Skip to main content


Academic Staff: Sociology and Criminology

Dr Elham AminiTeaching Fellow
Dr Jason ArdayAssociate Professor
Dr Stephen AsheTeaching Fellow
Dr Jana BacevicAssistant Professor
Professor Sarah BanksProfessor
Professor Vikki BoliverProfessor
Dr Charlotte BranchuHonorary Research Fellow
Dr Donna Marie BrownAssociate Professor
Prof Brian CastellaniProfessor of Sociology
Prof Charlotte ClarkeProfessor
Dr William CoylesAssistant Professor (Teaching)
Dr William CraigeDirector of Education - Assistant Professor (Teaching)
Dr Stephen CrossleyAssistant Professor
Dr Matthew DavidAssociate Professor
Prof Catherine DonovanHead of Department, Professor of Sociology
Professor Simon ForrestPrincipal of College of St Hild and St Bede
Dr Sol GamsuAssistant Professor
Dr Geetanjali GangoliAssociate Professor
Dr Kimberly JamieAssistant Professor
Dr Alison JobeAssistant Professor
Dr Kelly JohnsonAssistant Professor
Dr Hannah KingAssistant Professor, Director of Postgraduate Research
Dr Christopher LawlessAssociate Professor
Dr Lisa MckenzieAssistant Professor
Professor Tiago MoreiraProfessor of Sociology
Dr Kate O'BrienAssistant Professor (Director of MSc Criminology and Criminal Justice)
Dr Andrew OrtonDirector of Education - Associate Professor
Dr Malcolm ParkesTeaching Fellow
Dr Jesse ProudfootAssistant Professor
Dr Sue ReganHonorary Research Fellow
Dr Fiona Vera-GrayAssistant Professor
Professor Nicole WestmarlandDirector of Research
Dr Jonathan WistowAssistant Professor, Deputy Director of Research
Dr Keming YangAssociate Professor

Academic Staff: Social Work

Ms Helen CharnleyAssociate Professor (co Director of MSW)
Mrs Pat HanleyAssistant Professor (Teaching)
Professor Simon HackettProfessor
Dr Sui-Ting KongAssistant Professor
Dr Josie PhillipsAssistant Professor (Teaching)
Prof Roger SmithProfessor of Social Work
Mrs Jane WistowAssistant Professor Social Work

Research Staff

Dr Stephen BurrellAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Kate ButterbyPostdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Andrea DarlingResearch Associate
Dr Naomi GriffinResearch Associate
Dr Sarah KeyesResearch Associate
Dr Evgenia StepanovaResearch Associate
Ms Christina StraubResearch Assistant
Dr Adele Van-wykResearch Associate
Dr Peter A. Warburton
Dr Jane WilcocksonSenior Research Associate


Emeritus Professor David S. ByrneEmeritus Professor
Professor Tony ChapmanHonorary Professor
Sandy RuxtonHonorary Fellow
Professor Robin WilliamsEmeritus Professor

Sociology & Criminology-32 Old Elvet: Programme Secretary

Dr Carl Bartonp/t teacher

Professional Support Staff

NamePositionemail address
Dr Richard Bruce Department Manager 
Mrs Miriam Chisholm Learning and Teaching Manager 
Mrs Melanie Lyons Operations Administrator 
Mrs Anne Park Postgraduate Co-ordinator 
Ms Lucy Cawson Senior Research Administrator 
Ms Judith Cooper Learning and Teaching Administrator 
Ms Julie Dent Learning and Teaching Co-ordinator (Social Work) 
Ms Emma Haggie Learning and Teaching Administrator 
TBC Learning and Teaching Administrator  
Ms Jo Spark Learning and Teaching Administrator