Skip to main content


We are an inclusive and engaging department that educates students with high quality, research-led teaching and encourages them to display the highest levels of commitment to educational excellence. Supporting the students to consistently innovate is a central feature of what we do in order to ensure that graduates will have outstanding skills to take into the world of work. 

Our aim is to produce graduates who are self-aware, reflective and ambitious global citizens. 

Academic Staff

Dr Kavi Joseph AbrahamAssistant Professor in International Relations
Dr David AndersenAssociate Professor in US Politics
Professor Jutta BakonyiProfessor in Development and Conflict
Professor Ilan Zvi BaronProfessor in International Political Theory and Deputy Head of School
Dr Bahar BaserAssociate Professor in Middle East Politics
Dr Carly BeckermanAssociate Professor in the International Relations of the Middle East
Dr Jessica BegonAssistant Professor in Political Theory
Dr Oliver BelcherAssociate Professor
Dr Brian CareyAssistant Professor in Political Theory
Dr Gordon C.K. CheungAssociate Professor in International Relations of China
Dr Gidon CohenAssociate Professor and Head of School
Dr Jack CopleyAssistant Professor in International Political Economy
Dr Olga DemetriouAssociate Professor in Post-Conflict Reconstruction
Dr Maria Dimova-CooksonAssociate Professor in Political Theory
Dr Tessa DitontoAssociate Professor
Professor Anoush EhteshamiNasser al-Mohammad al-Sabah Chair in International Relations
Professor Christopher FinlayProfessor in Political Theory and Deputy Head of School
Dr Anne FlaspölerAssistant Professor in International Relations
Dr Maria Eugenia GiraudoAssistant Professor in International Political Economy
Dr Cameron HarringtonAssistant Professor in International Relations
Dr Graham HarrisonAssociate Professor
Dr Małgorzata (Gosia) JakimówAssistant Professor in East Asian Politics
Professor Clive JonesProfessor of Regional Security
Dr Elizabeth KahnAssociate Professor in Political Theory
Dr Jan KandiyaliAssistant Professor in Political Theory
Professor Stefanie KapplerProfessor in Conflict Resolution and Peacebuilding
Dr Marzieh Kouhi-EsfahaniTeaching Fellow in Middle East Politics
Dr Patrick M KuhnAssociate Professor in Comparative Politics
Dr Natalie LangfordAssistant Professor in International Political Economy
Professor Roger Mac GintyProfessor in Defence, Development and Diplomacy
Dr Lewis MatesAssistant Professor in Political Theory
Dr Rory McCarthyAssistant Professor In Politics and Islam
Dr Juraj MedzihorskyAssistant Professor in Social Data Science
Dr Kevin MillerAssistant Professor
Dr Adrian MillicanAssistant Professor (Teaching) in Comparative Quantitative Politics
Dr Javier Moreno ZacarésLeverhulme Fellow
Professor Emma MurphyProfessor of Political Economy
Dr Kyriaki NanouAssociate Professor in European Politics
Dr Alex NeadsAssistant Professor in International Security
Dr Moritz OsnabrüggeAssistant Professor in Quantitative Comparative Politics
Dr Anouk S. RigterinkAssistant Professor in Quantitative Comparative Politics
Dr Thomas RobinsonAssistant Professor in Quantitative Comparative Politics
Professor Julia StapletonProfessor of Political Thought
Dr Neil VisalvanichAssistant Professor
Professor Nick VivyanProfessor
Professor John WilliamsProfessor

Professors in Practice

Mr David ElleryProfessor in Practice
Mr Suresh NanwaniProfessor in Practice

Teaching Staff

Dr Can Cinar
Dr Benjamin CoulsonTeaching Fellow in East Asian International Relations
Dr Kenneth SearleTeaching Fellow in Quantative Politics

