Skip to main content

Our People

Senior Leadership Team

Head of Department

Professor Laura LeanteProfessor of Ethnomusicology

Administrative Staff

Name Position
Mrs Karen Humes Department Manager
Mr Lewis Wilkinson Assistant Manager, Music for Experience Durham
Miss Sarah Lane Assistant Manager Learning and Teaching
Miss Deborah Norman Learning and Teaching Administrator (Wednesday, Thursday am and Friday)
Mrs Angela Rutherford  Learning and Teaching Administrator (Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday am)
Miss Faye Smith Learning and Teaching Administrator (Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday am)
Ms Laura Kovic Learning and Teaching Administrator (Wednesday pm, Thursday and Friday)
Ms Laura Kovic Operations Administrator (Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday am)

Technical Staff

Name Position
Mr Martin Allison Senior Technician                                                                              
Dr Simone Tarsitani Technical Manager


Academic Staff

Professor Martin ClaytonProfessor of Ethnomusicology
Professor Nick CollinsProfessor
Professor Jeremy DibbleProfessor of Musicology
Professor Tuomas EerolaProfessor of Music Cognition
Dr Eric EganAssistant Professor of Composition
Dr Katherine HambridgeAssociate Professor of Musicology
Professor Julian HortonProfessor of Music Theory and Analysis
Dr Amanda HsiehAssistant Professor (Musicology)
Dr Kelly JakubowskiAssistant Professor in Music Psychology
Professor Simon MillsProfessor
Professor Richard RijnvosProfessor of Composition
Dr Hector SequeraLecturer in Performance
Mr John SnijdersAssociate Professor in Performance and Deputy Head of Department
Dr Daniel WaldenAssistant Professor (Music Analysis)
Dr James WeeksAssistant Professor
Professor Bennett ZonProfessor

Teaching Staff

Dr Ian DicksonAssistant Professor (Teaching)
Dr Samuel HorlorTeaching Fellow in Ethnomusicology
Dr Alasdair JamiesonGraduate Teaching Assistant

Associated Staff

Professor Andy HamiltonProfessor in the Department of Philosophy

Research Staff

Dr Ninfea Cruttwell-ReadeLeverhulme Early Career Fellow
Dr Erin Johnson-WilliamsLeverhulme Early Career Fellow
Dr Shelly KnottsPostdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Imre LahdelmaPost-Doctoral Researcher

Emeritus Staff

Professor Max Paddison

Honorary Fellows

Dr Sam Horlor
Dr Austin Glatthorn
Dr Liila Tarrufi