Skip to main content

People

Senior Leadership Team:

Professor Martin Roderick, Head of Department

Professor Brett Smith, Director of Research

Dr Sue Bock, Director of Education

Mrs Annisa Crich, Department Manager 

 

General Contacts :

Name Email
Finance administration ssh.sportfinance@durham.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching (Assistant Manager) ses.learningandteaching@durham.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching Administration (UG) ses.undergraduate@durham.ac.uk
Operations and Reception ses.operations@durham.ac.uk
PG Administration ses.pgradmin@durham.ac.uk
Senior Research Administrator  ses.researchadmin@durham.ac.uk


Head of Department :

Name Position Email
Professor Martin Roderick Head of Department m.j.roderick@durham.ac.uk


Sports & Exercise Sciences Staff:

Name Position Email
Dr Susan Bock Director of Education, Associate Professor (Teaching) susan.bock@durham.ac.uk
Mr Robert Cramb  Director of UG Programmes Associate Professor (Teaching)  r.k.cramb@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Caroline Dodd-Reynolds Associate Professor

caroline.dodd-reynolds@durham.ac.uk

Dr Karen Hind Assistant Professor karen.hind@durham.ac.uk
Dr Iain Lindsey Associate Professor

iain.lindsey@durham.ac.uk 

Dr Lindsay Macnaughton Assistant Professor

lindsay.s.macnaughton@durham.ac.uk

Dr Shaun Mclaren Teaching Fellow (Fixed Term)

shaun.mclaren@durham.ac.uk

Dr Adam Nichol  Teaching Fellow (Fixed Term) 

adam.j.nichol@durham.ac.uk

Dr Emily J. Oliver  Associate Professor  emily.oliver@durham.ac.uk
Dr Cassandra Phoenix  Associate Professor in Physical Activity and Health  cassandra.phoenix@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Stacey Pope Associate Professor stacey.pope@durham.ac.uk
Dr Emma Poulton Associate Professor e.k.poulton@durham.ac.uk
Dr AJ Rankin-Wright 
(Maternity leave until July 2021)
Assistant Professor alexandra.j.rankin-wright@durham.ac.uk
Professor Brett Smith Director of Research, Professor of Disability and Physical Activity brett.smith@durham.ac.uk
Mr Phill Smith Advanced Technican phillip.a.smith@durham.ac.uk
Professor Carolyn Summerbell Professor carolyn.summerbell@durham.ac.uk



Professional Support Staff:

Name Position Email
Miss Lucy Cawson Senior Research Administrator (Weekdays 9:15 - 12:45) ses.researchadmin@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Annisa Crich Department Manager annisa.crich@durham.ac.uk
Faith Jones  Learning and Teaching (Assistant Manager)  ses.learningandteaching@durham.ac.uk
Anna Loughlin  Learning and Teaching Administrator  ses.pgradmin@durham.ac.uk
Miss Rebecca Strong Operations Administrator ses.operations@durham.ac.uk
Ms Lisa Tempest Learning and Teaching Administrator ses.undergraduate@durham.ac.uk



Sport & Exercise Sciences Research Staff:

Name Position Email
Dr Fiona Duncan Research Associate fiona.h.duncan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Naomi Griffin Research Associate naomi.c.griffin@durham.ac.uk
Dr Nicky Keay Honorary Research Fellow nicola.keay@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stephanie Morris  Research Associate stephanie.l.morris@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Javier Monforte Research Associate javier.monforte@durham.ac.uk
Esther Kisby  Fuse Project Coordinator  e.j.kisby@durham.ac.uk 
Dr Souvik Naha Honorary Fellow souvik.naha@durham.ac.uk



Postgraduate Research Students:

Name Position Email
Mr. Khaled Alsofyani Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) khaled.a.alsofyani@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Nourah Basalem Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) nourah.basalem@durham.ac.uk 
Mr. Howard Bennett Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) howard.a.bennett@durham.ac.uk 
Eleanor Boden Postgraduate Research Student( PhD) eleanor.r.boden@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Marianna Bottiglieri Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) marianna.bottiglieri@durham.ac.uk 
Gianmarco Dellacasa  Postgraduate Research Student (PhD)  gianmarco.dellacasa@durham.ac.uk 
Mrs Caroline Dower Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) caroline.dower@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Ian Entwistle Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) ian.entwistle@durham.ac.uk 
Mr. Patrick Eveleigh Postgraduate Research Student (MRES) patrick.eveleigh@durham.ac.uk  
Ms Amee Gill Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) amee.gill@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Thomas Goodbourn Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) thomas.a.goodbourn@durham.ac.uk 
Mr William Jones Postgraduate Research Student (MRES) william.jones3@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Lauren Kamperman Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) lauren.m.kamperman@durham.ac.uk 
Natalie Konerth Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) natalie.m.konerth@durham.ac.uk 
Mrs Jo Long Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) jo.long@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Amy Mccarthy Postgraduate Research Student (MRES) amy.l.mccarthy@durham.ac.uk 
Grace Mccatty Postgraduate Research Student (MRES) gace.e.mccatty@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Margaret Mcclain Postgraduate Research Student (MRES) margaret.c.mcclain@durham.ac.uk 
Mr. Jake Netherway Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) jake.r.netherway@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Alice Pearson Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) alice.g.pearson@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Sophie Phillips Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) sophie.m.phillips@durham.ac.uk 
Benjamin Rigby Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) benjamin.p.rigby@durham.ac.uk 
Mr Joseph Schenkel Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) j.a.schenkel@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Wei Wang Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) wei.wang@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Annie Williams Postgraduate Research Student (MRES) annie.williams@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Jessica Woodward Postgraduate Research Student (MRES) jessica.m.woodward@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Zhuotong Wu Postgraduate Research Student (PhD) zhutong.wu@durham.ac.uk