Administrative Staff

Mr Laurence BartonFinance Administrator
Miss Abigail BlenkinsoppLearning and Teaching Administrator
Mrs Kelly GuyLearning and Teaching Manager
Mr Graeme HarrisSenior Research Administrator
Mrs Caroline MartinOperations Administrator
Miss Zoe PapagiannouliLearning and Teaching Administrator
Ms Katy QuigleyDepartment Manager
Miss Catherine SmithLearning and Teaching Admninistrator
Ms Gabrielle SummersLearning and Teaching Co-Ordinator
Mrs Lauren ToddPGR Co-ordinator

Associated Staff

Mrs Louise HayseyGlobal Policy Institute Manager
Professor Thom BrooksAssociate
Dr Eva-Maria NagGlobal Policy Journal Executive Editor

Honorary & Visiting Research Fellows

Dr Emilie FortPostdoctoral Research Assistant
Dr Gary HutchisonVisiting Fellow
Professor Paul LuftHonorary Research Fellow
Mr James Michael PageHonorary Research Fellow
Dr Mohammed SaidinVisiting Fellow
PD Dr Robert SchuettHonorary Fellow
Ms Lilian TauberVisiting Fellow
Dr Stephen WelchHonorary Fellow

Research Students

Mr Harrison AjebonDoctoral Research Student
Mr. Oday Al-HasanDoctoral Research Student
Ms Fatima Al-karbiDoctoral Research Student
Mr. Abdulla Al-sabahDoctoral Research Student
Mr. Mirdef AlqashoutiDoctoral Research Student
Mrs Cangul Altundas-AkcayDoctoral Research Student
Ms Alice AlunniDoctoral Research Student
Mr Emil ArchambaultDoctoral Research Student
Mr Irfan AzeezDoctoral Research Student
Miss Juline Beaujouan-MarliereGeneral Sir Peter de la Billière Doctoral Research Student
Ms Galit Benhaim-PedahzurDoctoral Research Student
Ms Vanessa BentilDoctoral Research Student
Mr Ahmet BorazanDoctoral Research Student
Mr Mark BurdonDoctoral Research Student
Mr David T. CaldwellDoctoral Research Student
Miss Francesca CollierDoctoral Research Student
Miss Laura CretneyDoctoral Research Student
Mr Alexander CrockettDoctoral Research Student
Ms Maja DavidovicDoctoral Research Student
Ms Elisabeth de Vega AlavedraDoctoral Research Student
Miss Georgia DimitriouDoctoral Research Student
Ms. Betul Dogan-AkkasDoctoral Research Student
Mr Riccardo FabianiDoctoral Research Student
Ms Esther García MonrealDoctoral Research Student
Mr Edward GoodgerDoctoral Research Student
Mr. Azad HasanDoctoral Research Student
Mr Benjamin HoughtonDoctoral Research Student
Ms Selma ImamogluDoctoral Research Student
Mr Nurlan KarzhassovDoctoral Research Student
Ms Dorien KeizerDoctoral Research Student
Ms Anna KranzDoctoral Research Student
Ms. Jia LiuDoctoral Research Student
Mr. Jiannan LuoDoctoral Research Student
Ms Phellecitus MontanaDoctoral Research Student
Mr. Alexander MoodieDoctoral Research Student
Mrs. Rachel MorelandDoctoral Research Student
Mr Nchimunya MuleyaDoctoral Research Student
Mr Daniel NichollsDoctoral Research Student
Mr Henry PaddenDoctoral Research Student
Mr Hoseong ParkDoctoral Research Student
Ms Zarqa ParvezDoctoral Research Student
Mr. Johannes SauerlandDoctoral Research Student
Mr Jacopo ScitaDoctoral Research Student
Mr Ahmed ShahDoctoral Research Student
Mrs. Liu ShiDoctoral Research Student
Ms Hannah SiddleDoctoral Research Student
Ms. Sidiqa SohailDoctoral Research Student
Mr. Tomos VaughanDoctoral Research Student
Mr. Tom WalshDoctoral Research Student
Ms Dan WangDoctoral Research Student
Mrs. Amanda WhitfieldDoctoral Research Student
Mr Mudar ZahranDoctoral Research Student