Skip to main content

Our People

Administration

jessica.crinson@durham.ac.ukÈ

Name Position Contact
Mrs Sarah Craggs Operations Coordinator sarah.craggs@durham.ac.uk
Miss Jessica Crinson Learning and Teaching Administrator jessica.crinson@durham.ac.uk 
Miss Anouska Drion Learning and Teaching Administrator a.l.p.drion@durham.ac.uk
Miss Eloise Hepburn Learning and Teaching Administrator eloise.hepburn@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Vicky Holding Learning and Teaching Coordinator (Assessment) vicky.holding@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Katherine Hunt Learning and Teaching Administrator (Assessment) katherine.hunt@durham.ac.uk
Ms Kim Huntingdon Administrative Assistant kim.huntingdon@durham.ac.uk
Ms Judith Jewitt Learning and Teaching Administrator judith.jewitt@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Kathleen Lowson Assistant Manager (Learning and Teaching) kathleen.lowson@durham.ac.uk
Ms Lucia Luck PG Co-ordinator lucia.luck@durham.ac.uk
Miss Rachel Mole Learning and Teaching Administrator rachel.e.mole@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Tina O'Donnell Learning and Teaching Administrator (Assessment) tina.o'donnell@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Chermaine Patey Learning and Teaching Administrator (Assessment) chermaine.patey@durham.ac.uk
Mr Roger, C. C. Ravanelli MLAC Year Abroad Co-ordinator roger.ravanelli@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Jess Stacey School Manager jess.stacey@durham.ac.uk
Mr Owen Walpole Learning and Teaching Manager owen.f.walpole@durham.ac.uk

 

Arabic Studies

Name Position Contact
Professor Abir Hamdar Professor abir.hamdar@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Salima Jaljule Assistant Professor (Teaching) / TLRP Coordinator salima.jaljule@durham.ac.uk
Dr Niveen Kassem Assistant Teaching Fellow niveen.kassem@durham.ac.uk
Ms Mandana Mashayekhi-Ghoyonloo Part-time Teacher mandana.mashayekhi-ghoyonloo@durham.ac.uk
Professor Daniel Newman Professor / Director of Studies daniel.newman@durham.ac.uk
Professor Paul Starkey Emeritus Professor p.g.starkey@durham.ac.uk
Dr Adam Talib Associate Professor  adam.talib@durham.ac.uk
Dr Aziza Zaher Associate Professor (Teaching) / Careers Liaison aziza.zaher@durham.ac.uk

 

Chinese Studies

Dr Qing Cao Associate Professor qing.cao@durham.ac.uk
Miss V Chu Lecturer (Teaching) w.v.chu@durham.ac.uk
Dr Yunhan Hu Assistant Professor yunhan.hu@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jin Huang Assistant Professor (Teaching) jin.huang@durham.ac.uk
Dr William Schaefer Associate Professor in Chinese Studies and Visual Culture  william.schaefer@durham.ac.uk
Mr Don Starr Assistant Professor (Teaching) / Director of Studies (Chinese) / Director MA in Translation Studies d.f.starr@durham.ac.uk
Dr Binghan Zheng Associate Professor in Chinese Translation binghan.zheng@durham.ac.uk

 

French Studies

Dr Kathryn Banks Associate Professor kathryn.banks2@durham.ac.uk
Dr Marie-Claire Barnet Associate Professor marie-claire.barnet@durham.ac.uk
Dr Samuel Bootle Associate Professor  s.d.bootle@durham.ac.uk
Mr Alexandre Burin Teaching Fellow Contact Alexandre Burin
Dr Dominique Carlini-Versini Assistant Professor (Teaching) dominique.carlini-versini@durham.ac.uk
Dr Laura Chuhan Campbell Assistant Professor l.j.campbell@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jan Clarke Professor / Director of Studies jan.clarke@durham.ac.uk
Professor David Cowling Professor / Head of School Contact David Cowling
Dr Amaleena Damlé Associate Professor  amaleena.damle@durham.ac.uk
Professor Catherine Dousteyssier-Khoze Professor catherine.dousteyssier@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Hickmott Assistant Professor / Deputy Director of UG Education (Curriculum Development) sarah.hickmott@durham.ac.uk
Professor Christopher Lloyd Emeritus Professor c.d.lloyd@durham.ac.uk
Dr Simon McKinnon Assistant Professor (Teaching) s.g.mckinnon@durham.ac.uk
Professor Gerald Moore Professor / School EDI Lead gerald.moore@durham.ac.uk
Prof John O'Brien Emeritus Professor john.o'brien@durham.ac.uk
Mme Vasanti Piette Assistant Professor (Teaching) vasanti.piette@durham.ac.uk
Mr Roger, C. C. Ravanelli Assistant Professor (Teaching) roger.ravanelli@durham.ac.uk
Dr Zoë Roth Associate Professor / Deputy Director of Research (Grants) zoe.roth@durham.ac.uk
Professor Marc Schachter Professor  marc.schachter@durham.ac.uk
Professor Richard Scholar Professor richard.scholar@durham.ac.uk
Professor Luke Sunderland Professor luke.sunderland@durham.ac.uk
Professor Thomas Wynn Professor thomas.wynn@durham.ac.uk

