@durham.ac.uk
Ms Andrea Lambell   andrea.r.lambell@durham.ac.uk
Mr Duncan Learmouth   duncan.learmouth@durham.ac.uk
Miss Kelsey Lee   kelsey.e.lee@durham.ac.uk
Miss Jiangnan Li   jiangnan.li@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Emilia Licitra   emilia.licitra@durham.ac.uk
Ms. Rebecca Liubicich   rebecca.c.liubicich@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Will Lloyd   will.g.lloyd@durham.ac.uk
Miss Catherine Marley   catherine.l.marley@durham.ac.uk
Ms Gessica Martini   gessica.martini@durham.ac.uk
Miss Laura Mcguire   laura.e.mcguire@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Jamie Mckaughan   jamie.e.mckaughan@durham.ac.uk
Miss Lucy Millington   lucy.a.millington@durham.ac.uk
Dr. Elena Miltiadis   elena.miltiadis@durham.ac.uk
Miss Amelia Mulcahey   amelia.l.mulcahey@durham.ac.uk
Ms Heather Munro   heather.l.munro@durham.ac.uk
Mr Danson Mwangi   danson.k.mwangi@durham.ac.uk
Mr Misheck Julian Nkhata   misheck.j.nkhata@durham.ac.uk
Fred Nyman    
Miss Nyaboke Omwega   nyaboke.p.omwega@durham.ac.uk
Miss Emily Parker   emily.p.parker@durham.ac.uk
Mr Alexander Parkyn-smith   a.j.parkyn-smith@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Joseph Peploe   joe.peploe@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Tracy Peter-samat   tracy.a.peter-samat@durham.ac.uk
Miss Chimwemwe Phiri   chimwemwe.phiri@durham.ac.uk
Ms Stella Pilavaki   Contact Stella Pilavaki
Miss Rose Pilling   rose.l.pilling@durham.ac.uk
Miss Natasha Price   natasha.l.price@durham.ac.uk
Mr Md Rahman   md.m.rahman@durham.ac.uk
Sarah Maya Rosen   s.m.rosen@durham.ac.uk
Ms Savita Sathe   s.a.sathe@durham.ac.uk
Miss Emily Sinclair   emily.j.sinclair@durham.ac.uk
Miss Ellice Smith   ellice.h.smith@durham.ac.uk
Miss Ceri Taylor   ceri.l.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Andreas Themistocleous   andreas.themistocleous@durham.ac.uk
Miss Johanna Thren   johanna.r.thren@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Rebecca Tuck   rebecca.l.tuck@durham.ac.uk
Miss Francesca Tugwell   francesca.tugwell@durham.ac.uk
Ms Eirini Tzouma   eirini.c.tzouma@durham.ac.uk
Mr Mohammad Uddin   mohammed.g.uddin@durham.ac.uk
Ms Diána Vonnák   diana.vonnak@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Ben Walton   benjamin.j.walton@durham.ac.uk
Miss Lila Warawutsunthon   lila.warawutsunthon@durham.ac.uk
Mr Robin Watson   robin.o.watson@durham.ac.uk
Mr Daniel Whitehouse   daniel.r.whitehouse@durham.ac.uk
Mr Yi-cheng (Peter) Wu   yi-cheng.wu@durham.ac.uk
Ms Mei Xue