Skip to main content


Adminstration Staff

For general enquiries or to contact our adminstration staff please email:

Undergraduate Administration Team
Postgraduate Administration Team
Operations/General enquiries
Department Manager
Extensions Enquiries

Academic Staff

Prof Alex BroadbentProfessor
Dr Simona CapisaniAssistant Professor / CSSS Advisor and Exam Board Rep
Professor Nancy CartwrightProfessor/Director of CHESS - No general enquiries (please refer to the contact us page)
Dr Christopher CowieAssociate Professor/REF Impact Officer/Director of Ethics, Aesthetics and Politics Research Cluster
Dr Jeremy DunhamAssistant Professor/Director of History of Philosophy Research Cluster/Exam Board Rep
Professor Matthew Daniel EddyProfessor
Dr David FaraciAssociate Professor/Deputy Director of Research/IT Officer/Department Seminar Organiser
Professor Sophie GibbProfessor/DEC Chair
Dr Philip GoffAssociate Professor/Tutor Manager
Professor Andy HamiltonProfessor/Chair BoE/Director of Aesthetics, Ethics and Politics Research Cluster
Professor John HeilProfessor
Professor Robin HendryProfessor/Head of Department/Chair of BoS/Co-Director of CHESS
Dr Simon Paul JamesProfessor/DEC Chair
Dr Aadil KurjiTeaching Fellow
Dr Gregory LuskAssistant Professor
Dr. Clare Mac CumhaillAssociate Professor (Research Leave)
Professor Holger MaehleProfessor/Director of Undergraduate Studies
Professor Anna MarmodoroProfessor/DPGR
Dr James MillerAssistant Professor/JH Social Science (PPE) Advisor and Exam Board Rep
Professor Stephen MumfordDeputy Head of Department/Curriculum Officer
Dr Katherine PuddifootAssociate Professor/Admissions/Widening Participation Officer
Dr Joe SaundersAssociate Professor/Admissions/Widening Participation Officer/Director of Digital Learning
Professor Geoffrey ScarreProfessor (partly-retired)
Dr Benedict SmithAssociate Professor/Director Philosophy MA and Graduate Diploma
Dr Richard StopfordTeaching Fellow/ Deputy Director of UG Studies/ Tutor Manager
Dr Emily ThomasAssociate Professor
Dr Elisabeth ThorssonTeaching Fellow/ Director of Dissertations
Professor Matthew TugbyProfessor/Exchange/Placement Co-ordinator/Directot of UG &PG Student Experience/Careers and Alumni Officer
Dr Sara L. UckelmanAssociate Professor/Co-Director of Durham Centre for Ancient and Medieval Philosophy/Deputy Director of Liberal Arts
Professor Peter VickersProfessor/Director PG Research\Co-Director CHESS
Dr Aness WebsterAssistant Professor/ Liberal Arts advisor and Exam Board Rep / Athena Swann
Dr Sarah WietenAssistant Professor/ Delta Co-ordinator

Research Staff

Dr James FraserAssistant Professor (Research)