Skip to main content

Staff

We’re lucky that we’re a rapidly growing department with many new faculty members. In 2016 we had only 17 academics and we’re now up to around 40.

Our team is made up of our faculty who lead the teaching and research, our postdoctoral researchers who work on research contracts, and our Professional Support Staff who make sure everything runs smoothly. Together we like to think we’re a supportive and friendly community.
Check out our research
Computer Science staff at congregation

Academic staff

NamePositionEmail
Professor Gordon Love Head of Department of Computer Science g.d.love@durham.ac.uk
Dr Eleni Akrida Assistant Professor (Teaching) eleni.akrida@durham.ac.uk
Dr Noura Al Moubayed Assistant Professor noura.al-moubayed@durham.ac.uk
Dr Gagangeet Singh Aujla Assistant Professor gagangeet.s.aujla@durham.ac.uk
Professor Sue Black Professor of Computer Science and Technology Evangelist sue.black@durham.ac.uk 
Professor Magnus Bordewich Professor m.j.r.bordewich@durham.ac.uk
Professor Steven Bradley Professor s.p.bradley@durham.ac.uk
Professor Toby Breckon Professor toby.breckon@durham.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor David Budgen Emeritus Professor david.budgen@durham.ac.uk
Professor Alexandra Cristea Professor of Computer Science alexandra.i.cristea@durham.ac.uk
Dr Konrad Dabrowski Teaching Fellow konrad.dabrowski@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stefan Dantchev Assistant Professor s.s.dantchev@durham.ac.uk
Dr Tom Friedetzky Associate Professor tom.friedetzky@durham.ac.uk
Dr Maximilien Gadouleau Associate Professor m.r.gadouleau@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sunčica Hadžidedić Assistant Professor suncica.hadzidedic@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hubert P. H. Shum Associate Professor hubert.shum@durham.ac.uk  
Dr Leonardo Impett Assistant Professor leonardo.l.impett@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ioannis Ivrissimtzis Associate Professor ioannis.ivrissimtzis@durham.ac.uk
Professor Matthew Johnson Professor matthew.johnson2@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stamos Katsigiannis Assistant Professor stamos.katsigiannis@durham.ac.uk
Dr George Alex Koulieris Assistant Professor georgios.a.koulieris@durham.ac.uk
Professor Andrei Krokhin Professor andrei.krokhin@durham.ac.uk
Dr Frederick Li Associate Professor frederick.li@durham.ac.uk
Dr Yang Long Assistant Professor yang.long@durham.ac.uk
Professor Gordon Love Head of Department g.d.love@durham.ac.uk
Dr Barnaby Martin Associate Professor barnaby.d.martin@durham.ac.uk
Dr George Mertzios Associate Professor george.mertzios@durham.ac.uk  
Dr Lawrence Mitchell Assistant Professor lawrence.mitchell@durham.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Malcolm Munro Emeritus Professor malcolm.munro@durham.ac.uk
Professor Daniel Paulusma Professor daniel.paulusma@durham.ac.uk
Dr Robert Powell Assistant Professor (Teaching) robert.powell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Anne Reinarz Assistant Professor anne.k.reinarz@durham.ac.uk
Dr Lei Shi Assistant Professor lei.shi@durham.ac.uk
Dr Craig Stewart Assistant Professor (Teaching) craig.d.stewart@durham.ac.uk
Professor Iain Stewart Professor i.a.stewart@durham.ac.uk
Dr Donald Sturgeon Assistant Professor donald.j.sturgeon@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ehsan Toreini Assistant Professor ehsan.toreini@durham.ac.uk
Dr Amitabh Trehan Associate Professor amitabh.trehan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Wanqing Tu Associate Professor wanqing.tu@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jingyun Wang Assistant Professor jingyun.wang@durham.ac.uk
Professor Tobias Weinzierl Professor tobias.weinzierl@durham.ac.uk
Dr Chris Willcocks Assistant Professor christopher.g.willcocks@durham.ac.uk

Research staff

NamePositionEmail
Dr Yona Falinie Abd. Gaus Post Doctoral Research Associate yona.f.binti-abd-gaus@durham.ac.uk
Dr Bashar Awwad-shiekh-hasan Academic Visitor bashar.awwad-shiekh-hasan@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Neelanjan Bhowmik Post Doctoral Research Associate neelanjan.bhowmik@durham.ac.uk
Mr Alexander Krotov KTP Associate alexander.krotov@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jakub Opršal Post Doctoral Research Assistant jakub.oprsal@durham.ac.uk
Mr Zheming Zuo KTP Research Associate zheming.zuo@durham.ac.uk

