Skip to main content


Key Contacts

Name Position Email
Professor Markus Hausmann Head of Department

Professor Lynda Boothroyd

Deputy Head of Department

Dr Andrew Marcinko

Internationalisation Co-ordinator
Professor Daniel T. Smith Director of Research
Professor David Sanderson Director of Postgraduate Research
Dr Mike Burt Director of Undergraduate Education
Dr Niklas Ihssen Director of Postgraduate Education
Mrs Carolyn Loughlin Department Manager
Mrs Elaine Stanton Technical Manager

Mrs Norma Twomey

Learning and Teaching Manager

Professor Fuschia Sirois Director of Impact

Professor Nadja Reissland Director of EDI
Professor Amanda Ellison Director of Quality Assurance

Professor Anthony McGregor

C800 Programme Director (Student Experience);

Academic Lead: Student-Staff Consultative Committee (C800)
Dr Patrick Kotzur

C803 Programme Director (Student Experience);

Academic Lead: Student-Staff Consultative Committee (C803)


Professional Service Staff

Miss Emma DunnillLearning and Teaching Administrator
Miss Katelyn EnglishLearning and Teaching Coordinator
Miss Holly GardnerLearning and Teaching Coordinator
Ms Ruth JowettSenior Research Administrator
Mr Michael LaneLearning and Teaching Administrator
Mrs Carolyn LoughlinDepartment Manager
Mrs Helen SwannellPGR Coordinator
Mrs Norma TwomeyLearning and Teaching Manager
Mrs Julie WilkinsonOperations Administrator

Academic Staff

Dr Ben Alderson-DayAssociate Professor
Professor Anthony AtkinsonProfessor
Dr Ulrik BeierholmAssociate Professor
Dr Marco BocchioAssistant Professor
Professor Lynda BoothroydProfessor
Dr Mike BurtAssociate Professor
Dr Kathleen CarswellAssistant Professor
Dr Soazig CasteauAssistant Professor
Dr Zanna ClayAssociate Professor
Professor Judith CoveyProfessor
Dr Dorothy CowieAssociate Professor
Professor Richard CrispProfessor
Professor Alexander EastonProfessor
Professor Amanda EllisonProfessor
Dr Elizabeth EvansAssociate Professor
Professor Charles FernyhoughProfessor (0.5)
Dr Samuel ForbesAssistant Professor
Dr Anna GrubertAssociate Professor
Dr Mary HanleyAssociate Professor
Professor Markus HausmannHead of Department
Dr Niklas IhssenAssociate Professor
Professor Bob KentridgeProfessor
Dr Patrick KotzurAssistant Professor
Dr Maja KutlacaAssistant Professor
Dr Alison LaneAssociate Professor
Dr Ana LeiteAssociate Professor
Dr Michael LengiezaAssistant Professor
Professor Colin LeverProfessor
Dr Sheina Lew-levyAssistant Professor
Dr Keren MaclennanAssistant Professor
Dr Anna MatejkoAssistant Professor
Professor Anthony McGregorProfessor
Dr Jonathon McPhetresAssistant Professor
Professor Marko NardiniProfessor
Dr Thuy-vy NguyenAssistant Professor
Dr. Karolina W. NieberleAssistant Professor
Dr Liam NormanAssistant Professor
Professor Claire O'MalleyProfessor
Professor Stefania PaoliniProfessor
Dr Bruce RawlingsAssistant Professor
Professor Nadja ReisslandProfessor
Professor Deborah RibyProfessor
Dr Paddy RossAssociate Professor
Professor Mark RubinProfessor
Professor David SandersonProfessor
Professor Fuschia SiroisProfessor
Professor Daniel T. SmithProfessor
Dr Sara SpotornoAssistant Professor
Dr Lore ThalerAssociate Professor
Professor Graham TowlProfessor
Dr Leanne TrickAssistant Professor
Dr Kathleen VancleefAssistant Professor
Dr Milica VasiljevicAssociate Professor
Dr Thomas Vaughan-JohnstonAssistant Professor
Professor Tammi WalkerPrincipal of St Cuthbert’s Society and Professor of Forensic Psychology
Professor Mario WeickProfessor
Dr Holger WieseAssociate Professor

