Skip to main content

Staff

We are an inclusive and engaging department that educates students with high quality, research-led teaching and encourages them to display the highest levels of commitment to educational excellence. Supporting the students to consistently innovate is a central feature of what we do in order to ensure that graduates will have outstanding skills to take into the world of work. 

Our aim is to produce graduates who are self-aware, reflective and ambitious global citizens. 

SectionNamePositionEmail
Academic Staff: Dr Kavi Joseph Abraham Assistant Professor in International Relations kavi.j.abraham@durham.ac.uk
Dr David Andersen Assistant Professor in US Politics david.j.andersen@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jutta Bakonyi Professor in Development and Conflict jutta.bakonyi@durham.ac.uk
Professor Ilan Zvi Baron Professor in International Political Theory and Deputy Head of School ilan.baron@durham.ac.uk
Dr Carly Beckerman Assistant Professor in the International Relations of the Middle East carly.beckerman@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jessica Begon Assistant Professor in Political Theory jessica.e.begon@durham.ac.uk
Dr Oliver Belcher Assistant Professor oliver.belcher@durham.ac.uk
Dr Gordon C.K. Cheung Associate Professor in International Relations of China g.c.k.cheung@durham.ac.uk
Dr Gidon Cohen Associate Professor and Head of School gidon.cohen@durham.ac.uk
Dr Olga Demetriou Associate Professor in Post-Conflict Reconstruction olga.demetriou@durham.ac.uk
Dr Maria Dimova-Cookson Associate Professor in Political Theory maria.dimova-cookson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Tessa Ditonto Assistant Professor tessa.m.ditonto@durham.ac.uk
Professor Anoush Ehteshami Nasser al-Mohammad al-Sabah Chair in International Relations a.ehteshami@durham.ac.uk
Professor Christopher Finlay Professor in Political Theory and Deputy Head of School christopher.j.finlay@durham.ac.uk
Dr Anne Flaspöler Assistant Professor in International Relations anne.flaspoeler@durham.ac.uk
Dr Maria Eugenia Giraudo Assistant Professor in International Political Economy maria.e.giraudo@durham.ac.uk
Dr Cameron Harrington Assistant Professor in International Relations cameron.harrington@durham.ac.uk
Dr Graham Harrison Associate Professor graham.g.harrison@durham.ac.uk
Dr Małgorzata (Gosia) Jakimów Assistant Professor in East Asian Politics m.j.jakimow@durham.ac.uk
Professor Clive Jones Professor of Regional Security c.a.jones@durham.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Kahn Assistant Professor in Political Theory elizabeth.kahn@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stefanie Kappler Associate Professor in Conflict Resolution and Peacebuilding stefanie.kappler@durham.ac.uk
Dr Patrick M Kuhn Associate Professor in Comparative Politics p.m.kuhn@durham.ac.uk
Professor Roger Mac Ginty Professor in Defence, Development and Diplomacy roger.macginty@durham.ac.uk
Dr Lewis Mates Assistant Professor in Political Theory lewis.mates@durham.ac.uk
Dr Rory McCarthy Assistant Professor rory.p.mccarthy@durham.ac.uk
Dr Kevin Miller Assistant Professor kevin.miller@durham.ac.uk
Dr Adrian Millican Assistant Professor (Teaching) in Comparative Quantitative Politics adrian.millican@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mona Morgan-Collins Assistant Professor in Comparative Quantitative Politics mona.morgan-collins@durham.ac.uk
Professor Emma Murphy Professor of Political Economy emma.murphy@durham.ac.uk
Dr Kyriaki Nanou Associate Professor in European Politics kyriaki.nanou@durham.ac.uk
Dr Moritz Osnabrügge Assistant Professor in Quantitative Comparative Politics moritz.osnabruegge@durham.ac.uk
