Skip to main content

People

 

 Name Role  
CCS Executive and Administration Professor Paul D Murray Dean-Director of the CCS and Professor of Systematic Theology paul.murray@durham.ac.uk
Dr Brian J Casey Assistant Director of the CCS and FMDM Fellow in the History of Catholicism  brian.j.casey@durham.ac.uk
Mr Tim Guinan Senior Development Manager (CCS) tim.guinan@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Theresa Phillips CCS Administrator and PA to the Dean-Director theresa.phillips@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jane Lidstone  CCS Administrative Assistant  ccs.admin@durham.ac.uk
Ms Yvonne Williams Project Co-ordinator for the Boundary Breaking Project and the Transforming Church Project yvonne.williams@durham.ac.uk
CCS Staff Dr Carmody Grey Assistant Professor of Catholic Theology carmody.t.grey@durham.ac.uk
Professor Karen Kilby Bede Professor of Catholic Theology karen.kilby@durham.ac.uk
Dr Marcus Pound Associate Professor of Catholic Studies m.j.p.pound@durham.ac.uk
Professor Anna Rowlands St Hilda Professor of Catholic Social Thought and Practice anna.rowlands@durham.ac.uk
Dr Rik Van Nieuwenhove Associate Professor of Medieval Thought  rik.van-nieuwenhove@durham.ac.uk
CCS Research Fellows  Dr Sarah Barthelemy Catherine de Francheville Fellow in the History of Catholicism  sarah.barthelemy@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Cormac Begadon Sepulchrine Fellow in the History of Catholicism cormac.s.begadon@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Victoria Biggs  La Retraite Fellow in Lived Theology, Trauma, and Reconciliation  victoria.m.biggs@durham.ac.uk
Mr Adrian Brooks Research Assistant in Catholic Studies (Boundary Breaking project) adrian.j.brooks@durham.ac.uk
Dr William (Billy) Crozier Leverhulme Early Career Fellow william.e.crozier@durham.ac.uk
Dr Pat Jones Post-Doctoral Research Associate in Catholic Studies (Boundary Breaking project)  patricia.jones@durham.ac.uk  
Dr James Kelly Sweeting Fellow in the History of Catholicism  james.kelly3@durham.ac.uk
Revd Dr John O'Brien  Associate Professor (Research) in Transforming Church  john.o'brien3@durham.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Powell La Retraite Fellow in Theology and Spirituality elizabeth.r.powell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Gregory A. Ryan Assistant Professor (Research) in Receptive Ecumenism and Ecclesiology  g.a.ryan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Sexton  Post-Doctoral Research Associate in Catholic Studies (Boundary Breaking project)  catherine.m.sexton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Liam Temple  Capuchin Fellow in the History of Catholicism  liam.p.temple@durham.ac.uk
Other CCS Staff Professor Lewis Ayres Professor of Catholic and Historical Theology l.o.ayres@durham.ac.uk
Dr Krastu Banev Assistant Professor of Theology krastu.banev@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mary Brooks Associate Professor in the Department of Archaeology   
Dr Jonathan Bush Archivist, Ushaw College jonathan.bush@durham.ac.uk
Professor Chris Cook Director of the Project for Spirituality, Theology and Health c.c.h.cook@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stefano Cracolici Professor in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures stefano.cracolici@durham.ac.uk  

Dr Helen Foxhall Forbes 

Associate Professor in Early Medieval History h.g.foxhallforbes@durham.ac.uk 

Professor Giles Gasper 

Professor in High Medieval History  g.e.m.gasper@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Michael Gilmore Former Academic Registrar (Head of Academic Office) in the Academic Office michael.gilmore@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Mathew Guest Professor in the Sociology of Religion m.j.guest@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Andrew Harston Director of the Durham University Development and Alumni Relations Office andrew.harston@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Chris Insole Professor of Theological Ethics and Head of the Department of Theology and Religion christopher.insole@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Gerard Loughlin Professor of Christian Theology gerard.loughlin@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Jonathan Miles-Watson Associate Professor of the Anthropology of Religion jonathan.miles-watson@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Simon Oliver Van Mildert Professor of Divinity simon.oliver@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Nicole Reinhardt Professor of Early Modern European History nicole.reinhardt@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Alec Ryrie Professor of the History of Christianity alec.ryrie@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Michael Snape Michael Ramsey Canon Professor of Anglican Studies michael.snape@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Stephen Taylor Professor of Early Modern British History s.j.c.taylor@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Peter Ward Professorial Fellow in Ecclesiology and Ethnography peter.ward@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Bennett Zon Professor in the Department of Music  bennett.zon@durham.ac.uk 

 CCS Student Members 

The CCS has a vibrant community of student members taking a variety of taught and research postgraduate courses. 

 

Students on palace green

Avril Baigent 

Nicolas Baumgartner 

Charlotte Bray 

Adrian Brooks 

Leonardo Choi 

Billy Crozier 

Revd Andrew Downie 

Charles Andrew Gottshall 

Sr Scholastica Jacob 

Ross Jesmont 

Gabriel Kalcheim 

Fr Liam Kelly 

Revd Kjetil Kringlebotten 

Myka Lahaie 

Hanna Lucas 

Claire Marsland 

Joshua Mobley 

John Morris 

Adam O'Boyle 

Gaël Pardoën 

Andrew Phillips 

Maureen Pickering 

Maddison Reddie-Clifford 

Charles Rennie 

Kelsie Rodenbiker 

Gareth Rowe 

Fr Thomas Sharp 

John Stayne 

Gary Wade 

Bruno Zazo 

Honorary Visiting Faculty

NameAffiliationRole
Professor Eamon Duffy

University of Cambridge 

Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism

Dr Maria Exall    Honorary Fellow 
Br Dr Brendan Geary

Provincial of the Marist Brothers, West-Central Europe

Honorary Fellow 
Dr Sheridan Gilley

Emeritus Reader in the History of Catholicism

Honorary Fellow 
Dr Alana Harris King's College London

Honorary Fellow in the Study of Lived Catholicism 

Fr Stan Chu Ilo, PhD

DePaul University, Chicago

Honorary Professor 
Professor John McCafferty

University College Dublin

Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism

Professor Michael Questier

Vanderbilt University

Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism 

Gareth Rowe

CCS-CAFOD Research Fellow 

Honorary Fellow 
Professor Maurice Whitehead 

Venerable English College, Rome

Honorary Professor of Catholic History 

Professor Myriam Wijlens 

University of Erfurt 

Honorary Professor of Canon Law

Professor Fr Hans Zollner, SJ 

Pontifical Gregorian University

Honorary Fellow