Research students

NamePositionEmail
Mrs Latifah Abduh Postgraduate Student latifah.a.abduh@durham.ac.uk
Mr Philip Adey Postgraduate Student philip.a.adey@durham.ac.uk
Mr Olanrewaju Tahir Aduragba Postgraduate Student olanrewaju.m.aduragba@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Ahmed Alamri Postgraduate Student ahmed.s.alamri@durham.ac.uk
Miss Khulood Alharbi Postgraduate Student olanrewaju.m.aduragba@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Zakhriya Alhassan Postgraduate Student zakhriya.n.alhassan@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Tahani Aljohani Postgraduate Student tahani.aljohani@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Latifah Almuqren Postgraduate Student latifah.almuqren@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Muna Almushyti Postgraduate Student muna.i.almushyti@durham.ac.uk
Ms Aeshah Almutairi Postgraduate Student aeshah.a.almutairi@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Laila Alrajhi Postgraduate Student laila.m.alrajhi@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Amani Alsaqqaf Postgraduate Student amani.z.alsaqqaf@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Aishah Alsehaim Postgraduate Student aishah.a.alsehaim@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Naif Alshammari Postgraduate Student naif.alshammari@durham.ac.uk
Mr Mohammad Alshehri Postgraduate Student mohammad.a.alshehri@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jack Barker Postgraduate Student aishah.a.alsehaim@durham.ac.uk 
Sam Bond-Taylor Postgraduate Student samuel.e.bond-taylor@durham.ac.uk
Mr John Brennan Postgraduate Student j.d.brennan@durham.ac.uk
Miss Elizabeth Callander Postgraduate Student elizabeth.callander@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Pedro Cardenas Postgraduate Student pedro.cardenas-canto@durham.ac.uk
Miss Calina Durbac Postgraduate Student calina.m.durbac@durham.ac.uk 
Mr James Elliman Postgraduate Students james.p.elliman@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Jonathan Frawley Postgraduate Student jonathan.frawley@durham.ac.uk
Miss Isobel Friedlander Postgraduate Student isobel.s.friedlander@durham.ac.uk
Mr Abdul Ghani Postgraduate Student abdul.ghani@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Anoushka Harit Postgraduate Student anoushka.harit@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Cesar Higuera-higuera Postgraduate Student cesar.i.higuera-higuera@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Ryan Hodgson Postgraduate Student ryan.t.hodgson@durham.ac.uk
Mr George Hudson Postgraduate Student g.t.hudson@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Brian Kostadinov Shalon Isaac-Medina Postgraduate Student brian.k.isaac-medina@durham.ac.uk
Mrs. Nina Klobas Postgraduate Student nina.klobas@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Daniel Kluvanec Postgraduate Student daniel.kluvanec@durham.ac.uk 
Mr. Burak Kucukgoz Postgraduate Student burak.kucukgoz@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Bruna Maciel-Pearson Postgraduate Student b.g.maciel-pearson@durham.ac.uk
Ms Nik Khadijah Nik Aznan Postgraduate Student nik.k.nik-aznan@durham.ac.uk
Mr Peter Noble Postgraduate Student peter.j.noble@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Giacomo Paesani Postgraduate Student giacomo.paesani@durham.ac.uk
Mr Matthew Poyser Postgraduate Student matthew.poyser@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Will Prew Postgraduate Student william.t.prew@durham.ac.uk
Mr Hiroshi Sasaki Postgraduate Student hiroshi.sasaki@durham.ac.uk 
Mr. David Sibrina Postgraduate Student david.sibrina@durham.ac.uk
Mr Dean Slack Postgraduate Student dean.l.slack@durham.ac.uk
Miss Siani Smith Postgraduate Student siani.smith@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Karl Southern Postgraduate Student karl.southern@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Zhongtian Sun Postgraduate Student zhongtian.sun@durham.ac.uk
Mr Matthew Watson Postgraduate Student matthew.s.watson@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Henry Westmacott Postgraduate Student henry.j.westmacott@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Thomas Winterbottom Postgraduate Student thomas.i.winterbottom@durham.ac.uk 
Ms Sarah Wyer Postgraduate Student sarah.wyer@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jialin Yu Postgraduate Student jialin.yu@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Seyma Yucer Postgraduate Student seyma.yucer-tektas@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Haozheng Zhang Postgraduate Student
Mr Peng Zhang Postgraduate Student peng.zhang@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Xin Zhang Postgraduate Student xin.zhang3@durham.ac.uk