Dr Anouk S. Rigterink Assistant Professor in Quantitative Comparative Politics anouk.rigterink@durham.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Robinson Assistant Professor in Quantitative Comparative Politics thomas.robinson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Julia Stapleton Professor of Political Thought julia.stapleton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Neil Visalvanich Assistant Professor neil.visalvanich@durham.ac.uk
Professor Nick Vivyan Professor nick.vivyan@durham.ac.uk
Professor John Williams Professor j.c.williams@durham.ac.uk
Professors in Practice: Mr David Ellery Professor in Practice Contact David Ellery
Mr Suresh Nanwani Professor in Practice Contact Suresh Nanwani
Research Staff: Dr Lydia Cole Postdoctoral Research Associate lydia.c.cole@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hilary Ingram Research Associate Contact Hilary Ingram
Mr Janosch Kullenberg Postdoctoral Research Assistant janosch.n.kullenberg@durham.ac.uk
Teaching Staff: Dr Can Cinar   Contact Can Cinar
Dr Benjamin Coulson Teaching Fellow in East Asian and International Relations Contact Benjamin Coulson
Dr Raphaela Kormoll Teaching Fellow in International Relations and Peace and Conflict Studies, AFHEA r.t.kormoll@durham.ac.uk
Dr Marzieh Kouhi-Esfahani Teaching Fellow in Middle East Politics marzieh.kouhi-esfahani@durham.ac.uk
Dr Benjamin Maiangwa Teaching Fellow in International Relations and Peace and Conflict Studies Contact Benjamin Maiangwa
Dr Kenneth Searle Teaching Fellow in Quantative Politics Contact Kenneth Searle
Professional Support Staff: Mr Laurence Barton Finance Administrator Contact Laurence Barton
Mrs Kelly Guy Learning and Teaching Manager Contact Kelly Guy
Mr Graeme Harris Senior Research Administrator Contact Graeme Harris
Mrs Caroline Martin Operations Administrator Contact Caroline Martin
Mrs Val Morland Learning and Teaching Coordinator Contact Val Morland 
Miss Zoe Papagiannouli Learning and Teaching Administrator Contact Zoe Papagiannouli
Ms Katy Quigley Department Manager Contact Katy Quigley
Miss Catherine Smith Learning and Teaching Administrator Contact Catherine Smith
Ms Gabrielle Summers Learning and Teaching Administrator Contact Gabrielle Summers
Mrs Lauren Todd PGR Co-ordinator Contact Lauren Todd
Associated Staff: Mrs Louise Haysey Global Policy Institute Manager a.l.haysey@durham.ac.uk
Professor Thom Brooks Associate thom.brooks@durham.ac.uk
Dr Eva-Maria Nag Global Policy Journal Executive Editor Contact Eva-Maria Nag
Honorary & Visiting Research Fellows: Dr Emilie Fort Postdoctoral Research Assistant emilie.fort@durham.ac.uk
Dr Gary Hutchison Visiting Fellow gary.d.hutchison@durham.ac.uk
Professor Paul Luft Honorary Research Fellow Contact Paul Luft
Mr James Michael Page Honorary Research Fellow Contact James Michael Page
Dr Robert Schuett Honorary Fellow robert.schuett@durham.ac.uk
Ms Lilian Tauber Visiting Fellow Contact Lilian Tauber
Dr Stephen Welch Honorary Fellow s.e.welch@durham.ac.uk
Research Students: Mr Tarek Abou-jaoude Doctoral Research Student Contact Tarek Abou-jaoude
Mr Harrison Ajebon Doctoral Research Student Contact Harrison Ajebon
Mr Ghiath Al-antouz Doctoral Research Student Contact Ghiath Al-antouz
Mr Oday Al-Hasan Doctoral Research Student oday.al-hasan@durham.ac.uk
Ms Fatima Al-karbi Doctoral Research Student Contact Fatima Al-karbi
Mr Khalifa Al-suwaidi Doctoral Research Student Contact Khalifa Al-suwaidi
Mrs Cangul Altundas-Akcay Doctoral Research Student Contact Cangul Altundas-Akcay
Ms Alice Alunni Doctoral Research Student alice.alunni@durham.ac.uk
Mr Emil Archambault Doctoral Research Student emil.archambault@durham.ac.uk
Ms Minako Asakura Doctoral Research Student Contact Minako Asakura