Teaching Staff

Dr Katie AllenTeaching Fellow
Dr Yan BirchTeaching Fellow
Dr Carla ChiversAssistant Professor (Education)
Dr Hayley DeweTeaching Fellow
Dr Nazire DuranAssistant Professor (Education)
Dr Adam GoodyAssistant Professor (Education)
Mrs Fyqa GulzaibTeaching Fellow
Dr Sophie HodgettsAssistant Professor (Education)
Dr Trevor JamesAssistant Professor (Education)
Dr Linda LidborgTeaching Fellow
Dr Andrew MarcinkoAssistant Professor (Education)
Dr Tunde PaalTeaching Fellow

Research Staff

Dr Alexis ChevietResearch Associate
Dr Raphaela HeesenResearch Associate
Dr Mikel JimenezResearch Associate
Ms Gloria LuiResearch Associate
Dr Steven PoulterAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Elizabeth RennerResearch Associate
Dr Alokananda RudraAssistant Professor (Research)
Dr Meike SchellerResearch Associate

Research Student

Mrs. Sibel AkbiyikResearch Postgraduate
Ms Marie Anna AlkanResearch Postgraduate
Miss Fabienne Eva AndresResearch Postgraduate
Miss Linda ArrighiResearch Postgraduate
Mr Mark AveryResearch Postgraduate
Miss Laura-ashleigh BirdResearch Postgraduate
Mr Jake BrookerResearch Postgraduate
Mr Paul BurgumResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Euan CunninghamResearch Postgraduate
Miss Emma DohertyResearch Postgraduate
Ms. Isla DougallResearch Postgraduate
Miss Lucy EdgarResearch Postgraduate
Miss Aliya EdwardsResearch Postgraduate
Dr Denis Fischbacher-smithResearch Postgraduate
Mrs Denise ForesteireResearch Postgraduate
Miss Emerald GrimshawResearch Postgraduate
Miss Louise HansonResearch Postgraduate
Mrs Elaine (Ellie) HemingwayResearch Postgraduate
Miss Jessica HirstResearch Postgraduate
Dr Annabel HollinsResearch Postgraduate
Miss Shuang HuaResearch Postgraduate
Mr Jack HughesResearch Postgraduate
Mrs Katy JacquesResearch Postgraduate
Ms. Bhakti KhatiResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Adam KissaiResearch Postgraduate
Ms. Stephanie KordonResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Olaf KristiansenResearch Postgraduate
Miss Jiawei LiuResearch Postgraduate
Miss Siobhan McAteerResearch Postgraduate
Ms. Merve OzturkResearch Postgraduate
Mr Zackary PhilyawResearch Postgraduate
Mr Joshua PodmoreResearch Postgraduate
Ms. Marie-laure PoiretResearch Postgraduate
Miss Tsvetomila PopovaResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Rhys ProudResearch Postgraduate
Miss Ellen RidleyResearch Postgraduate
Ms Fleur RileyResearch Postgraduate
Mr Tyler Wayne RossResearch Postgraduate
Mr. James RutterResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Ahmed SaglamozResearch Postgraduate
Miss Georgia SandarsResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Oscar SillResearch Postgraduate
Miss Ellice SmithResearch Postgraduate
Ms. Ariel SwyerResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Luke TownrowResearch Postgraduate
Ms Georgia TuohyResearch Postgraduate
Miss Beyza Nur UstunResearch Postgraduate
Miss Miranda VentrellaResearch Postgraduate
Carlo VredenResearch Postgraduate
Mr. Michael WadsleyResearch Postgraduate
Ms. Ziyi WangResearch Postgraduate
Miss Wenfei ZhangResearch Postgraduate

Technical Staff

Mr Andrew LongSenior Technician
Miss Sarah StansfieldTechnician
Mrs Elaine StantonTechnical Manager
Mr Simon ThurlbeckSenior Technician