 

German Studies

Dr Yael Almog Assistant Professor yael.almog@durham.ac.uk
Dr Petra Bauer Assistant Professor (Teaching) petra.bauer@durham.ac.uk
Dr Polly Dickson Leverhulme Early Career Fellow polly.l.dickson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Jonathan Long Professor  j.j.long@durham.ac.uk
Professor Claudia Nitschke Professor / Director of Research claudia.nitschke@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alexis Radisoglou Assistant Professor / Director of Studies alexis.radisoglou@durham.ac.uk
Dr Tracey Reimann-Dawe Assistant Professor (Teaching) / Deputy Head of School (Teaching) tracey.reimann-dawe@durham.ac.uk
Professor Nicholas Saul Professor / Director, Arts & Humanities, Institute of Advanced Studies n.d.b.saul@durham.ac.uk
Professor Janet Stewart Professor / Executive Dean (A&H) janet.c.stewart@durham.ac.uk
Dr Simon Ward Associate Professor / Director, BA in Visual Arts & Film simon.ward2@durham.ac.uk

 

Hispanic Studies

Professor Andrew Beresford Professor a.m.beresford@durham.ac.uk
Dr Marcela Cazzoli Associate Professor (Teaching) / Director of UG Education marcela.a.cazzoli@durham.ac.uk
Dr Lara Escudero-Baztan Lecturer (Teaching) l.m.escudero-baztan@durham.ac.uk
Professor Santiago Fouz Hernández Professor santiago.fouz@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Maria-Victoria Hedley Assistant Teaching Fellow m.v.hedley@durham.ac.uk
Dr Francisco-J. Hernández Adrián Associate Professor / Director of Postgraduate Studies f.j.adrian@durham.ac.uk
Dr Manuel Hijano Assistant Professor manuel.hijano@durham.ac.uk
Professor Claudia Hopkins  Professor / Director of the Zurbarán Centre for Spanish and Latin American Art  claudia.h.hopkins@durham.ac.uk
Dr Penelope Johnson Assistant Professor (Teaching) / Director MA in Translation Studies penelope.johnson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Laura Leon Llerena Assistant Professor  laura.m.leonllerena@durham.ac.uk
Ms Mari Carmen Maya Medina Assistant Teaching Fellow m.c.maya@durham.ac.uk
Dr Kerstin Oloff Associate Professor k.d.oloff@durham.ac.uk
Dr Yarí Pérez Marín Associate Professor / Director of Studies yari.perez-marin@durham.ac.uk
Dr Axel Perez Trujillo Assistant Professor axel.perez-trujillo@durham.ac.uk
Ms Marcela Reyes-Otaiza Lecturer (Teaching) marcela.reyes-otaiza@durham.ac.uk
Ms Heiddy Roberts Assistant Teaching Fellow Contact Heiddy Roberts
Dr Nicholas Roberts Associate Professor  Contact Nicholas Roberts
Professor H. Rosi Song Professor / Deputy Head of School (Research) rosi.song@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michael Thompson Associate Professor / Deputy Executive Dean (Education) in the Faculty of Arts & Humanities m.p.thompson@durham.ac.uk

 

Japanese Studies

Dr Hansun Hsiung Assistant Professor  hansun.hsiung@durham.ac.uk
Dr Fusako Innami Associate Professor in Japanese and Performance Studies / Deputy Director of Research (Impact) fusako.innami@durham.ac.uk
Ms Ritsuko Koso-Kirk Assistant Professor (Teaching) ritsuko.koso@durham.ac.uk
Ms Sayo Wilkinson Lecturer (Teaching) sayo.wilkinson@durham.ac.uk