Mr Irfan Azeez Doctoral Research Student irfan.a.azeez@durham.ac.uk
Mr Abdul Azizam Doctoral Research Student Contact Abdul Azizam
Miss Juline Beaujouan-Marliere General Sir Peter de la Billière Doctoral Research Student Contact Juline Beaujouan-Marliere
Ms Galit Benhaim-Pedahzur Doctoral Research Student Contact Galit Benhaim-Pedahzur
Ms Vanessa Bentil Doctoral Research Student Contact Vanessa Bentil
Mr Ahmet Borazan Doctoral Research Student Contact Ahmet Borazan
Mr Richard Bruce Doctoral Research Student Contact Richard Bruce
Mr Mark Burdon Doctoral Research Student Contact Mark Burdon
Mr David T. Caldwell Doctoral Research Student david.t.caldwell@durham.ac.uk
Ms Gilla Camden Doctoral Research Student Contact Gilla Camden
Mr Anthony Chimente Doctoral Research Student Contact Anthony Chimente
Ms Sarah Clowry Doctoral Research Student sarah.a.clowry2@durham.ac.uk
Miss Marina Costa-Esteves-Coutin Doctoral Research Student Contact Marina Costa-Esteves-Coutin
Mr Alexander Crockett Doctoral Research Student alexander.j.crockett@durham.ac.uk
Ms Maja Davidovic Doctoral Research Student maja.davidovic@durham.ac.uk
Ms Elisabeth de Vega Alavedra Doctoral Research Student elisabeth.de-vega-alavedra@durham.ac.uk
Miss Georgia Dimitriou   Contact Georgia Dimitriou
Ms. Betul Dogan-Akkas   betul.dogan-akkas@durham.ac.uk
Mr Riccardo Fabiani Doctoral Research Student Contact Riccardo Fabiani
Miss Jessica Forsythe Doctoral Research Student Contact Jessica Forsythe
Ms Esther García Monreal Doctoral Research Student Contact Esther García Monreal
Mr Edward Goodger Doctoral Research Student Contact Edward Goodger
Mr. Islam Hassan   islam.elsayed@durham.ac.uk
Mr Matthew Hedges Doctoral Research Student matthew.j.hedges@durham.ac.uk
Miss Aylar Ibrahimi Jarchlo Doctoral Research Student aylar.ibrahimi-jarchlo@durham.ac.uk
Ms Selma Imamoglu Doctoral Research Student Contact Selma Imamoglu
Miss Louisa Jones   Contact Louisa Jones
Mr Nurlan Karzhassov Doctoral Research Student Contact Nurlan Karzhassov
Ms Dorien Keizer Doctoral Research Student Contact Dorien Keizer
Ms Anna Kranz Doctoral Research Student a.k.kranz@durham.ac.uk
Miss Julie Lespinasse Doctoral Research Student Contact Julie Lespinasse
Mr Samuel Mellish Doctoral Research Student Contact Samuel Mellish
Ms Phellecitus Montana Doctoral Research Student Contact Phellecitus Montana
Mr. Alexander Moodie   Contact Alexander Moodie
Mr Majid Mossa Doctoral Research Student Contact Majid Mossa
Mr Nchimunya Muleya Doctoral Research Student Contact Nchimunya Muleya
Mr Daniel Nicholls Doctoral Research Student Contact Daniel Nicholls
Mr Henry Padden Doctoral Research Student Contact Henry Padden
Mr Hoseong Park Doctoral Research Student Contact Hoseong Park
Ms Zarqa Parvez Doctoral Research Student Contact Zarqa Parvez
Mr Evert Raafs Doctoral Research Student Contact Evert Raafs
Mr Ahmet Sacmali Doctoral Research Student Contact Ahmet Sacmali
Mr Jacopo Scita Doctoral Research Student Contact Jacopo Scita
Ms Hannah Siddle Doctoral Research Student Contact Hannah Siddle
Mr Fabian Stroetges Doctoral Research Student f.j.stroetges@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jack Taggart Doctoral Research Student Contact Jack Taggart
Mr Shuo Tian Doctoral Research Student Contact Shuo Tian
Mr Lin Tsui Doctoral Research Student Contact Lin Tsui
Mr. Tomos Vaughan   Contact Tomos Vaughan
Mr. Tom Walsh   tom.j.walsh@durham.ac.uk
Ms Dan Wang Doctoral Research Student Contact Dan Wang
Dr Dominic Welburn Research Student Contact Dominic Welburn
Mr Craig Whittall Doctoral Research Student a.c.whittall@durham.ac.uk
Miss Freshta Yosufi Doctoral Research Student Contact Freshta Yosufi
Mr Mudar Zahran Doctoral Research Student Contact Mudar Zahran