Skip to main content



  Name  Role   
CCS Executive and Administration Professor Paul D Murray Dean-Director of the CCS and Professor of Systematic Theology
Dr Brian J Casey Assistant Director of the CCS and FMDM Fellow in the History of Catholicism
Tim Guinan Senior Development Manager (CCS)
Theresa Phillips CCS Administrator and PA to the Dean-Director
  CCS Administrative Assistant
Yvonne Williams Project Co-ordinator for the Boundary Breaking Project
Catherine Tuckwell Administrator for the Northern Diaconal Formation Programme 
CCS Staff Dr Carmody Grey Assistant Professor of Catholic Theology
Professor Karen Kilby Bede Professor of Catholic Theology
Dr Marcus Pound Associate Professor of Catholic Studies
Professor Anna Rowlands St Hilda Professor of Catholic Social Thought and Practice
Dr Rik Van Nieuwenhove Associate Professor of Medieval Thought
CCS Research Fellows  Dr Sarah Barthelemy Catherine de Francheville Fellow in the History of Catholicism 
Dr Cormac Begadon Sepulchrine Fellow in the History of Catholicism 
Dr Victoria Biggs  La Retraite Fellow in Lived Theology, Trauma, and Reconciliation
Mr Adrian Brooks Research Assistant in Catholic Studies (Boundary Breaking project)
Dr William (Billy) Crozier Leverhulme Early Career Fellow
Dr Eilish Gregory Little Company of Mary Fellow in the History of Catholicism 
Dr Pat Jones Post-Doctoral Research Associate in Catholic Studies (Boundary Breaking project)  
Dr James Kelly Sweeting Fellow in the History of Catholicism
Revd Dr John O'Brien  Associate Professor (Research) in Transforming Church  john.o'
Dr Gregory A. Ryan Assistant Professor (Research) in Receptive Ecumenism and Ecclesiology and Academic Co-ordinator of the Northern Diaconal Formation Partnership
Dr Catherine Sexton  Post-Doctoral Research Associate in Catholic Studies (Boundary Breaking project)
Dr Liam Temple  Capuchin Fellow in the History of Catholicism
Other CCS Staff Professor Lewis Ayres Professor of Catholic and Historical Theology
Dr Krastu Banev Assistant Professor of Theology
Dr Mary Brooks Associate Professor in the Department of Archaeology 
Dr Jonathan Bush Archivist, Ushaw College
Professor Stefano Cracolici Professor in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures  

Dr Helen Foxhall Forbes 

Associate Professor in Early Medieval History 

Professor Giles Gasper 

Professor in High Medieval History 
Dr Michael Gilmore Former Academic Registrar (Head of Academic Office) in the Academic Office 
Professor Mathew Guest Professor in the Sociology of Religion 
Professor Chris Insole Professor of Theological Ethics and Head of the Department of Theology and Religion 
Professor Gerard Loughlin Professor of Christian Theology 
Dr Jonathan Miles-Watson Associate Professor of the Anthropology of Religion 
Professor Simon Oliver Van Mildert Professor of Divinity 
Professor Nicole Reinhardt Professor of Early Modern European History 
Professor Alec Ryrie Professor of the History of Christianity 
Professor Michael Snape Michael Ramsey Canon Professor of Anglican Studies 
Professor Peter Ward Professorial Fellow in Ecclesiology and Ethnography 
Professor Bennett Zon Professor in the Department of Music 

 CCS Student Members 

The CCS has a vibrant community of student members taking a variety of taught and research postgraduate courses. 


Students on palace green

Avril Baigent 

Nicolas Baumgartner 

Charlotte Bray 

Adrian Brooks 

Leonardo Choi 

Billy Crozier 

Revd Andrew Downie 

Charles Andrew Gottshall 

Sr Scholastica Jacob 

Ross Jesmont 

Gabriel Kalcheim 

Fr Liam Kelly 

Revd Kjetil Kringlebotten 

Myka Lahaie 

Hanna Lucas 

Claire Marsland 

Joshua Mobley 

John Morris 

Adam O'Boyle 

Gaël Pardoën 

Andrew Phillips 

Maureen Pickering 

Maddison Reddie-Clifford 

Charles Rennie 

Kelsie Rodenbiker 

Gareth Rowe 

Fr Thomas Sharp 

John Stayne 

Gary Wade 

Bruno Zazo 

Honorary Visiting Faculty

Professor Eamon Duffy

University of Cambridge 

Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism

Dr Maria Exall    Honorary Fellow 
Br Dr Brendan Geary

Provincial of the Marist Brothers, West-Central Europe

Honorary Fellow 
Dr Sheridan Gilley

Emeritus Reader in the History of Catholicism

Honorary Fellow 
Dr Alana Harris King's College London

Honorary Fellow in the Study of Lived Catholicism 

Fr Stan Chu Ilo, PhD

DePaul University, Chicago

Honorary Professor 
Professor John McCafferty

University College Dublin

Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism

Professor Michael Questier

Vanderbilt University

Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism 

Gareth Rowe

CCS-CAFOD Research Fellow 

Honorary Fellow 
Professor Maurice Whitehead 

Venerable English College, Rome

Honorary Professor of Catholic History 

Professor Myriam Wijlens 

University of Erfurt 

Honorary Professor of Canon Law

Professor Fr Hans Zollner, SJ 

Pontifical Gregorian University

Honorary Fellow