 

Russian Studies

Professor Andy Byford Professor andy.byford@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ekaterina Chown Assistant Professor (Teaching) / Chair UG Board of Examiners ekaterina.chown@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Branka Grundy Assistant Professor (Teaching) branka.grundy@durham.ac.uk
Professor Alexandra Harrington Professor / Faculty of Arts & Humanities Equality Diversity Inclusion Lead a.k.harrington@durham.ac.uk
Dr Siobhán Hearne Leverhulme Early Career Fellow siobhan.c.hearne@durham.ac.uk
Dr Viktoria Ivleva Assistant Professor / Director of Studies viktoria.ivleva@durham.ac.uk
Dr Simon Pirani Honorary Professor in MLAC / Centre for Culture and Ecology simon.pirani@durham.ac.uk
Dr Dušan Radunović Associate Professor dusan.radunovic@durham.ac.uk
Dr Angelos Theocharis Postdoctoral Research Assistant angelos.theocharis@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Olga Zabotkina Assistant Teaching Fellow o.a.zabotkina@durham.ac.uk

 

Translation Studies

Ms. Cerise Jackson Honorary Associate of MLaC cerise.jackson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Kevin Lin Professor in Practice Contact Kevin Lin
Professor Ita Mac Carthy Professor ita.k.mac-carthy@durham.ac.uk
Ms Etsuko Okahisa Part-time Teacher [Japanese] Contact Etsuko Okahisa
Mr Angus Turvill Part-time Teacher [Japanese] Contact Angus Turvill
Dr Sergey Tyulenev Associate Professor  sergey.tyulenev@durham.ac.uk
Dr Binghan Zheng Associate Professor in Chinese Translation binghan.zheng@durham.ac.uk

 

Centre for Foreign Language Study

Mrs Mary Fender Language Services Coordinator m.j.s.fender@durham.ac.uk
Mr Abedal-Mutaleb Al-Zuweiri Lecturer (Teaching) - Arabic abedal-mutaleb.al-zuweiri@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Agnès Bastien-Langham Lecturer (Teaching) - French agnes.bastien@durham.ac.uk
Miss Helen Cant Learning and Teaching Administrator Contact Helen Cant
Dr Yoonjoung Choi Lecturer (Teaching) - Korean Contact Yoonjoung Choi
Dr Marion Coderch Assistant Professor (Teaching) - Spanish marion.coderch@durham.ac.uk
Dr Géraldine Crahay Lecturer (Teaching) - French geraldine.crahay@durham.ac.uk
Mr Mark Critchley Director, Centre for Foreign Language Study mark.critchley@durham.ac.uk
Dr Werner Garstenauer Part-time Teacher Contact Werner Garstenauer
Dr Yu Gu Assistant Teaching Fellow - Chinese Contact Yu Gu
Mrs Anna Johnston Assistant Professor (Teaching) - French anna.johnston@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Zhanna Kozmenko-Ihssen Lecturer (Teaching) - German zhanna.kozmenko-ihssen@durham.ac.uk
Dr Li Li Assistant Professor (Teaching) li.li@durham.ac.uk
Ms Fernanda Lourenco Part-time Teacher - Portuguese fernanda.lourenco@durham.ac.uk
Dr Kristina Pla Fernandez Lecturer (Teaching) - Spanish kristina.pla-fernandez@durham.ac.uk
Ms Nuria Polo-Pérez Lecturer (Teaching) - Spanish nuria.polo-perez@durham.ac.uk
Mr Roger, C. C. Ravanelli Deputy Director roger.ravanelli@durham.ac.uk
Ms Giusy Stott Lecturer (Teaching) / Italian Language Programme Coordinator (Centre for Foreign Language Study) giuseppina.stott@durham.ac.uk
Ms Motoko Takahashi Lecturer (Teaching) - Japanese motoko.takahashi-wilson@durham.ac.uk
Miss Cynthia Tavars Lecturer (Teaching) - French Contact Cynthia Tavars
Dr Kaoru Umezawa Assistant Professor (Teaching) - Japanese Contact Kaoru Umezawa
Ms Irene Velasco-Lopez Lecturer (Teaching) - Spanish irene.velasco-lopez@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michael Watts Part-time Teacher Contact Michael Watts